×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Watch on the Rhine (Human-Posleen War Series #7)
     

Watch on the Rhine (Human-Posleen War Series #7)

4.4 11
by John Ringo, Tom Kratman
 

See All Formats & Editions

The invaders are coming—the Posleen, a seemingly unstoppable horde who have conquered one star system after another, literally feeding on their conquests. Earth's dubious allies, the Darhel, have given the humans a number of highly-advanced technological devices, including a process for rejuvenating the aged, including trained and proven soldiers who otherwise

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Watch on the Rhine 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though the earthlings defeated the Posleen (see A HYMN BEFORE BATTLE), in space, the enemy centaurs attacked the planet (see GUST WIND). In spite of technological aid from the pacifist Galactic Federation and that the prime assault has not begun, earth stands on the brink of disaster with Northern Virginia already in ruins. --- Military cutbacks have left the world with few combat experienced officers so the leadership deliberates whether to recall the only group with the needed battle hardness to defeat the invaders. There is one problem however. Everyone swore to never arm any of these dangerous abusive soldiers let alone allow them to reunite. Failure to bring this violent amoral group back means almost certain defeat at the hands of a foe prepared for pandemic genocide. Bringing them back may still mean defeat, but provides perhaps the only chance to win, but what about the post war clean-up with these raging sociopaths in charge of the military? Will humanity¿s leadership recall what is left of the tabooed Waffen SS in what could prove in the long run jumping from the frying pan into the fire? --- WATCH ON THE RHINE is military science fiction at its thought provoking best. The story line works on three fronts: a deep insider look at Waffen SS that the Nuremberg Trials declared as outlaws, a powerful glimpse at how cultures struggle to adapt to situations outside their collective moral system, and a potent indictment of modern day roving politicians who insist the ends justify the means by using misinformation, disinformation, and omission to make the facts fit one size solution. The characters are two dimensional, but no one will care as John Ringo & Tom Kratman provide a mind boggling exhilarating thriller that the above two paragraphs only scratch the surface of a great tale. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down
TheGreatSnook More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure if I was going to like this book. I have been reading the other Posleen books, but the thought of having to root for Nazi Germans just seemed wrong on many levels. However, I believe the authors pulled it off. If you are of the liberal persuasion you will not like this book as they are basically treated like traitors to humanity. It did make me curious how many people on the left actually read military SF so maybe this won't bother anyone. Next up, I'm going to give the book about Panama a shot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PREPARE to have your mind put under the heel of a well-polished JACKBOOT! In this absolutely breathtaking novel (whose premise takes refuge in sheer audacity), the last vestiges of a reviled and hated force are called up from history to defend their Fatherland again. The Waffen SS was one of the most well-trained and vicious fighting forces in history. They were the whispered terror of Europe, once. Now, they are the living nightmare of the Posleen! Ringo and Kratman set up a scenario in which the SS can regain their shattered honor, in the only way good men should: by fighting and dying in a desperate struggle for their home. And there's the kicker; in a drastic change from most fiction, those who are the villains of history become heroes. Because these ARE good men, even for the lightning bolts on their collars; indeed, it is often because of their hated status that they fight harder. Plus, Ringo and Kratman go into almost mind-numbing detail in describing the differences between the fighting units of the SS and those which operated the camps. If the rest of the SS are the Himmlers and Goerings, these men are the Rommels and Stauffenbergs. The only character who could be LEGITIMATELY called a Nazi gets his just desserts in spades. If the characters are one dimensional, then that single dimension is as nuanced as any classical masterpiece. In the end, it is these men who save their people. With no attitude other than "I did my duty, for God and Country." And that is all that matters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The events in this book take place during Gust Front, and while that one takes place in the United States, this one is in Europe. Ringo mixes sci-fi military with world war 2 nazis, who are regenerated to youth to battle the posleen. This is as good as the first 4 books of this series and but more vicious and audacious, and more of the posleen point of view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seeing this novel rated as a 4 1/2 star has prompted me to review it. I loved this series of books until this one. This is the worst book of the first 7 and I hesitate to read anything else written by Tom Kratman. His writing was subpar at best and the premise of the novel was poor too. I would only recommend this book to those who are hard core fans that feel the need to complete the series. It's a pity that Ringo sold out and went the way of collaborations. Too many authors are doing this these days even some of the most respected authors like Tom Clancy. I guess it's all about the money to someone, either the publisher or the author. I find it distasteful that these books are marketed as being by a certain author when it is obvious upon reading that the style is nothing like what has come before. I have begun to avoid all collaborations now, which is a pity, because sometimes there are some that work very well such as the one between David Weber and John Ringo in the Empire of Man series.