×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wave
     

Wave

3.8 32
by Sonali Deraniyagala
 

See All Formats & Editions

One of The New York Times's 10 Best Books of the Year, a Christian Science Monitor Best Nonfiction Book, a Newsday Top 10 Books pick, a People magazine Top 10 pick, a Good Reads Best Book of the Year, and a Kirkus Best Nonfiction Book

A National Book Critics Circle Award finalist

In 2004, at

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wave 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im honestly schocked about how well shes recounted the events before during and after the tsunami. A very good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is ome of the most devastating and important books I have read in ages. Even prompted me to post a review, my first. The writing is exceptional and transports the reader into the pages. You are there with her as she rushes from the wave, you cringe as she races past her parents door without warning them of the danger ahead, there as she clings for life then desperately wanrs no part of it. It's incredibly sad and incredibly remarkable. The author describes every part of her life after losing her precious family. Her strength is astonishing and no doubt stems from the spirit of her family which she carefully and completely wraps herself in. Reminicent if Didion but entirely unique and special and raw.
AnneeZ More than 1 year ago
How someone could survive such a tragedy and put it into words is unimaginable. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wrenching and brutally honest. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
 Not what you expect but better! Reading the back cover of Wave you can clearly tell what it's about. It's a memoir from a survivor of the 2004 tsunami in Sri Lanka. You would expect it to be just that, a detailed account of what happened that day but as you read it you come to find out that there is so much more depth to her story. Sonali writes almost is a poetic way, explaining her emotions throughout the various situations she is put in. In the book she loses her entire family to the wave; her husband, her two sons, and her parents. You can tell throughout the story that she is going through many different emotions all at the same time. She keeps with a consistent theme of grief and the different stages she experiences. “..I lapse into thinking that nothing has changed, no one has died....The I have to remind myself. That life is over”  Some people would probably say that this seems disorganized and that here thinking was scattered but I think that it was actually written in that way in order to convey her exact thoughts to the audience. Although the book is rich in emotional testimony it is also full of adventure. You almost feel like you are there with her as the tsunami surges toward the hotel her and her family are vacationing at.”I’d never seen him like that before. A sudden look of terror....He saw something behind me that I couldn’t see, I didn't have time to turn around..” Sonali does an amazing job of telling it like is and at the same time not leaving an detail out of her story. I would recommend this book to pretty much anybody. Don’t expect it to be some happy fairy tale like the interpretation of the tsunami in hollywood;  but expect a rollercoaster ride that will take you into the mind of someone who has witnessed the horror of one of the most tragic events in modern history. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a raw and unflinching glimpse into the pain that Sonali endured for right after and for many years after the devastation of losing her family.  She is a beautiful and gifted writer.  She made us all look at how we handle grief.  We must not hide from it.  We must face it head on if we are to overcome the pain and remember the good that was once our loved one.  She is truly an inspiration! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This tale of disaster and a survivor's ensuing grief is a multi layered success. Each word is chosen with care, and the tiny things we all take for granted are magnified with every page. I love the writing style. Once she describes a tiny leaf found on some sporting equipment of her sons with such beauty I was truly moved. If you want a book that walks you through unspeakable emotion, the darkness and the coming of the light, this is wonderful. For those wanting a gratuitous telling of corpses and bodies get another book. And before you judge this woman who was in total shock for months after the wave, think that there are many ways to express grief. This book is a masreful retelling of the rare unspeakable sadness most of us would never be able to endure.
ToriG More than 1 year ago
Deraniyagala (I so admire the reader of this book, who was able to easily roll that name off her tongue) went through a catastrophe of epic proportions (the tsunami), lost everything, and worked her way back to life and presumably good mental health over the next decade. Rarely do you get a firsthand glimpse into an experience such as this, and it is frightening. Disasters happen on a large scale pretty regularly, and personal losses also occur pretty regularly, but this woman experienced both at the same time. Even having read the book, I can't imagine the scope of her pain. She is a good writer, and brings the reader along with her through it all, with enough detail to make you feel what she felt, albeit to a much lesser degree. There were times that she didn't like herself very much, and I didn't like her very much during those times either. It is a story of one person's experience, it's a memorial to those she lost, and it's bare-naked grieving that most readers never have and hopefully never will go through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found Sonali's story breathtaking ib its honesty about the difficulty of being left behind. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not wait to read this book! The free sample had me hooked, however after the tsunami came through in this book, the rest of the writing was lackluster at best. Basically we took the looong journey through her grief with her. The writing was bland and to be honest i was so bored i did not eveb finish the book, stopping instead on page 116. I feel for the author having gone through such a devastating event and loss. I hope she is able to heal a little more each and every day. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, it jyst was not a book that worked for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The opening description of the impact of the tsunami was taut and gripping. Unfortunately it gives way to a deeply unsympathetic post-traumatic process...with the main character's struggles becoming a grating slog, where she absorbs so much of the work as to stifle the story. The last third has a few grace notes that bring the rating up, but the story made me wish any of the other family members had survived instead of the narrator to tell the story. Or that she had some counseling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So, people complain that she goes on and on. I indulged her long-windedness on the subject. It is difficult to wrap your head around what she went through, even with being from a hurricane ravaged area. (Reading this book was also a little like therapy.) I thought it was an emotionally difficult read but well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only reason why i gave this book a star is because of the first 20 pages or so. After the wave hit, it was an endless rant id depression... which literally, not figuratively, put me to sleep. I had to completely force myself to read this.book for it was for a project and i didnt have time to start a new one. Do not reccomend at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beths brother walks into her room opening her closet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heartbreaking but liked it. Seemed a bit repetitive though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool