×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Way
     

The Way

4.2 18
by Kristen Wolf
 

See All Formats & Editions

Anna is a fiery tomboy living in ancient Palestine whose androgynous appearance provokes ridicule from the people around her and doubt within her own heart. When tragedy strikes her family, and Anna's father—disguising her as a boy—sells her to a band of shepherds, she is captured by a mystical, secret society of women hiding in the desert. At first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Way 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting fictional take on a person of interest during the era of Christ. Curious twist to the events of the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chrissy_W More than 1 year ago
thought provoking and worth the read Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. I read it every free chance I had. I found it to be thought provoking and an interesting way to see things and rethink familiar teachings and stories. The characters were wonderfully written. Anna, Jesus, Peter, Ruth, Judas, Tabitha...all of them were fantastic. Peter - so confused and hurt. Judas - the conflict he must have had throughout the whole story. Ruth and Tabitha - such love and strength are found in these two women. Anna - finding her place in her world. Jesus - trying to find his place in the world. The scenery and landscaping were written such that I could see it in my mind's eye. There are parts of this book that I disagreed with, but I kept reminding myself that this is a work of fiction that wants the reader to ask "what it?". This work will give people something else to think about. Even still, some parts really bothered me. I'm not going to spoil this book with this review. I was with everything up until the last 60+ pages. That is when it really struck a nerve and bothered me. Part of me wishes it didn't go where it went. However, it fit with where the direction of the book went. But, all-in-all, a good book. Well worth the time to read. Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book with the caveat that you definitely need an open mind when reading The Way. Book groups will love it because it will spark debate and conversation. Will I read it again: I will not unless it comes up as a book group selection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
The Earth is the Mother's and all that flows from there. Staying one with the Mother through meditation and respect for creation yields right relationships and blessings in the fruits of creation. These are some of the fundamental beliefs that the followers of the Way have followed for centuries, but now it is women who live these beliefs as the religion of men has grown in order to justify male domination. The latter is now determined to eradicate the Way and all of its followers by whatever means possible. This is the world into which Anna is born. Her mother may have been a follower but is weakened by a domineering, abusive husband. After her mother bears a stillborn child and then dies herself, Anna's father sells her to traveling shepherds, but not before a wise woman protects Anna from worse. A mysterious necklace is all Anna has to remind her of a sacred, healing power existing somewhere in the world. Anna, one realizes is a girl but has the facial features of a boy for which she is despised and feared as an emanation of something evil. After she has learned the work of shepherding, she hears more of this Way briefly but is more preoccupied with the male role she is constantly living and making friends with the leader and another man, Peter, who has secret feelings for this young boy now known as Jesus. The story gradually changes to the point where Jesus is sent on a mission to get supplies and comes upon those women living in a cave in the secret area known as "The Narrows." Here Jesus' real identity is uncovered and she gradually becomes trusted enough to learn of the Way and the troubles that threaten its very existence. Jesus begins to travel and the story unravels to the point where events occur that defy most readers' expectations on their own religious upbringing and education. Surprises and agonizing attacks and more loom on every page. The Way is quite simply an astonishing story that is both credible and incredible. It stretches the imagination, one's doubts, wonder, beliefs over and over again, leaving one with questions and answers galore! Fascinating fiction!
Shayna_Gier More than 1 year ago
Named Anna... who answers to the name Jesus occasionally as well... Oh, and she lives in ancient Palestine. While I'm not usually one for historical fiction- I loved the fact that this story took place in biblical times. I just found it awesome- probably because Bible times and the first century AD is a frequently re-occurring interest/research topic for me. That the story not only takes place in biblical times but tells a fictional account so different from the story that practically anyone alive is at least familiar with just adds to the awesomeness of this book. The story was a very easy and enjoyable read, as well as thought-provoking. The entire time I was reading the book, I was just so captivated by the gender roles and how they have changed- and stayed the same- since before the first century. I agree with Kristen Wolf when she says that The Way is first and foremost the story about a young girl finding her identity. The story is more-or-less very familiar to anyone who may pick this book up, but it's familiar in a way that doesn't scream "And guess what happens next!" Honestly, if anything my current knowledge of the events that are historically well known added problems- not assisted- in following the story of what happens to Anna. Kristen Wolf writes very honestly as a girl growing up in a world that is definitely dominated and ruled by males, and then exposed the power of femininity. The questions that Anna asks are heart-stabbing, especially when seen through the eyes of a child. The issues faced by Anna as an adult, after living for years as a boy, are just as startling as she finds her place in her own body. The Way is the first book that author Kristen Wolf has written, and I very much look forward to reading the next books she comes out with as well. This book was provided for me by FSB Associates at no charge, nor was I given compensation of any kind for this review. This review only reflects my personal opinion.
mrsred49 More than 1 year ago
I received the beautiful hardback copy of this book from FSB Associates and it is an Oprah's fall choice, I have never chosen a book from this collection but thought I would give this one a try. ¿ The story takes place in 7 A.D. and in ancient Palestine, Anna was a girl that is a tomboy and her mother is always having to tell her to cover her face and dress the way the women and girls did in that peorid. Her mother was expecting a baby so Anna had to do a lot of the work as she carried her grandfather's breakfast to him, a bunch of boys started to tease her. The family lost everything and the time had come for the father to dress Anna as a boy and sell her so that she could have a place to live. She finds a band of sisters that had healing powers and joins them to make her home but even that was dangerous. "The Way" is a novel that is written in such a way that sometimes it is the truth and then again it is back in the past and even fantasy in some places. A very interesting novel and I think for the first book written by Kristen Wolf I think it is well though out and written. I think anyone would enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good story with some food for thought
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must for book clubs! This will generate all sorts of discussions about what you believe. A book that's definitely outside the box when it comes to religious books. Love it or hate it - it's very provocative.
TheUtleyReader More than 1 year ago
Kristen Wolf writes a Life of Jesus unlike anything you have imagined. It is likely to offend the traditional Christian and provoke distress among the most conservative. Those familiar with the biblical texts may enjoy, as I did, the way Ms. Wolf re-imagines certain biblical characters and narratives. The Way serves as a damning critique of patriarchal religious traditions while telling a good tale. Some might find the feminist point of view a little cliche at times, but the Utley Reader is a male pastor, so I should probably yield to others on that point. I highly recommend The Way.
BonnerBooks More than 1 year ago
I read this a month ago and thought it was amazing. Then I saw that OPRAH Magazine selected it as a Title to PickUp Now in the Makeover issue (September) This is a hugely important story for everyone to read, men and women alike. Young and old. What if - ? is the question the author asks and I've been contemplating the answers ever since the last page. I hope Ms. Wofl write more soon!
AngieIAM More than 1 year ago
What if Jesus were a woman? That's the question that this fine novel poses. Ms. Wolf isn't the greatest writer out there, but her story raises interesting points. I enjoyed the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TopBooks More than 1 year ago
"Wolf takes the prevailing Jesus mythology, twists it around, and stands it on its head by reimagining the Messiah as a female.. this controversial biblical revision is sure to be a book-club darling."-Booklist "A young girl in ancient Palestine struggles with her calling as a spiritual leader in Wolf's audacious, deftly woven debut."-Publishers Weekly "This book took me on a journey back to the days of Jesus. I was surprised in more ways than I ever could have imagined. The Way is one of those rare novels that makes you think."-Javier Sierra, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Supper "The Way is a unique and ambitious debut novel, certain to provoke passionate discussions."-John Shors, bestselling author of Beneath a Marble Sky "Wolf's voice, vision, and verve combine to make The Way an emotional and action-packed debut."-Alice Peck, author of Bread, Body, Spirit: Finding the Sacred in Food and Next to Godliness "The Way is a magical, evocative first novel that I plan to buy a carton of to give to my family and friends. Kristen Wolf's rich imagery transports the reader into ancient Palestine where harmony and balance-the feminine Way-have been lost in the worship of a vengeful male deity. The tension between how the world is and how it might be if people followed The Way is as vital a question today as it was in ancient times. This message of compas sion, healing, and respect for women could indeed transform our world."-Joan Borysenko, Ph.D., author of A Woman's Journey to God "The point [Wolf] makes in this book is one I deeply believe in: we begin with the mother and then we lose our way-all of us."-Kavita N. Ramdas, the Global Fund for Women