×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Way Life Should Be: A Novel
     

The Way Life Should Be: A Novel

4.0 22
by Christina Baker Kline
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train, and the critically acclaimed author of Bird in Hand, comes a novel of love, risk, and self-discovery—includes a special PS section featuring insights, interviews, and more.

Angela can feel the clock ticking. She is single in New York City, stuck in a job

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Way Life Should Be 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
prettybrainy More than 1 year ago
Stumbled upon this book on the clearance table. I thought what the heck, if I don't like it I can just donate it. I was caught off guard how much I fell in love with this book. I could not put it down and read the entire book in two days (I'm a slow reader). I laughed and cried. Wonderful and relaxing read.
dailyreaderMA More than 1 year ago
Cute, fast, upbeat story you can read in one sitting. It made me smile!
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Angela makes a major mistake on the job and is fired, as this was never the dream job she is now stuck in a spot where she must do something to find where she would eventually want to be.  In a very small remote town in Maine she meets a cast of characters with quite the personalities and each of them help her find herself.  I have read a few books that have this same concept as woman goes to the middle of nowhere to find a new path, but I loved that a dating website took her there - gave the book some originality.  I loved using the remoteness of this town in Maine to make Angela feel even more isolated and made her really look within herself to find out where her true passions lay.  
Yankee2dj More than 1 year ago
I finished within a few nights. Not because I was so interested, but it was a light read. I enjoyed the writers style and while it was a little predicitable, I was entertained. If you want a quick beach read (or have a lazy weekend) and like your basic "girl meets boy, he's a dud, she becomes a better version of herself" this would be a hit for you.
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
This book has so much that ticked all my boxes- Angela is a strong woman, Flynn is adorable, there are  lots of delicious descriptions of food (recipes included), a group of interesting new friends (with secrets) and a setting that is new to me (I must visit Acadia National Park). As someone who has planned events, I found that part of the story fascinating. And any book that has food at its core, if it is well done like this is, will always appeal to me. I also liked that the characters are not one-dimensional (except the wicked stepmother). Angela's boyfriend Richard could have been the stock guy-who-is-really-a-jerk, but Kline gives him shades of color that made him more interesting. The relationships- Angela and Nonna, Angela and Flynn, Angela and Lindsay- are so believable, you wish you were Angela. I will warn you that The Way Life Should Be will inspire you to dig out all of your food utensils and give Angela's recipes, like Pasta e Fagioli, Chicken Marsala and Basil Marinara, a try. When Tom asks Angela who she really is, she thinks "the stories we tell about ourselves are filled with half-truths, distorted recollections, and blind spots as well as occasional moments of insight. It's all in the spin, isn't it?" And, I for one, liked the spin of Angela's story.
mrmodel-t More than 1 year ago
As a Mainer and a book club member this was our book. I was hoping it painted Maine in a good light and that it was possible for a guy to read. The character was well developed and the scenario was believable. The characters were all imports to Maine and the author painted a picture of non-natives interacting with the geography and each other rather than the true native population and values. After reading, I found I reluctantly enjoyed the book and suspect it could be enjoyed by all audiences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A rich beautiful story.  One of the best I have read in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put this down, great read and reminds me of my nonna and family...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Life Lesson: When one door closes, Another opens. Great cast of characters for the big screen.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Thirty-three years old Angela Russo hates her boring job, but that is not why she feels her life stinks. The single Manhattanite detests the bunch of losers she has been set up with and vows to never accept a blind date again. Her passion is Italian cooking, but she never bakes anything except her sweaters. On the office bulletin board is a magazine picture of a cottage on coastal Maine that just adds to Angela¿s belief that there must be more to life than cement. Surfing at work, Angela clicks on an ad Do Soulmates Exist? That takes her to a dating website 'MaineCatch,'. She finds Rich, a thirty-five-year-old sailing instructor living alone on Mount Desert island. She makes contact and they start to communicate. When she loses her job, she joins her ideal man on his paradise island, but he fails to hold up. Angela decides to stay and make a life for herself here. She rents a rundown cottage and starts teaching Italian cooking to excited local students as she creates a recipe for a new life. --- The key to this fine character study is the Italian cooking that refreshes the overly used urbanite finding happiness in a rustic setting in fact the story line could have reversed itself from rural to city and easily work. Instead of easily adjusting Angela struggles with the differing lifestyle than what she has lived or imagined. However, the cooking coming from her grandma¿s recipes bring a unique element to the eclectic islanders as the heroine makes friends due to her skill and passion for Italian cuisine even as she feels for the most part like a fish out of water. Fans will root for Angela as she learns what she though was THE WAY LIFE SHOULD BE is not, but what is the way life should be is what you bring to the table for others to partake. --- Harriet Klausner
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Being single and living in New York with a busy Italian family can be difficult enough as Angela Russo already knows. In her family, they always want what is best for her and have no problems letting her know their opinions. As an event planner, she is waiting to make her mark in her job so that she can take on bigger projects. That is why it is critical that she pulls this one off without a hitch. Not only that but her best friend Lindsey has found her soul mate through the wonders of internet dating and believe Angela should give it a try. So much is changing around her that it is hard to please everyone especially in her family and it seems her once peace of mind comes from cooking with her Italian grandmother known as Nonna who conveys a love of cooking while dispensing out bits of sage wisdom. Is it possible that life hands things to you and at times we simply let them slip through our fingers without thought that our happiness may have been right in front of us through a series of chance encounters all along? So Angela decides to give it a go and dreams that her match might just live in the coastal charming cottage she has on her office bulletin in Maine, so they is where she begins her search. She never imagines that she might one day be telling her own children and grandchildren how their parents met, through a internet dating site that spelled love at first sight and would lead to happily ever after. Ah but not everything is as it appears and even though Angela has a date scheduled to coincide with her arriving in New York to meet some very influential clients, she isn't prepared for the disaster at her job that will leave her questioning everything. Is falling in love really all it's cracked up to be even though everyone around her seems to have no problem finding it but her? In the latest novel The Way Life Should Be from Christina Baker Kline, she gives readers a glance at the world of Internet dating for a struggling single woman living in New York. The characters she writes about feel like real people as they weave in and out of Angela's life. My favorite is definitely Nonna, who shares her passion for cooking as well as her passion for life in the time that they spend together. She makes Angela realize that all her choices need to be hers and not at the whims of well-meaning family and friends, because in the end, it will be the life she is left with. She can be happy or unhappy but only she can be the one to make that choice. Along the way, Angela makes some brave choices leaving her entire life and family behind to follow a dream even though it doesn't materialize the way she dreamed. It teaches her more than advice does and along the way she meets some really great people who will be there for her when she needs them the most. I received The Way Life Should Be by Christina Baker Kline compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. There is a reader discussion guide and some fantastic recipes I can't wait to try at the conclusion of this novel. I give this novel a 4 out of 5 stars. There is some sexual content and profanity but overall the story is well written and I easily read this in a couple of hours it was simply that great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
beh88 More than 1 year ago
Loved this story as much as "bird in hand" if not more...read straight through the night...have placed "holds" on two more by this author at my library...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will read again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago