×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor
     

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

4.6 274
by Robert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga
 

See All Formats & Editions

The bestselling start of the Walking Dead series, now in mass market!

In the Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than The Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it’s forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople’s amusement, or

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 274 reviews.
Tiger_Girl More than 1 year ago
I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is similar in that you have a group of survivors trying to get to Atlanta, in this case it's a group of guys, two brothers, Phil and Brian, Phil's little girl, Penny, and a couple of their friends. Brian struggles to overcome his place in the family as the weaker of the two brothers, even though he's the eldest. They face many dangers and the changes in the dynamics of the group are very interesting. I really enjoyed how this "zombie book" is different from the typical "zombie book" just like "The Walking Dead" is different from the typical zombie movie. They focus on the survival instead of the blood and gore. But no worries, zombie fans; there's plenty of blood and guts to satisfy the biggest zombie fan! I think I would have given this book five stars if there had been more of a love interest in the book, but that's just the girl in me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please never stop the walking dead take it to the grave like Stan lee with spiderman
Jason_Neves More than 1 year ago
All the Gory Detailed Imagery of the Graphic Novels & TV Show Written Out and Described in This Picture-less Novel Addition to The Walking Dead Series. If You Are a Fan of the Show or The GN's or Both.....I Would Highly Highly Recommend This Book!
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
Even if you are a not a viewer of the television series or a reader of the graphic novels it is based on, this novelization is a very good zombie story. It is action-packed, fast-moving, scary and yes, graphic (but isn't that what we liked about zombie stories). The story itself is about a small group of survivors after the zombie outbreak and how they try and love in this new world. One of the characters will become the Governor that is in the title and a major character in the original stories. This didn't deter from this story. Each chapter leaves you wanting more and therefore you don't want to stop reading. I think now I will have to check out the TV show and/or the comics!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok I was not thrilled with the Escalade wreck as outlined, but was still a great story overall. Almost made The Governor one character you felt sympathy for. Well worth reading if you like the comics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had a slow start but really picked up from there. I really enjoyed this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a good book read it
Dinodavid More than 1 year ago
If you read the graphic novels you will understand this better than watching the Awesome TV show.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book which rivals the comics and is much better than the show. Highly recommended.
Rockfordmi2010 More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book. Kept me coming back to read what's going to happen next. Again, would recommend if you like zombies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love reading the backstory on The Governor! He is the chaaracter I love to hate but I love seeing him before he turned into such a monster.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very well-written, with gruesome details and superb attention to detail. Amazing for any fan of The Walking Dead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the comics/ graphic novels and have watched every episode of the television series. I loved the book, however, I am still unsettled with the big "reveal". It just doesn't correlate well. That's the only thing I disagree with. Same goes for the TV series. Why all the changes? I can see how some things can't be put on TV, but things have just been made way too different. Some of the changes were good, but most are not. I guess I'm just a big fan of the old adage "If it ain't broke then don't fix it."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like zombies and the Walking Dead show, you will LOVE this book!! Really fun and well written! A great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the show. I thought I'd try the first book. I'm really glad I did. This book was interesting, fast-paced, surprising, and left me having an anxiety attack through most of it.... My only problem with it is the actual style of the writing. I really enjoy fine writing like that of Michael Chabon and Barbara Kingsolver, so reading this felt kind of like reading a great story by an amateur author. If you can get past that, it's quite a ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good book. Gets a little weird about hlfway through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very well written and thorough explanation of the Governor. I am a very big fan of The Walking Dead, and this book serves as a great backbone of Philip's story and his transformation. Has just as much suspense as the show, and I reccomend it to anyone who loves TWD. Money well spent!
LeighR More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome and will blow your mind at the end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tends to drag a bit in the beginning but has an unexpected twist at the end. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy reading this book and finding out the back story to the Governor. Pretty "realistic" scenarios and believable characters. I didn't want to put it down.
Katy_T More than 1 year ago
I thought that this book provided good insight into a man with nothing to loose in a world with nothing to provide. I am glad to see them clarify a very disturbing issue in the comics. It is still disturbing but at least its...Well just read the book.
Fswayze More than 1 year ago
This book has a "Holly ****!" moment every chapter. Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this & I cannot wait for Road to Woodbury.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the walking dead but i dont want to waste ten bucks on something less than 100 - 200 pages