×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Walking the Bible
     

Walking the Bible

3.9 32
by Bruce Feiler
 
One part adventure story, one part archaeological detective work, one part spiritual exploration, Walking the Bible vividly recounts an inspiring personal odyssey -- by foot, jeep, rowboat, and camel -- through the greatest stories ever told.

Feeling a desire to reconnect to the Bible, award-winning author Bruce Feiler set out on a perilous, ten-thousand-mile

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Walking the Bible 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bruce Feiler takes us on an engaging journey through the lands of Abraham, Jacob and Moses. Feiler's journey was spiritual as well as geographical and he exposes us to aspects of bedouin and Israeli culture I had never come across before. I found Feiler's spiritual journey to really be non-denominational and applicable to Jews, Christians and even Muslims. I found this to be a thoroughly enjoyable read that made me want to make a similar journey to see the lands of the Bible. I'd give it 4.5 rather than 4 stars if I could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good map of the sites of the best stories of the Bible. Very informative. Well written.
IndiraGonzalez More than 1 year ago
A well written, easy to read book that puts in perspective the physical journey of God's people. Although it is not a book for spiritual growth in your relationship with God, it is a book worth reading to farther understand the journey of a people, whom God chose to bring salvation to the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It stinks.this girl is an athiest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awww
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gbrutt More than 1 year ago
One supposes that a book titled, Walking The Bible, would feature elements of the Judeo-Christian faith. Why walk through the land of the Bible, the place of the five books of Moses, and not have an understanding of the faith? Feiler does mention that he is a nominal Christian and yet you never get the impression that he embraces the faith he is seeking to explore first hand. He writes well and I envy him the actual journey but to go to such lengths but miss the point of it all is very sad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I learned more about these areas and these Books of the Bible after reading this book. Now when studying the Bible it makes more sense
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stinks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an interesting look at part of what some consider the Bible, but it does not look at the whole Bible. It is, however, very interesting in that it points out many of the theories of what really happened. We were not there, so modern man only has theories. We need more faith and I think the author develops faith through this journey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why in the world does Barnes & Noble list this as a children's book? 445 pages long, with intellectual narrative throughout.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I was a child in church service I loved looking at the pictures and wondering what it would be like. Bruce Feiler takes me there and helps me understand how it might have been for the men of God in the beginning of the bible. Very inspiring. This book also tells of the Jewish people returning to the land they left.
rayosb More than 1 year ago
A real page-turner. A fascinating study of the land and stories of the Bible. A must read for anyone interested in the history of this area.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can I get it oley $ 2.99
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its an excellent description of the holy land. I felt like i was there with the author, thats how well he describes it. Loved it and plan to read it again. My favorite part was his journey through the Sinai desert. I lived it through his eyes.
mrzappa More than 1 year ago
Good read.  Makes me want to visit the Middle East with a different prospective.  Thanks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SharynR More than 1 year ago
I have read everything that Bruce Feiler has written and enjoyed them all. This book is one of my favorites. As a United Methodist pastor, I enjoy books about the Hebrews scripture and the geography and history of the times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. More than I thought I would. Great story.