×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wanted: Wife
     

Wanted: Wife

4.1 94
by Gwen Jones
 

See All Formats & Editions

If you love the humor and romance of Rachel Gibson and Susan Elizabeth Phillips, don't miss the fabulous debut of Gwen Jones!

Landed, financially secure 40-yr-old male

* Handsome, but with old-school communication skills and a secret past *

Seeks healthy, athletic female

* Preferably a pretty reporter with a messy love life

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wanted: Wife 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 95 reviews.
tsmb02 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really developed well and the story was great. Julie is a TV reporter and is engaged to Richard, the man of her dreams. With her wedding in just two weeks, Richard dumps her. He makes her life miserable in the span of 24 hours. Right after Julie is dumped, she and her cameraman, Denny, hear about how some guy is advertising for a wife by hanging up flyers. They decide to check it out in case they can get a news story from it. Julie walks over to the man who is looking for a wife and sees Andy for the first time. She was expecting someone not very good looking and instead this man is gorgeous and sexy with a killer smile. Instant attraction. Andy agrees to let her do a story about him trying to find a wife. At the end of the interview process, Andy decides he wants Julie to be his wife. He offers her a proposition that Julie just cannot refuse. The rest of the story is how they become man and wife in name only to a real married couple. There were a lot of funny, sexy and even sweet emotional scenes. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story, with a good happy ending.
LeahLR More than 1 year ago
This was a fun story. I was not sure how the story was going to evolve. I did enjoy the read and how the characters were developed.
gaele More than 1 year ago
A flyer on a telephone pole advertising for a wife is just one of many oddities in Julie’s life at the moment.  Although Andy Devine is just that, and not surprisingly she is what he wants.  Contracting for a wife his cool and calculating manner suits her down on men attitude perfectly.   Julie is smart and curious: willing to work hard and surprising herself and Andy with her determination.  Andy is a master at distraction, whether it is from his sheer sex appeal and sensual manner, or diverting with his French, his history is shared in small bits with great difficulty.  As these two learn to work together and trust one another, the one constant is the sexual attraction.  And if anyone, after reading this story can pretend that French isn’t one of the most seductive and sexy languages to declare that “I love the way you ____ me” (and you can fill in the blank):  You Are Lying!   Their sexual chemistry, Julie’s inner voicing talking about the shattering effect Andy has on her, and the pure romanticism of the French all combine to make those sections of the story steamy hot – and it infiltrates almost every interaction between Andy and Julie.  Gwen Jones has taken an off-beat idea for a plot starter, and against all odds made a romance that is both believable and incredibly enjoyable.  Even supporting characters are developed with an eye to their purpose for the plot, with their interactions bringing a bit of relief from the highly charged interactions between Andy and Julie.    A great story all around, I tore through the pages hoping for the HEA that both characters so deserve.  I received a Galley copy from the publisher for purpose of honest review for the Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions were my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pornography in capital letters. Had to skip so many pages - left very few pages to read. I won't be reading anything else by this person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great new author. I am very excited to read more by her. The story is a wonderfully written contemporary romance. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyable read. Has all the elements for a great romance
HarlequinJunkie_ More than 1 year ago
In Wanted: Wife by Gwen Jones, Television reporter Julie Knott is known for her off-the-beaten-path spots on Channel 8 News in Philadelphia where she meets some very, well let's say, interesting characters. When she covers a story about a local man in Iron Bog, New Jersey, who is advertising for a wife by putting flyers on utility poles, she never guessed she would be the first choice to become his bride. Of course this had to happen at a very chaotic time in her life. She had just been dumped by her fiance mere weeks before they were set to be married while he runs back to his ex in Seattle. He locks her out of their apartment and bank account leaving her with few options. She soon finds out as well that the station is cutting her spot and she'll be moved to late nights as a newscaster. When the mysterious and devastatingly handsome Andy Devine asks her to marry him, she is stunned and more than a little skeptical. He presents the proposal to her like it's a business agreement, with a contract and everything. They will have a three month "trial run" where she helps take care of the farm they'll be living on and they are to try to become pregnant during that time. Julie doesn't have to give him an answer for a few days and ends up deciding to go along with the plan so long as she can write a book based on her time with Andy. 'It was all I could do to think, breathe. 'Tres belle...tres belle...' he murmured, his mouth falling over mine. I don't know if it was the French or the raw feel of his kiss, soft and cabernet-warmed, but when his tongue laced hungrily into mine it was like some crazy bomb went off in my head.' The adventure begins with a shaky start the day they marry. Andy's late for the wedding due to an emergency on the farm and from there crazy funny situations ensue. Julie still thinks there must be more to his story than he is letting on and is determined to get to the bottom of it. The one thing she is sure of is the incredible chemistry they have together. She can't even think straight when she's in the same room as Andy. They both have a lot to learn when it comes to not only farming, but being married and compromising, and they do eventually find their own rhythm to daily life in the Pines. That is, until one of Andy's family members comes to visit and drops a bombshell causing Julie to have to rethink her decision to follow through with this plan. They both have some thinking and soul-searching to do. Julie goes back to life in the city for a bit while Andy goes back to work. Events that happen while they are apart cause complications and Julie has to decide whether or not she wants to bring Andy into her life again or to forge ahead alone. 'Even someone as jaded as me sometimes has hope, when my dissolute mind allows just enough slack to believe--yes, sometimes things actually lean in my direction. And because of that I reached up and pulled my husband to me, his kiss meeting mine with tenderness.' Written as a narrative, this book by Gwen Jones is funny, romantic and witty. The love scenes were scorching hot...not sure if maybe it had to do with the French Andy spoke to Julie throughout the story...;) This is definitely a unique spin on contemporary romance and it works. I felt bad for Julie's situation at the beginning of the book and while I don't know if I'd be brave enough to jump into this kind of adventure, admired her for taking a chance--whether it was initially just for the story, or to start a new life. Andy was one of those mysterious characters that I both loved and was perturbed with at times. He obviously felt something toward Julie but I just couldn't figure out if he was real or simply playing a game until close to the end. I'd recommend this if you're looking for a romance that has a little bit different plotline but is still steamy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I beenn thinking to read another book but i just keep on reading the sample over and over like almodt a billion times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a quick enjoyable read. Now Andy's brother neeeds a wife!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly developed and likable characters, many surprising twists, and a strong sub plot as well. This is not just a comedy but an clever study in human character. I definitely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully witty and very sexy story. May not be for the squeamish of heart, but hey love should be sexy no? This is a fantastic debut for an obviously very talented author. Clever and unique story line that keeps you reading until you figure out what motivates Andy and how they will make this work. I loved it and highly recommend it. Love this new author!! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!!!
love2readRM More than 1 year ago
If you love strong women and the men that care about them read this. I loved it.
wild-thang More than 1 year ago
This is a hot, sexy fast paced read. It got my blood flowing...this is a sizzling page turner. Enjoy it and make sure you have a glass of ice water handy to cool down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like the story. Funny and practically romantic.
Minnietoad More than 1 year ago
Very good book. Captured my attention right away and I could hardly put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness. This story was terrible. The characters are not well developed. They feel very two dimensional. I felt there was very little growth from any of the characters. This is always the reason for telling a story; a person is at the end of their rope and we watch how they succeed, or not. In this story, we had two characters who were certainly at the end of their ropes (even though "Andy" really doesn't seem pushed enough) but the struggle just didn't seem interesting enough even though the author opens with a very interesting, very racy, very fun idea. There are "secrets" which are always great in a well told story. Unfortunately, the author does not do anything interesting with the secrets and leaves no room for surprises; they are all hinted at or revealed in the overviews. Even when the mother in law is introduced, the reader finally has the sense that things are going to get interesting. They do not. It's nothing we don't already know. My minor complaint is the number of grammatical errors through out the novel. Because the author begins with an idea that could be very entertaining, I'm sure she has other writing that is very interesting and well developed. This just isn't her best sample.
Grandma_Tami More than 1 year ago
was fun to see where this book was going and how it got to where it did :) will be looking for more books by this author .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great quick romance read it kept you right in the action of what was going to happen next. And a little guessing along the way. I would recommend. Happy reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
onlyminordetails More than 1 year ago
Upon finishing, my initial reaction: I can't even express the amount of awesome that is contained in this book. It is the best book I've read so far this year. Definitely in the top ten of my life. My Thoughts (full review): I have no idea why it's taken me this long to write my review for this beauty of a book. I signed up for a promo tour for Wanted: Wife and its sequel months ago and ended up being so intrigued by the synopsis that I had to buy a copy. And oh my goodness, you guys... this book became my favorite of 2014! There was something so impossibly perfect about the idea of Andy looking for a wife and picking Julie. It's so ridiculously silly on the surface, but when we get to the wedding day, everything they face draws you in and holds you there. Andy not only wants a wife and a family, but also someone to help him take care of their house, crops, and animals. They live in the middle of nowhere with limited contact with the world around them. I love the idea of this--going back to something simpler and pure and beautiful--and that's probably why I loved reading their story. Reading the journey Andy and Julie take to accomplish everything that needs to be done completely warmed my heart. They got married without really knowing each other, but now they're together and the more time they spend together, the more they fall for each other. But life isn't as easy as they would like it to be, and on this road of ups and downs, they need to work together for it to stay together. Wanted: Wife is in my top ten favorite books of all time! I loved the sweetness of it, how romantic Andy is when he speaks to Julie in French. I looked up all the words he said and I swear I was a melted pile of swoon. There's so much to this story, more than just the romance, and I adored it even more because of it. I will absolutely be reading more books by Gwen Jones! My Rating: Exceptional
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago