×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

We Are All Welcome Here
  • Alternative view 1 of We Are All Welcome Here
  • Alternative view 2 of We Are All Welcome Here
     

We Are All Welcome Here

4.1 45
by Elizabeth Berg
 

See All Formats & Editions

Elizabeth Berg, bestselling author of The Art of Mending and The Year of Pleasures, has a rare talent for revealing her characters’ hearts and minds in a manner that makes us empathize completely. Her new novel, We Are All Welcome Here, features three women, each struggling against overwhelming odds for her own kind of freedom.

It is the summer of 1964. In

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

We Are All Welcome Here 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
"We are all Welcome Here"¿ created many mixed emotions for me. One minute I was thoroughly enjoying it, the next found it a bit gloomy. One thing is for sure, this novel would be great for a book club discussion. There are many topics to discuss based on the lives of the four main characters and there are several things I learned about being and caring for a person that is also handicapped. The ending was a bit "cheesy", however, I do believe that even if in some small way, this book will impact me. 3 1/2 Stars
Parri More than 1 year ago
Great characters, great story! This story put a big smile on my face! I hated that it had to end! This is the second book I have read by this author and both were excellent. This story is about friendship, family, honor and doing the right thing. You won't be disappointed!
Teresa_Van_Winkle More than 1 year ago
The author reads her story with the most amazing voices. I loved listening to the different characters. The story unravels in a way that draws you in and keeps you thinking about the characters while away from the CD player. I bought this audio CD because it was only $2 on clearance and I needed something for the 3-hour drive back home. What a treat this story was to my day.
NevadaGirl More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading Elizabeth Berg when I am in the mood for something light, yet heartfelt. This is one of her best novels. It has more substance to it & a heavier subject matter than most of her novels, yet it retains Berg's best writing qualities - identifying with characters, illustrating emotions and capturing the nuances of relationships. I listened to this on audio, which Berg read & each character had their own identifying voice, and I recommend it to anyone.
lindaRTD More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Although fictionalized, the author got the idea from a fan who contacted her and asked that she write a book about her mother who contracted polio as a young woman and actually gave birth while in an iron lung. Her husband left her, and she raises her daughter by herself. In the book, she has the help of her African American friend and housekeeper. It's awe-inspiring, and very well written. I higly recommend it.
Happy-Reader More than 1 year ago
This was my first Elizabeth Berg novel - I'm now a huge fan and eager to read her other books. The story is fresh and original and a delight to read. This is one of those books that causes me to miss the characters at the end of the book because I've become so caught up in their story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book by elizabeth Berg that I've ever read and I liked it so much that I went out and bought 3 more of her books immediately! I could'nt put the book down.It was thought provoking and heartwarming at the same time. I learned some things that surprised me about polio and about elvis presley.
clejtd More than 1 year ago
I'm usually pretty tough, but this book had me sobbing! Read it in a day. I just couldn't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cute story. An easy & entertaining read. I was impressed that it is a novel based on a real person and her real life experiences.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book touched my heart!! Many real truths here.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boring and a waste of time. The ending was totally ridiculous.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay story that was realy slow to develop. Interesting characters and relationships between those characters. The story of a young girl and her disabled mother was interesting, but the sub plot involving the Mother's black caretaker at a pivotal time in the civil rights movement had intriguing potetial that was never developed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read other titles by Elizabeth Berg which I've enjoyed. I think the author was working too hard to satisfy the desire of a person who wanted her heroic mother's story told. The plot was weak, the ending rushed and unrealistic and, because it was so boring, it took me much longer to read than the average 187 page book would have. I kept putting it down to do something else much less tiresome.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Berg never lets me down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never read a book by Elizabeth Berg before but something about this title drew me in and I am glad I picked it up. I loved it. I started it on a Monday and finished it today. I fell in love with all of the characters especially Diana and her mom because they were people I could relate to and someday love to meet. One of Berg's best, IMHO !!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am half way thru and love this book. You can just see and feel the characters. Will read others by Berg.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read and it keeps you hooked from the start. The characters are very real, and you love them like family. Peacie was so sweet and Paige a true hero. She had nothing and yet still gave of what she had. Read it you wont be disappointed
Guest More than 1 year ago
I adore Elizabeth Berg!! This book was so wonderful, I couldn't put it down. She has a way of really bringing the characters to life, and making it impossible to put down. You want to gooble it up in one sitting!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the quickest read ever! It has been a while since Ive read a book in which I became so deeply attached to characters. This book was truly amazing and I hated for it to end!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one day, could not put it down! When it was over I was sad because I felt like the Diana, Peacie and Paige where all part of my family. This is a great story that will warm your heart! Any woman out there will be able to relate to 14 year old Diana and remember what it was like to be that age. Elizabeth Berg has done it again!! Great Novel, you will truly forget about anyone or anything else while you are reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read for a long time. My daughter agrees-she even called the library where I work and left a message with my boss about how much she loved it. All the characters were very believable and I cared about them-I didn't want the story to end. The forward by the author telling how she came to write about this woman is very interesting, too. I think it is her best work and I have read most of her titles. It was great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Read this book...just read it, you won't be disappointed. You'll laugh, cry, and learn a lot about human nature and the human spirit. This is one of Elizabeth Berg's best!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. I loved it. Easy reading and keeps your interest. If you liked Elizabeth Berg's book Joy School you'll love this one. Very heartwarming.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A heartwarming story. I learned interesting things in this book. For example, one of the main characters had polio and can only move her head...however, she can feel everything! I didn't know that was possible! So, not only do you learn a little, you are entertained by a wonderful story about friendship, parenting, the race problems of the 60's, and of coarse...growing up. What's not to love? This is a book that's rather short, but not short in it's story. Sometimes just as you learn about the characters the story ends. Not in this case. Berg did a good job letting us know the characters and finishing the book up in a way we feel content. I don't think you'll waste your time at all!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
there is no such thing as 'just judging'. Judging is a strong term, but you were doing just that. ~Anna&star