×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Warrior's Path
     

The Warrior's Path

4.3 72
by Louis L'Amour
 

See All Formats & Editions

Filled with exciting tales of the frontier, the chronicle of the Sackett family is perhaps the crowning achievement of one of our greatest storytellers.In The Warrior’s Path, Louis L’Amour tells the story of Yance and Kin Sackett, two brothers who are the last hope of a young woman who faces a fate worse than death.

When Yance Sackett’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Warrior's Path 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
western More than 1 year ago
This book will take you from down south to the north to the Carribean where if you are a LL fan you will know he has been to every place that he writes about and if you have the intestinal fortitude to follow exactly the clues you will find a rock that is mentioned, or a tree, or a waterfall, a tribe of little known indians (Piquot) or a former settlement. And in essence you will be transported back to the 1600's to live an adventure that will keep you pulling for Yance Sackett and the trail of the kidnapped girls!Or have they all really been kidnapped?Do they all want to go home?It takes a turn for your expectations to be challenged.As always LL's women are strong, resourceful and a bit independent. And these qualities of the women herein are enlightening to me as a reader that sometimes you take a mess that some would consider a loss and turn it to the good with little to no regret!
1-Angry-Man More than 1 year ago
This is one I could read again. The action took you all over the new world from the Carolina's, Massachusetts and to the Caribbean. Frontier life was never so exciting!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The publisher's write up just doesn't give this book the detail needed. This is an exciting suspenseful novel of the beginning of America. It takes you North Carolian, New England, West Indies. And has a story line that explains why the New World became what it is. And how capitalism, slavery, etc build this world and why. If you are looking for a short cowboy book this isn't it. But if you are looking for a suspenseful historical novel this is it. And you are there every minute. You can feel the emotion and struggle in the book as you read it. I personally listened to the unabriged audio tape. It is great for long drives, plane trips etc. If you want to understand how and Why America began this book provides a good historical example
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Angie_Lisle More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time getting through this book, despite the interesting topics - the promise of a witch, Native Americans, pirates, and some gorgeous descriptions of 17th-century American forests. Kin Ring Sackett takes over as narrator from his father Barnabas and the two are nearly identical in nature, so much so that I forgot I was seeing the world through another character's senses. I wish L'Amour had taken a little more time to develop unique characters; it would help the plot feel less like a pot-boiler, which it is (the ending is predictable for anyone well read in historical fiction). It doesn't help that certain topics are hinted at but never fully explored - Diana's witchcraft is gossiped about but this is just a device moving the plot forward, an explanation for why she's shunned by her community. Those plot-threads fall by the wayside with the accusations of witchcraft left unexplored. There weren't many Native Americans either. Forget the TV mini-series created back in the 70s; I recast the roles for my imagination. I have certain Native American public figures that I frequently use in my imaginings - Rick Mora, Wes Studi, the Spears brothers, Zahn McClarnon - because, well, yum (I like beautiful men of all nationalities). The Inyuns (a Creole word, don't get all racist on me) are spotted moving through the woods, but always at a distance so there's few interactions with them and I didn't get to plug in hotties very often (however, I did cast Brad Pitt as Barnabas Sackett while reading the first two books and, because of the similarities between Barnabas and Kin, continued to use young-Brad for Kin. I wouldn't be surprised to see me use Mr. Pitt for my imaginings of other characters in future books either). This book hits novella-length instead of novel so the reading went quickly. In some ways, it feels like this story may have been an attempt to fill in the gaps between the characters of Barnabas and Jubal, the main character in the next book in the series (which is actually a novel and not a novella - I have higher hopes for the next book).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
once again lamour wrote a very good story. i couldnt put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cessnafltmech More than 1 year ago
Another great Sackett novel, well worth the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read to pass some time on a plane or at the beach. A small book so it can slip easily into a carry-on, jacket pocket or beach bag.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chainlink More than 1 year ago
Highly recommended reading for anyone. Another, Louis L'Amour, engrossing book that grabs and holds your interest until the very end. I recommend this book to everyone who loves books of adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago