×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Watchman (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #11)
     

The Watchman (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #11)

3.6 341
by Robert Crais
 

See All Formats & Editions

A wild-living young heiress slams into trouble in the L.A. night—the kind of trouble even her money can’t shut down. After her Aston Martin collides with a mysterious car, Larkin Conner Barkley attempts to help the accident victims—and becomes the sole witness in a federal investigation. Whisking her out of her Beverly Hills world is Joe

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Watchman (Joe Pike Series #1) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 341 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B&N, please take this off your website, the free book doesn't exist. Better customer service PLEASE!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Same problem...won't download. I see it in my library, but .....
omwnn More than 1 year ago
I have tried several times to download this book, does not show up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elvis Cole sidekick, the enigmatic and dangerous Joe Pike, gets a high-powered starring role in "The Watchman," with The World's Greatest Detective playing backup this time. A reluctant Pike is convinced to repay an old debt by protecting Larkin Barkley, a spoiled young heiress (Paris Hilton anyone?) who rear-ended another car after a night of wild partying and is now on the run from both the mysterious accident victims, who suspiciously absconded from the accident scene, and the FBI, who seem to be hiding the real reason they want her in custody. Pike, with Cole's assistance, gets Larkin into hiding and goes after the bad guys - which may include members of the police force and the FBI - himself, setting a series of traps to find out what's going on. What I really liked about this book, besides the fast pace, colorful characters and vivid SoCal setting, all up to Crais' usual high standards, is the sensitive portrayal of the girl, who is far more than just a cliche of the pampered, spoiled celebs constantly overexposed in the tabloids. "The Watchman" is a welcome change of pace which tells us a lot about Joe Pike and the things in his past that made him who he is. Hopefully this is just the first in his own series. Also recommended: "A Stranger Lies There" - a hard-boiled thriller set in the desert around Palm Springs, it won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery. I actually discovered this book in an Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine review alongside "The Watchman." The review stated: "Santogrossi writes powerfully and movingly about a man who has paid for his mistakes only to find out that he's not through paying and never will be. An author to watch."
Glory McCarthy More than 1 year ago
Why so long to fix???
hockeynana More than 1 year ago
As of 5/28/2011 does not download. Shows up on my nook and "book" says download but it does not happen when download button is tapped.
sopranoIN More than 1 year ago
That's how I felt a few times in this great book with of course Elvis Cole and Joe Pike. I rated the book high because I love these two characters but I don't like ridiculous spoiled brats. However, I can't say it isn't unrealistic for there to be such "bratty things" and it meant I got to see a little more behind those sunglasses of Joe Pike...even more than Elvis Cole has. Great read again.
Tweenthepages More than 1 year ago
This might have been a good first novel for some newbie author, but for Robert Crais, the mastermind behind the wonderful Elvis Cole novels, this was just not on par. As everyone else does, I LOVE Joe Pike, but I'm not sure that God meant for Joe Pike to utter so many words. In this book, he's as tough and sexy as usual, but some of the mystery is now missing. Plus, toward the end, I was starting to wonder if Crais had allowed Danielle Steel to finish his book for him. The good news is that the real Joe Pike comes back in "Chasing Darkness", faithful friend and partner to Elvis Cole, where he belongs.
darwindog96 More than 1 year ago
.
KARYL BRANDVOLD More than 1 year ago
LOVE CRAIS NOVELS BUT CANT GET IT TO DOWNLOAD?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this Free-E-Bok but every time I tried to bring it up on my computer or my Nook it gave a message of Technical Difficulty try again later. I enjoy the books of this author but do not understand why this was offered free, shows up in my library, but does not allow me to download or open the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Robert Crais books and love the Elvis Cole re-occuring character the best. Elvis dialog is unexpected and unusual private eye behavior/clothes etc. Readers have been anxiously awaiting (since LA Requiem) more on Elvis's partner Joe Pike. Finally he has his own book and true to his character- Pike is AWESOME. We can't wait for another Elvis/Joe book. Crais has built two characters that readers really care what happens to them both on the job and in their personal lives. Maybe next one will provide more than just a peek into Joe's private life. If you enjoy reading thrillers with an extra punch- you will enjoy this Joe Pike Book!!!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crais never disappoints.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really think this author is a great storyteller. However, I did not like the young female character. She was a selfish,ungrateful,and childish girl. I found myself hoping the bad guys WOULD get her! If her character would have been more likable, I would have given more stars! I am plaanning on reading the author's next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My2CentsIL More than 1 year ago
A good, but not great, fast moving book with some interesting twists and turns. I've read a few other books by this author hop-scotching between early and later offerings. While this book doesn't make me want to seek out other Joe Pike books, I'd consider reading another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed the fast pace Crais puts the reader thru. Great story and love Elvis Coles sense of humor ill probably read one of his stories next loved it!