×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Water Balloon
     

Water Balloon

4.2 28
by Audrey Vernick
 

See All Formats & Editions

Marley’s life is as precarious as an overfull water balloon—one false move and everything will burst. Her best friends are pulling away from her, and her parents, newly separated, have decided she should spend the summer with her dad in his new house, with a job she didn’t ask for and certainly doesn’t want. On the upside is a cute boy who

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Water Balloon 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved water balloon! I enjoyed the story of marley's ruff summer. She is having a pretty hard time. Her parents are divorced,her friends are mad at her, marley's dad does not listen to her and she is forced to babysit two bratty twin five year olds. I would recomend this book to any girl between eight and twelve years old. You should read this book!
twelve-in-Delaware More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to reread this book. You know that feeling when you read a book and can't wait to go back and start over? That's Water Balloon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very good. In my literature class, we had an independent reading time in the library. I picked up this book, read it for thirty minutes until class was over, then set it down, thinking i would have no time to read between softball games almost every night and lots of homework. But when i got home that night i decided i would buy it, and im so glad i did! This is my first book with this author, and she did not let me down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Made me laugh loudly more than once and cry twice. That's pretty good.
writingirl_15 More than 1 year ago
3 ½ Stars: Everything is changing for 13-year-old Marley Baird. Her parents are separated so she has to be shuttled from one house to the other, her two best friends- Jane and Leah- haven't been around lately and they haven't been acting the same. On top of that she has to stay the summer at her father's house while her mother goes and visits friends. At least she has her beloved dog, Rig, with her and she finds her neighbor, Jack, insanely cute and fun to hang out with. Water Balloon takes the reader on the journey of Marley growing up and figuring out life. It is a journey that most every pre-adolescent and adolescent has gone through at some point. Marley was a great protagonist. She was funny and sweet and relatable. I especially related to her because she was holding so tightly to things, not wanting anything to change; I completely understand that feeling of floundering when things are different. Although most of the characters were well developed, I felt like Jack wasn't fully fleshed out. I didn't really understand him and not a lot is revealed about him either. All in all, it was a good book, the only problem I had with it was the simplicity of it and how "young" it was. I'm nineteen years old and I'm used to reading pretty complex books, so this wasn't my cup of tea. If you are wondering why I even got it? It's because I was desperate for a book and it was free (lol). But kids the ages of 10-14 will probably really enjoy this book. It has a fantastic message for kids that are growing up and dealing with some of the things Marley is dealing with in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To the other reviewer, there is 310 pgs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love jack at the end thats so sweet! Really good book it does have spelling and grammar errors and some sentences make no sense they need a better proofreader not a cheesy book at all i thought it was going to be at first but its really not. Great book just like real life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a little uneasy about buying this book. It looked kind of cheesey. Boy was i wrong!!!!! This was the kind of book that i couldn't put down. I'm giving it 5 stars. I would recommend it for 11+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I absolutly loved it and I will read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For the most part I have enjoyed this book. I feel sorry for Marley with all these changes. I won't say anything to spoil it for you-so I suggest you read it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
#1 #1 #1 #1 #1 #1 #1 #1 #1
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never though this would be my favorite book. I read all the time, and have read hundreds of other great books.  I feel sort of oddly about this book, because its definitely not the BEST book I've ever read, but somehow it is definitely my favorite. I picked it up because of the cover art,.and enjoyed every second of it.  Its just that perfect summertime book.  You'll love it too. Age 12-15
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book because the romance was so how i pictured mine going and the tears and emotion made it perfect!!! I wish there were more books like this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey darlen turned off wifi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the sample did not like it one page of reading and i sayed no way i am not reading this. It had a bad word in it for a kid book wow....not a book i would read but one of you could like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book needs to be reconfigured because words are mispelled and sentences don't make sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the sample the sample wwas great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So i read it. But it was sorta boring! It definately wuz not my favorite book ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
His is such a good book! I didn't lik jack hough. He seems a bir delousional and blue eyed guys arent my thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My sister doesnt do rp.