×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Waking the Tiger: Healing Trauma - The Innate Capacity to Transform Overwhelming Experiences
     

Waking the Tiger: Healing Trauma - The Innate Capacity to Transform Overwhelming Experiences

4.0 12
by Peter A. Levine, Ann Frederick
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 155643233X

ISBN-13: 9781556432330

Pub. Date: 07/28/1997

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

Nature's Lessons in Healing Trauma...

Waking the Tiger offers a new and hopeful vision of trauma. It views the human animal as a unique being, endowed with an instinctual capacity. It asks and answers an intriguing question: why are animals in the wild, though threatened routinely, rarely traumatized? By understanding the dynamics that make wild

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Waking the Tiger: Healing Trauma - The Innate Capacity to Transform Overwhelming Experiences 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about a new type of 'therapy' unlike traditional talk therapies that has the potential to completely transform one's life. It not only gives a wonderful synopsis of how our brains work, from the animal brain to the human brain, but it shows beautifully how the natural pathway to resolving stress and trauma is short circuited in coordinating these two brains. The outcome is post traumatic stress in many areas of life that most of us are unaware that we have. This book explains how this therapy works and why. Since reading this book, along with a book about EMDR (self titled), I experienced this therapy and have found relief in areas of stress that have haunted me for decades. More importantly, my adopted daughter, now 13 years old and born drug exposed with multiple emotional problems, is finding herself now able to move forward in her ability to think, handle problems she encounters, and deal with everyday issues that were difficult with a new found peace that none of us knew was even possible for her. I recommend this book to everyone, not just those who have experienced trauma, because we all interpret trauma differently and what is minor for one person may make a major difference for another. If someone who has experienced PTSD from rape or war can benefit from this book, there are multiple examples of these in the book, imagine how this might work for more ordinary trauma that takes place for all of us constantly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a psychiatrist and author of ¿Lost in the Mirror: an Inside Look at Borderline Personality Disorder,¿ I have dealt with many kinds of trauma and am always interested in new approaches to this difficult area. I found ¿Waking the Tiger¿ an engrossing approach to the problem of how trauma creates damaging and often enduring symptoms. Dr. Levine¿s concept of the ¿freeze response¿ in the face of overwhelming threat provides a missing link to symptoms such as dissociation that our old ideas of ¿fight or flight¿ fail to explain. Even more important to trauma survivors and their therapists is the redeeming message that immobilization in the face of threat is an automatic biological response that is not voluntarily chosen by the victim. This was vividly portrayed in an episode of the TV series ¿Cagney and Lacey¿ in which Cagney, a tough and well-trained police officer, becomes the victim of a rape and later struggles with the helplessness she experienced while it was occurring. The January 2003 issue of Clinical Psychiatry News reported that an overwhelming majority of victims of sexual assault describe a moderate or high level of paralysis occurring during the assault, consistent with Dr. Levine¿s observations. The ¿freeze response¿ is also addressed in an article on fear in the March 2003 issue of Discover magazine. Dr. Levine also provides an astute portrayal of the nature of memory by acknowledging that memories are not literal recordings of events but a complex of images that are influenced by arousal, emotional context, and prior experience. Like a painting, memories may even transform over time as new experiences add layers of meaning to the images. While remembering the past can be an important aspect of therapy, appreciating the subjective quality of memories is crucial to integrating them appropriately into the healing process.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A practical guide to understanding how trauma reactions occur on a physiological as well as psychological level and how human beings tend to get 'stuck' in them. This book not only offers extremely simple yet profound insights into the dynamic of trauma, but also provides practical methods for dealing with trauma through the physical release of trapped energy. I would highly recommed this book to anyone, whether you feel that you have suffered trauma or not. Even if you haven't, chances are you know someone who has. This book also offers a deeper understanding of this issue to the loved ones of trauma survivors. I thought that the remnants of trauma would control my life forever...thanks to this book, I now know that I can break free. GREAT BOOK!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific layman's book to understand the workings of trauma in the human body and brain.
Katherine33 More than 1 year ago
Concise overview of the theory behind somatization therapy (working with the body to overcome or live with trauma). Recommend following this book with Healing Trauma, also by Peter Levine, that gives exercises for healing trauma.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An incredibly clear explanation of what trauma is, how it affects people and what can be done about it. Highly recommended for anyone dealing with the effects of trauma or if someone you know is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Waking the Tiger-Healing Trauma: The Innate Capacity to Transform Overwhelming Experiences' is interesting and offers real stories about people. After reading this book I felt it was written for people with 'dark secrets' like rape, abuse, or a terrible accident, but not for athletic injuries. It was excellent but not really benefical for me. It could be for you!