×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

War and Peace (Pevear/Volokhonsky Translation)
     

War and Peace (Pevear/Volokhonsky Translation)

4.2 100
by Leo Tolstoy, Richard Pevear, Larissa Volokhonsky
 

See All Formats & Editions

Often called the greatest novel ever written, War and Peace is at once an epic of the Napoleonic Wars, a philosophical study, and a celebration of the Russian spirit. Tolstoy’s genius is seen clearly in the multitude of characters in this massive chronicle—all of them fully realized and equally memorable. Out of this complex narrative emerges a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

War and Peace Pevear/Volokhonsky Translation) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 100 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Translations of great works are usually a tricky business. One problem is that translations do not really age well. In works by Homer or Vergil, for instance, the originals remain fresh and timeless, but the translations soon come to seem stodgy or stuffy or worse -- what was truly great about the original can easily become obscured. So basically, the translations of the great works have to be recalibrated for each new generation. And even with that, not all translations are equally effective. This translation of War and Peace is a model of the translator's craft and art. They seem to have fully understood Tolstoy's goals and style. A long story, War and Peace does require a certain amount of commitment on the part of the reader. But this absorbing, erudite, clever and deeply human translation rewards the time dedicated to reading it. It is often said that War and Peace encompasses every possible emotion and experience that could be found in human life. Pevear and Volokhonsky have produced a translation that honors the original and makes it accesible to a larger audience than ever before. I have strongly requested a number of friends to read this book. They have all thanked me profusely and we have enjoyed many wonderful conversations about its contents.
1848 More than 1 year ago
This is Tolstoy at the height of his powers. This edition translated by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky is in its own right a masterpiece. I have read Constance Garnett's translation and this one is far superior. Their translations of Dostoevsky, Gogol, and Chekov are also some of the best translations of Russian works I have read. Tolstoy's War and Peace he did not consider a novel and I would agree. It does not have the elements of a novel and is more a meditative investigation of the time period, Russia, and history.
bossbaggs More than 1 year ago
Tolstoy's insight into human nature is unsurpassed. His philosophical meanderings mark the dawn of modernism. His characters are charming. His depiction of battle is utterly humane. His grasp of history and its implications is unerring. Just read it, you'll be glad you did. By the way, this translation is indeed lucid and approachable.
Laura-Alethea More than 1 year ago
As a proud new Nook owner (purchased after both of my sons came home within one week of each other with theirs), I wanted something serious to try it out on, so I went looking for a copy of War and Peace, which I had not read in many years. Being aware that there are usually several translations of a classic, I of course was looking for the one that I was familiar with, the old stand-by translation by Constance Garnett. As it was not obvious which edition on the last was that translation, I took advantage of the free sample available for this one, and I am very glad that I did. A few pages and I was hooked. I read the Section I of the first part in its entirety at one sitting. The decision was apparently made to leave the French portions intact, as the author had written them, showing how the upper class would normally slide in and out of both languages. It gives one a real feel for the way they talked. The translations of the French passages are at the back, but in the electronic version it is very easy to switch back and forth via the links provided. (I like to try to translate the passages on my own and then check to see if I did it right.) There is another entire set of notes on the historical references which are also invaluable. Tolstoy's incredible mind would shine through a merely competent or even a poor translation, I think; but this translation seems to me to have something a little extra: It seems to give one a feel for what it might be like to read him in the original Russian. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
just a note: Though at times it seems frustrating to read the translated French in footnotes, the dynamic between French and Russian is purposefully there. So, it becomes very helpful to know what characters regularly speak in French (and the general style of how it's used in the Russian aristocracy) when reading War and Peace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The novel has long been canonical. Pevear and Volkhonsky realize the poetry of Tolstoy's Russian to give non-Russian-readers a sense of how deserved is the novel's canonical status.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Given War and Peace's reputation, it was a little intimidating to pick up. It starts out slow, but if you can stick with it, it is an amazing story and actually goes quite fast after you get to know the characters. My daughter and I had a bet on how long it would take to read. She thought 6 months. I was done in a month and a half just reading daily before bed. This is a classic for a reason. Everyone should read it once in their lives.
InlandEmpireReader More than 1 year ago
DON'T buy the NOOK version of this book. I did. And I regretted it INSTANTLY. This book has TONS of footnotes that you have to read as you go along. However, in the NOOK version you can't easily access the footnotes as they are all at the back of the book rather than on the same page. I'm totally disappointed that I can't return this ebook (B&N has a no returns policy on ebooks). I'm going to have to buy the PAPER version of this book in order to read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recently read War and Peace for the first time. The length of this 'loose baggy monster' as Henry James once described it always prevented me from tackling the famed novel. This was a mistake. Anyone who has read the equally great Anna Karenina can attest that Tolstoy grabs hold of the reader from the first and never fails to 'yes' entertain as well as provoke seemingly endless ideas about family, war, society, economics etc. This novel will haunt you from the first. Tolstoy's image making/evocation is unsurpassed. He will describe a place or person or thing or event, such as several notable battles and your mental image will crystalize with a clarity that is unmatched by other novelists. The shear ambition of this novel is stunning. Numerous characters who are all interesting, set pieces to fill many novels. Even when Tostoy's story is put on hold for essays on Napoleon or other subjects you will find yourself riveted. It seems strange to call this novel a page turner, but it is. It is a 'monster', a wildly entertaining ride through the heart and soul of Russia and in the end all of us. This may be the greatest novel ever. I know you hear that with other novels as well, however, this is one work that can make a claim to encompassing everything and all of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you've put off reading "War & Peace" due to its length and reputation, you have the chance with this new translation to redeem yourself. This translation is eminently readable and is a major step forward over previous translations, according to my book club friends. While the translation can do nothing about the formidable length, the time taken to cover that length is enjoyable, even intoxicating at times. If there are weaknesses, they are the common ones attributed to "War & Peace," the heavy reliance on French by the upper class Russians, especially in the beginning chapters (which was historically accurate) and the historical essays that initially provide an intriguing commentary on the battles with Napoleon but bring a stultifying conclusion to an otherwise brilliant work. By the way, my version was an e-book version, and while it was a relief not to have to lug the printed book with me on my train commute everyday, the historical and translation footnotes are all handled by hyperlinks which are tiring to access in an e-book with its primitive cursor placement. Still, highly recommended.
bookwormiest More than 1 year ago
Spend a few extra bucks and get the Pevear and Volokhonsky translation. This is a book I've read every few years since I was 11. 30 years later, it's more relevant than ever. Tolstoy is simply unequaled in his mastery of plot, characters and understanding what really matters. If you've never read it, read it! If it's been a few years, read it again!
BillGNY More than 1 year ago
There's something absurd about reviewing a novel nearly 150 years old which is one of the most famous and best regarded ever written. Let me just say that Tolstoy's genius is his ability to find his way into to the heads of some many different kinds of people -- from the young Natalia Rostov first falling in love to her brother Nikolai's iniital reaction to combat to the old general Bolkonsky moving increasingly into senility. The plot moves from battle scenes to ballrooms, and it is breathtaking that Tolstoy is equally at home as a writer. The man also had experience in both. *Count* Leo Tolstoy was a Russian aristocrat who was no stranger to the daily life of the aristocracy and also had served as a soldier in the siege of Sevastopol (about which he wrote Sevastopol Stories). I can't read Russian, but the translation is highly readable in English and a Russian lit professor I know -- also a native Russian speaker -- thinks that Pevear and Volokhonsky are very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is translated by the best Russian team ever. It's perfect!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I feel like a phillistine admitting that I have never been able to get through War & Peace. This translation of the russian is much better than previous ones, but it still has the problem of the french language used. To read the french translation, you have to go to the footnotes. Then you lose sense of who was talking going back and forth. Why could the translators not have translated the french in the main text? They translated it anyway. I finally gave up in frustration and regretted spending that much on the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Age: 15 b-day 9-23-99 <p>Looks: Has andy biersacks hair cut has a black rose tattoo on his back and a few scars on his wrists. Blue eyes
shogun57 More than 1 year ago
This book was incredible! The plot was completely engaging from start to finish. Tolstoy went to great lengths to research historical documents about the War of 1812 to create this work of historical fiction, and the result allows the reader to become immersed in a novel filled with both an intricate suspensful plotline and one which brings the war of 1812 and the culture of Russia during that time period to life. The recount of certain battles like the one at Borodino and the depiction of the French Army's invasion of Moscow and later on their retreat is rendered with great detail and although the novel is not a historical work, and even Tolstoy himself claims the novel is not even a 'novel', the images he creates give the reader a sense of closeness to the events that happened and what life was like in Russia during that time period. The story itself is captivating, with a multitude of characters and families that all become connected in some way. Scandal, romance, passion, treachery, this novel has it all up until the very end. Tolstoy at times injects his own viewpoints on the role of historians in society and the weaknesses inherent in their reasoning for why events happened the way they did. This dialogue can be tough to get through at times, but it was only a minor hindrance in the progression of the overall storyline. The length of the novel was appropriate given the amount of character development, plot details, and depictions of the war itself and its aftermath. Overall a true masterpiece, quite a pleasure to read this one. For those that cannot read the work in its original language, it is an absolute necessity to get the translation by Pevear and Volokhonsky, which translate it as faithfully as possible without abridging the french language passages scattered throughout the novel, and with an endless array of endnotes, summary, glossary of historical names, to keep the reader informed of the countless historical and cutural references within the novel. This novel is a Must-Read!
FelicheCrafts More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book. Don't be scared by the length. Tolstoy keeps you engaged. Reading it now for the second time.
Anonymous 11 days ago
It is currently 11:33 p.m. so please excuse my grammar and spelling mistakes. Cx <p> ~Name~ Courtlyn Marie Kenny. <br> ~Age~ 16 years old. <br> ~Grade~ Junior in highschool. <br> ~Height~ Proudly stands at 5'1. :3 <br> ~Structure~ She has a very proportionate frame. She is quite skinny, so most of her clothes, besides her skinny jeans/leggings, are slightly froppy when wearing them. Her arms are skinny and her wrists small, making her hands delicately cold. Her legs are also very thin, though not too thin. They look like they could /not/ snap. xD She, honestly, has flauntful curves, though barely acknowledges them due to the fact that sweater, sweatshirts, and long-shirts are her best friend. So, you could consider her quite tiny. <br> ~Facial~ She has an oval-set face structure. It's slightly prominet at the jaw, so her cheekbones are hidden beneath her rounded cheeks. Her nose is small, her nostrils flaring, just slightly to the sides which is perfect for her to show off her silver nose ring hidden in her left nostril. Her lips are round and full, much to the extent of Kylie Jenner, though her's are actually real and often doused in natural colored lipstick. Her eyebrows are a thinning arch. And yea. <br> ~Hair~ Her hair is what she considers her favorite feature. It is long with a naturally soft texture, also holding a bit of a curl. It is a darkened red color, nearly verging into the brown catagory. It sways just past her bust and can either be found in a ponytail, or just in its natural state. <br> ~Eyes~ Rounding to a large circle, her long and full eyelashes frame the strikingly blue orbs she calls eyes. That's all I'm going to say. Cx <br> ~Peircings~ she has two simple peircings in either of her ears, as well as a nose ring in her left nostril. <br> ~Personality~ Meet her? She is usually open to friendships of any kind, and is very friendly. Much different then her brother. *cough**cough* knox. <br> ~Status~ She is taken. Sowwy. :3 Love you, Conner.
Anonymous 3 months ago
8:00 pm eastern and 8:00 am eastern. -Raku
Anonymous 3 months ago
[I'm finally making one.] Looks: He is 6'2 tall and has a 6-pack and decent muscles. He has a fat belly and i pick my nose
Anonymous 4 months ago
Robin is 5'4 and a girl. She has long, brown hair, green eyes, and black nerd glasses too big for her face. She wears a black hoodie every day. Boom. Find out everything else from her. Blerb.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Booop
Anonymous 7 months ago
Can l sign up?
Anonymous 7 months ago
Do you like jordyn (or how ever you spell it) somebody told me that you did. Please respond at res. 7. If you don't believe me, just look at res. 5
Anonymous 8 months ago
Eyes: Hazel Hair: brown hair with blonde naturally at the bottom and it curls at the bottom. Looks: idk i'm new and not sure what to do! Height: 5'9 Sexuality: Straight Age: 17 Other: i guess you just ask!