×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Walden / Edition 2
     

Walden / Edition 2

3.5 118
by Henry David Thoreau
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0691096120

ISBN-13: 2900691096123

Pub. Date: 03/29/2004

Publisher: Princeton University Press

The ultimate gift edition of Walden for bibliophiles, aficionados, and scholars.

Thoreau’s literary classic, an elegantly written record of his experiment in simple living, has engaged readers and thinkers for a century and a half. This edition of Walden is the first to set forth an authoritative text with generous annotations. Thoreau scholar Jeffrey S.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Walden 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 118 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I read Thoreau¿s book Walden, I was amazed to learn that Thoreau¿s writing had such a great influence on such men as Mohandas Gandhi and Dr Martin Luther King. They Read Thoreau¿s book on Civil Disobedience, which advocated Passive resistance. (Peaceful protest). Another thing that surprised me was the way that Emerson and James Russell Lowell degraded Thoreau in their speeches at Henry¿s memorial service upon his death. During the memorial these two so-called friends of Thoreau called him a lazy braggart, a societies maverick & A drop out! Perhaps by societies standards he was a rebel but certainly not the worthless ne¿er do well that these men painted him. Thoreau sets out to build a cabin on Walden Pond in order to be at one with nature. Thoreau was at heart a naturalist. He resisted paying a tax which he spent one night in the Concord Jail. This was to prove a point. He lived at Walden Pond for 2 years. Upon returning to society, he continued to write his books. He said that, ¿most men lead lives of quiet desperation.¿ Henry David Thoreau was born July 12, 1817 And died May 6,1862 of T.B. He built his cabin on March 1845 at Walden Pond at a cost of $28,12 & half cents. Thoreau started out life in the Transcendentalist movement but He later departed from this group. He was a genius that was unappreciated in his day.
PinqueLady More than 1 year ago
This book is very poorly converted to e-book and contains too many errors to make it enjoyable to read; in some places it is impossible to read because you just can't tell what you are supposed to be reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. However, this version presents as a lackluster scan-job with no editing yielding a finished product contaminated by numerous unintelligible conversion errors from smeared paragraphs to numerous misconverted words. I should note that I have not read this version in full as I was too dissatisfied with the poor quality to proceed much beyond the first forty pages (which I had previously read and was mostly scanning for errors in an attempt to find a legible nook version of this great book).
Nancy Ducey More than 1 year ago
Walden is wonderful piece of literature. This copy contains a lot of unreadable text. Much of the text is ra dom characters and mumbo jumbo! Waste of money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are several scan/ typing errors in this edition
Clueless_Chicks More than 1 year ago
The first few pages are okay, but later ones contain whole paragraphs that are indecipherable jumbles of symbols, punctuation marks, and random letters. Walden is a good book, too bad this one is unreadable.
Nneoma Nwachuku More than 1 year ago
Was not scanned well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thus free version is so loaded with jumbled text an errors, it is difficult to tead. Where is the quality control Barnes and Noble???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
True fact, the bad copies are not BNs fault. If you want to BLAME someone, blame DISNEY. Because of their greed, nothing will be coming into the public domain for awhile. Because of their greed, everything is affected not just their stuff. They basically screwed up copyright law to benefit themselves and the government let them get away scot free. Now, digital book sellers are screwed because unless the stuff entered the PD before Disney stepped in and cried foul, there is nothing to be done. BNs hands are tied, they cannot offer clean digital copies or special editions of classics. The ONLY reason we have what have now is because of Google, Internet Archives, and universities. Computer technology does not recognize some words thus why websites use CAPCHA. It is both security and a way to improve scanning. Just be THANKFUL we have the books we do, I wish we had more. Too few classics, some titles not even available as OCRed yet which is SAD.
manirul01 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She howled, and a white and silver wisp traveled from her muzzle and joined the arrows.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago