×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Walking the Bible: A Journey by Land Through the Five Books of Moses
     

Walking the Bible: A Journey by Land Through the Five Books of Moses

4.0 31
by Bruce Feiler
 

See All Formats & Editions

One part adventure story, one part archaeological detective work, one part spiritual exploration, Walking the Bible vividly recounts an inspiring personal odyssey -- by foot, jeep, rowboat, and camel -- through the greatest stories ever told.

Feeling a desire to reconnect to the Bible, award-winning author Bruce Feiler set out on a perilous, ten-thousand-mile

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Walking the Bible: A Journey by Land Through the Five Books of Moses 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
regybear More than 1 year ago
Having lived in the Middle East for nearly 10 years I found this book to be a reasonable tour of Old Testament sites and their underlying meaning for today's Middle East.
Theophrastus More than 1 year ago
Bruce Feiler had a metaphore or a simile for every aspect of his book, sometimes two or three; most of the time they added to the experience, but every once in a while you you would think something along the lines of "That was a stretch" or it would draw you away from, rather than toward the topic he seemed to be going toward.

His book was almost like an edited series of diaries. I didn't use the word journal as that could lead you to believe this sounded like a travel log, rather this seemed only steps away from little hearts, multiple exclamation points, and cries of "Gee Wilikers!"

Becuase Feiler pointed out spiritual epiphanies most of the time rather than searching out a deeper meaning it was good for classrom discussion as there were so many paths of thought left unexplored.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was given me by a friend and I'm so glad for it. This is - by far - one of the very best books about the context, culture, archaeology, apologetics etc of scripture I have read yet. Mr. Feiler's choice to "walk" the known or possible sites wherein events occurred that were location-based was a wise one. And the historical accounts, academic research, onscene observations and personal interviews and interactions he relates in this book make it a treasure of information - far larger than is reflected in its pagecount. Having read it now, the book seems to contain more information than just one book, more like a volume of books yet all contained in just one volume. Anyone interested in the context and culture of the regions in which Old Testament biblical events like the Exodus, etc are said to have occurred, would greatly enjoy this book.
Jknauff More than 1 year ago
This book addresses a topic that I know little about and it does so in a very entertaining way. The book is well researched but still very readable. I read it because it was a selection in a book club to which I belong. I would not have considered reading it on my own. However, I'm very glad I read it and I have recommended it to my relatives and friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walking the Bible is a very interesting book that talks about one man¿s journey through the Bible. Bruce Feiler travels throughout the Middle East visiting the places where experts have guessed that biblical events have taken place. Feiler does a remarkable job of portraying his adventures. His writing technique is extraordinary and phenomenal. This book is jam-packed full of information, but you don¿t feel like you¿re reading a boring research paper at all. And yet you can tell that so much research went into this book. When he rides a camel up Mount Sinai, he talks about how camels are the perfect animals for this job. He devotes a paragraph to nothing but facts about camels, including the third eyelid they have to wipe sand out of their eyes. He says, ¿In a sandstorm, camels can actually close this third eyelid and see through it. As further protection, camels also have extremely long eyelashes. I also have long eyelashes, which at the moment¿ I hoped would be taken as conformation that I, too, was somehow genetically aligned with the desert¿ (pg. 253). As you can see he gives plenty of information, and yet makes it completely entertaining. I would definitely recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boy, when I got this audio-CD I didn't know what I was expecting. WOW! I couldn't beleive how explicit and exact Bruce Feiler is. You must get this whether it's the book or the audio-CD.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fieler is a wordsmith as well as a seeker. I wish I had his writing talent. In reading his latest work I slowly realized the similarities between the Israelis and Palestinians of today. Both come from rich literary and poetic backgrounds. Both the Koran and the Wisdom books of the Jewish people emphasize hospitality to a traveler because both groups understand the extremes in climate of the area, especially the harshness of the desert and wilderness areas. I would enjoy reading a book by Fieler where he traveled to the holy places of Islam. The two books would complement each other and because of Fieler's objectivity and sensitivity perhaps the Arab world and their Jewish neighbors could see that they have more in common than they are able to see at the present. I am a Christian and I am not prostelytizing for anything except peace and mutual respect between two groups of neighbors. The images of beautiful sunsets evoked in the book might be seen as a hope for more harmony in the Middle East. The book reinforces the theme of faith as a constant journey. Fieler won't stop now. The following list of books I have enjoyed reflect the hope for tolerance and understanding which I received from Fieler's book and I hope that others will also read them. They are enjoyable as well as thought provoking. Love involves reflective thought and actions as well as sentiment. Thank you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this book Walking the Bible I really appreciate the way Feiler writes. He writes in a way where you can hear it in his voice that he is not biased. He really does try not to offend anyone. I enjoyed reading because he is a very good researcher without trying to make it feel like you are reading a history book, or even a research paper for that matter. Even more than his writing I do enjoy the fact that he cares about other people¿s religions and knows they have the right to believe whatever they want, so he puts everything into perspective for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to read Abraham!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bruce Feiler takes a trip in which he travels to many of the holy sites in the first 5 books in the Old Testament. He does a great job of descrbing the scenery and sights, and engages the readers, capturing their interest, almost making the readers feel that they were there. He also slowly begins to show how the Bible, and the land it takes place in can transform people, as his goal of not including God can only last so long, especially when he began to connect with the land spiritually.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Feiler is an amazing writer who can grab your attention and move your mind through the land. The best part about this book is the setting, and the way that are able, through the writing, to imagine the area, it is as if you could feel the sand blowing across your face. I highly recommend every person, who is interested in any type of religion, to read this book. This book is a way of walking through someone¿s faith and finding what is really there. If you ever wondered about the places where the Bible stories took place, and what the people in those stories were like, this is the book for you. This is an intriguing first hand experience report on what bible life was like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't real sure what to expect when I first started reading this book. I thought maybe it would be more of a basic travel log. It was so much more than that! Bruce Feiler is such an amazing writer! He uses such intricate details, you really feel as if you are right there with him. This is a story not only about a historical journey through the bible, but the author's inner transformation as he breaks away from modes of reason and logic and more towards emotion and trust.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Deeply moving for unexplained reasons. An experience I can't wait to continue and already anticipate a void once I've finished the book. This book will take you someplace your soul needs to go.The sand, the wind the history the science the humor. Better and more satisfying than carnal experiences.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book that allows us to visit places virtually that are not safe for Jews to visit right now.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely astounding!!!. I have never gotten this emotion from a book before, and I am an avid reader. The historical aspect and how it ties in with the bible was inspiring and informatative. I would highly reccommend it to any avid reader like myself. Robert Raleigh, Clev,OH.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am not a fast reader but I was compelled to read this 400+ page true story. As a Catholic I was pleased to find myself enthralled with the travels of this Jewish author as he followed in the footsteps of Moses. My interest in the Old Testament (and weekly Church Gospel readings) has been awakened. It changed my indifference to the troubles in the Middle East. I actually found myself enjoying this glimpse into the lives of Israelis, Palestinians, Egyptians, and Syrians. Sometime in my life when things in the Middle east have calmed, I want to go visit some of the places I read about. It was a bit preachy in spots, but this could easily be turned into another Indiana Jones movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Feiler takes the reader on a field trip through the Bible, cooking up a delightful smorgasboard of theology, history, archeaology, geography, storytelling, religions, and wisdom. The way he is able to weave all of these scholarly pursuits together is insightful and inspirational, letting the reader enjoy the journey from home while simultaneously soaking up a great deal of knowledge. Much better than listening to Aunt Bertha's vacation slide presentation! This book will definitely give you a new appreciation for the Bible. It seems Feiler's project may have started out as a personal project which eventually evolved into this wonderful book. He says in the text that the idea for the book snuck up on him, saying that 'suddenly, almost overnight, I wanted these words (i.e., the words found within the Bible) to have meaning again, to understand them.' Those words definitely resonated with me, because that was the same inspiration that I had when writing my own book (A New Beginning by Eric Westra). He took an entirely different path of execution than I did, taking a trek of thousands and thousands of miles to be able to experience the territory firsthand in order to be able to give a better personal context to the first five books of the Bible. He writes, 'I hoped this effort might deepen my appreciation of the stories by freeing them from their covers and replanting them in the ground.' And so if you want to be able to glean this type of wisdom without having to actually take this type of journey on your own, pick up a copy of this book and join Feiler and Avner and others on this incredible and entertaining trek. In fact, pick up this book as well as my own (Eric Westra, A New Beginning) if you would like to have both sides of your brain sparked in re-igniting your passion for the Old Testament.
MKH More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much especially having visited Egypt earlier this year. The maps in the front are excellent and for the first time in my life I have a better idea of where the countries in the Old Testament lie in relation to modern states of the Middle East.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago