×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

War of the Bloods in My Veins: A Street Soldier's March Toward Redemption
     

War of the Bloods in My Veins: A Street Soldier's March Toward Redemption

4.0 11
by DaShaun "Jiwe" Morris
 

See All Formats & Editions

By turns harrowing, moving, and ultimately redemptive, this is a war story — a war that rages out of control on the streets of the United States, claiming the lives of our loved ones and neighbors. In this memoir, complete with child soldiers, unspeakable violence, and eventual salvation, we witness the journey of an East Coast member of the notorious Bloods

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

War of the Bloods in My Veins: A Street Soldier's March Toward Redemption 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recently completed this book and was "taken in" from the beginning to the end. Although I'm from an older generation than "Jiwe," I too grew up in Newark, and witnessed first hand the "transition" of the neighborhoods, when the infiltration of both drugs and gangs began to take over. Jiwe's approach and presentation of this lifestyle and his personal experiences he went through -- were gripping in tone and detail! I am/was very familiar with the places he mentioned in this book, (i.e., 18th Ave, No. Day St., (Orange) and even OHS) and as he described the events that took place, I could visibly "see," "feel," and ultimately "relate," to what was taking place. My prayers and encouragement go out to this young man as he continues to "choose" to do what is right, for the sake of helping other young people in the same situation and circumestances, for the sake of being a positive example for his family and for the overall sake of preserving his own life! Very proud of you Dashaun!...keep up the good work!
Miss_Me More than 1 year ago
This book started off too slowly for me because I couldn't get pass the dream sequence that started the book. Then as I continued to read, and he shared his history with us, he took me on a journey on how he thought and viewed the world. This made me realize that when you have a foundation like that, it's not that it was a glamorization of a street life style, but he's showing love to the culture that showed him an ounce of love, no matter how amoral or dysfuntional us so-called "norms" think it is. Really is making me re-evaluate how I interact with some of my students....
RWA_Bookclub More than 1 year ago
What happens when a young man lacks the amount of love that can elevate him to greatness? He starts looking for it in all the wrong places, starting in the street. When that love comes in the form of feeling the power surge behind pulling a gun when he should be watching cartoons, he becomes an addict. Nothing else can give him the surge that he feels when he's getting the respect of the boys in his crew from putting in work. The only thing is blood shed causes more blood shed, and it seems that the cycle will never cease as a carnage of his friends are left behind. This book was inspiring, empowering and awakening. This isn't your average, I grew up in a gang and got redeemed book. This is an honest exposé exploring the thought process, the environment, the challenges, the inner turmoil that caused a young man's heart to harden. The honesty in this book was simply astounding. It isn't often that you see a hardened street thug show that he was often scared, vulnerable and even depressed. This book really had us thinking about the choices we make as parents and their impact on our children. Who would have thought that something simple as moving would cause a child to feel unwanted, unloved, unneeded? The author did a wonderful job of making sure that the reader could easily understand what was going on in his very complicated life. In it all, he was able to show that he was just human, capable of making mistakes, and ultimately just trying to survive.
Meli_05 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my son after seeing the series "Brick City". My teenage son was going through similar stuggles in his life and I thought this book could give him the inspiration to overcome them. I give so much credit to the author for making such a huge change in his life and even better, being a mentor for other young men in his same situation. I would recommend this book to any single-mother raising young men to give them the courage to make something out of themselves even through all the stuggles and obstacles life throws at them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
chris87 More than 1 year ago
this guy is awesome. he came into my school today and he explains everything about his life. he is an awesome writer and he wants to help everyone and to show what life is like when you dont have a good role model.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts off ok. I don't believe its all true. Anyone,that has lived that type of life could have wrote this book. In fact, anyone could have wrote this book. I never finished it. Lost interest. I know many people from the area and a few of them even said its either all lies or most of it isn't true.