×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Watchers
     

Watchers

4.6 723
by Dean Koontz
 

See All Formats & Editions

A “superior thriller”(Oakland Press) about a man, a dog, and a terrifying threat that could only have come from the imagination of #1 New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz.

On his thirty-sixth birthday, Travis Cornell hikes into the foothills of the Santa Ana Mountains. But his path is soon blocked by a bedraggled Golden

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Watchers 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 723 reviews.
Patski More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story. It makes you believe that dogs can actually talk. I knew that all along.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so happy today, I found this book again. I had lent my copy to someone, and you know how it is, after some time I could not remember the person I had lent it to and all I could remember was the great storry. Well I have found it. This book is on my top 10 most liked books of my life. The story is compelling and you just can't stop reading. I would recommend this book to all. I will defenatly buy another copy and this time make sure to remember if I lend it again. Were do you get your insparations, how do you come up with stories like this. I only wish I had a great mind and a good story teller as you are. Please keep on writing, I just love your books.
KellieRNC More than 1 year ago
This has always been one of my favorite books. I have a hardback copy and a paperback copy, but when I got my new Nook, I knew I needed it on there too. I usually reread this book several times a year- it's that good! It's the perfect blend of suspense, drama and humor. If you've never read Koontz, it's one of his best! (Lightening by him is also great!)
Jennifer Coats More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of Koontz's best stories ever! Koontz has always mastered stories with people you feel for, but this one is all about the dog. Anyone whom loves a good sci-fi/horror story needs to read this one. Already read? I have read this one at least 3 times myself. Love it!
Mama-Dog More than 1 year ago
I love stories that pull me in and get me emotionally involved with the characters, and that's just what this one did. 'Fiddle broke' had me in tears. Without going into a long, drawn-out, detailed review, let me just say - Read it! You'll be glad you did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first time i read this book, I was a teenager...I fell in love with it right away...since then, Dean Koontz has been one of my favorite authors. This book is my favorite book of all time. Wonderfully written. (The movie they made based on this book doesn't hold a candle to the book, though. I was highly disappointed watching it...)
Booklover49 More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Koontz's books, this one in 1990, and this is my favorite of his and of all the books I have read in the last 45 years! Everyone that I have told to read it, has loved it also. I only have a very few books that I have reread over and over and this is one. I love Einstein and "Fiddle broke" (you'll understand when you read it :)),will make you cry. This book has it all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rediscovered this book. I originally read it years ago when it first came out. Love it even more in a deeper way emotionally now that i am more mature. A touching, yet a tough, suspenseful, thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've always been a huge Dean Koontz fan and this book remains my favorite. It scares me every time i read it, which ive lost count of. I once decided camping may not be such a good idea, while planning such a trip and reading Watchers. This is a book you won't be disappointed in!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts slow, but once you get in it's hard to put down! Great read, very in depth and makes you wonder about what really goes on in laboratories!
BevTexas More than 1 year ago
I haven’t read everything Dean Koontz has written, but over the years I’ve read and enjoyed a lot of it. I believe WATCHERS is his best. I've just finished reading it for the second time and will undoubtedly read it again within the next few years. I'm a true animal lover and a true Koontz fan, so I suppose the affection I have for the fictitious Einstein was inevitable. As happens in many of his books, Dean Koontz's love for dogs, particularly golden retrievers, comes shining through. Although I read and enjoy books of many genres, I list WATCHERS as a favorite. I even developed sympathy for The Other. If you've read the book, you understand what that means. If you haven't, don't waste another minute. Order it and read it NOW! This book would lend itself well to book club discussions. I would gladly give it more than five stars if I could.
Joseph Oliver More than 1 year ago
Lets just for starters let me say that this book was quite the tear jerker towards the later chapters of he book, but Koontz is also really good at including his unique sense of humor, so much that even in the midst of that one tear coming on, you cant help but to inappropriately chuckle! This is a great book for animal lovers but more-so a great book for those seeking action and suspense! Ive never felt so personalized with the characters like the way i did in this book. It also makes you think about our modern life style and what it can lead to, both the positive and negative sides. A must read!!
MRTwin More than 1 year ago
This has always been my favorite Koontz book - read it when it first came out, recommended it to many, bought copies for friends, donated my copies, bought others. As soon as I got my Nook, this was one of the my first purchases. It remains one of my top books ever read. You cannot be disappointed with this book. Do yourself a favor and read it.
Luv2Nook More than 1 year ago
I was a little reluctant to read a book where the central character is a dog, but I'm a fan of Dean Koontz and admire his writing style so thought I'd give it a try. I was not disappointed. A very fast read. Enjoyed the characters and the story line was very good. Think I'll download another Koontz book :o)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best I've read in years. I read a lot of books that a few months later I forget what they were about. But not this one, I'll remember it forever. This is Dean Koontz best writing. It contains thrills, love, hate, fantasy, drama and a sense of wonder. Totally enjoyable.
mysterychickCT More than 1 year ago
There are many characters in the story at first, but be vigilant and keep on reading, the story and the characters lives begin to mesh very quickly. The story is scary, thrilling, a must read for those who like scifi or science based mysteries. I read Koonz work awhile ago, and now wonder why I waited this long to read another, it's great, a well written novel which may keep you thinking about it hours after you put it down. (I do not suggest reading it before bed though.)
ReistLaxCoach More than 1 year ago
Dean Koontz gets all of your emotions going with this rapid page turner... there doesn't seem to be a slow spot in the entire book! This book will satisfy a very wide range of readers!
Old_Davy More than 1 year ago
Koontz has written a bunch of books and I've read most of them. This is his best, no doubt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this book five years ago and i still remember it like it was yesterday. From the characters to the plot, everything worked together. I like that the book contains everything a reader needs from drama, mystery, some violence, romance and friendship. Read the book, you'll feel the same way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What can one say...Dean Koontz hits the mark, as always.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite all time books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many Dean Koontz novels, and this one is probably my favorite! If you area dog lover, this is a must! It combines Koontz's sci-fi/mystery writing with a love for dogs, which makes for a something you won't put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of Dean Koontz... But I must say this is by far my favorite book he has written and one of the best books I have read all year. I have a Golden Retriever companion and due to Mr. Koontz also knowing their beautiful nature he depicted a book that is faintly fantasy but to anyone that knows Goldens... It is also eerily true. If you have a heart, you will LOVE this book!
wings-on-wind More than 1 year ago
Although this book was written in 1987, I feel it is the best book Koontz has written. It becomes a favorite of everyone I share it with. Great suspense! Love the dog! But be warned, it contains scary and violent evil creations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good. I didn't want to put it down.