×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

We Beat the Street: How a Friendship Pact Led to Success
     

We Beat the Street: How a Friendship Pact Led to Success

4.4 52
by Sharon M. Draper
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sampson, George, and Rameck could easily have followed their childhood friends into drug dealing, gangs, and prison. They came from the tough neighborhoods of Newark, New Jersey, where survival, not schoolwork, was the priority. When the three boys met in high school, they recognized in each other the desire and ability to "beat the street." They made a friendship

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

We Beat the Street 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story wonderful book very inspirational
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really great book to read. I reccomend it to anyone that is looking for an exccelent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book ! GREAT READ FOR MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS! Very inspiring !
CA_mom More than 1 year ago
I found this book looking for something interesting/appropriate for my 11 yr-old (6th grade) boy for a school assignment to read a biography and do a presentation on the person. He ended up doing it on all three doctors. I read the book before I gave it to him, and was inspired. I especially liked the format - stories and then comments by the now-grown-doctors about the incidents they were relating. From the moment he picked up the book, my son was interested. He read it in about 2 days (not his usual pattern, especially for a school project). Not only was the story interesting and inspiring, it challenges the reader to think of his or her own character and his or her own choices. Some of the more difficult part for me was trying to give my son -- a middle-class white suburban kid -- a sense of what the intercity is like and how enticing the world of gangs, guns, and drugs can look to kids who can't see and weren't told about any other options. I know the story of The Three Doctors has been widely shared in the black, especially intercity, community, but this is a story for EVERY KID of every color, class or creed.
aUGUSTINEs10 More than 1 year ago
We Beat the Street is about three friends growing up the ghetto who want to become doctors. They go to the same school and they share the same interests. They get in trouble a lot but that does not stop them. Sampson for instance is arrested for having stolen property, Rameek throws a student ot the ground and gives him a concussion, and George is well, err generally good. my classmates and i enjoyed reading this book.AUGUSTINE S 10
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im reading this in my class and its very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good because it was suspensful and a nice story and I like the guys
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im reading this book in school and so far, i LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a very inspiring story about 3 kids who were nobodies and became something. It made beleive if you put the effort into something you will achevie. I reccomend this book to everybody!
Tiffanyoodle More than 1 year ago
This book is about three boys who grew up in a very poor neighborhood. They all find each other in high school and form a friendship pact. They all move on to become doctors. My favorite character was all the boys because they were always determined to follow their dream. I liked this book because it showed me that you can do anything you want to do with hard work. You should read this book because it teaches young rweaders to folow their dreams wwith lots of hard work and support.
AllanL9 More than 1 year ago
What I recommened to people is to really get to understand this book and to make sure that people have a good time reading this book as my classmates and I have done. When you get to understand this book you will start to have a fun time reading this book. It starts pretty good with some sequences going on and when u get a little more in to it, then you will start to really enjoy this book. Get out and buy this book. Have Fun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book because there are several things you can learn from it. It is a true story that will help motivate readers into following their dreams and believe that it will come true if you just work on it. It is written by the three friends, doctors Sampson Davis, George Jenkins, Rameck Hunt. They wrote something from their experience in each chapter on what made up their minds to want to become doctors. They didn¿t think they could do it because first of all they were black and they also lack money. They lived in a place where selling drugs is the only way to earn money. They also had to learn that staying in the streets could either kill or sent them to jail for the rest of their life the hard way. Everyday they had to struggle against peer pressure, gang violence, and rampant drug use. Then one day while trying to skip class to shoot hoops the boys found themselves listening to a special presentation about the Seton Hall University Pre-Medical/ Pre-Dental Plus program. For the first time ever, the three friends believed that they might really have an opportunity to make their dreams come true. They made a pack to stay together if they get accepted for the scholarship. For those who love true stories and are eager to learn new things like I do, I recommend you read this book. I think this is a book for teenagers to help them decide what they are going to do with their life and how to do it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'We beat the street' is an inspirational book about three young men and the challenges of growing up in a rough neighborhood, something, in a way, we can all relate to. With all the negative influences around them it would be hard to imagine life other than drugs, guns, and gangs, but Rameck, Sampson, and George beat the odds and beat the street. Though i recommend this book to everyone it may not be commended by those who want a more literture type work. This book contains a more simiplified verison of their life and doesnt not appeal to those who yearn for advanced language and rhetoric strategies. Dont get me wrong, its a good book that influences young people like me, but i was reading this for an English class and compared to others my book seemed a little premature.
toriaddai17 3 months ago
I had a great time reading this book. This book is perfect for everyone, especially young readers. They have wonderful life lessons that are essential for everyone. My favorite part was after each chapter the men wrote their own page showing how they felt in each chapter and what they have learned in their past. This book is definitely a must-read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is ama-a-azing! It teaches about the story of 3 boys. Students love it.
buffoonery More than 1 year ago
After reading this book for a class assignment, I have realized that, this is not just a story, it is a life lesson, I would recommend reading this book because the movement it will give you to look past the struggles in life and will motivate you to become what you desire to be. The only flaw about this book was, it was at a very easy reading level. It would be a great book to give to middle schoolers so they can be motivated to stay out of trouble.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful. It teaches young minds about life and good choice making. Never a waste of my time. This book is perfect for just about anyone. It teaches readers about 3 young boys and their good and bad choices and the consequences they get.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book opens up great minds to sucess. I recomend this book to anybody who needs another view on life. This book shows it all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hkohvbbjkuhbbkkhhvbbbjhhb
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS BOOK! It is the best thing since Doctor Who! And that's saying something because I LOVE Doctor Who.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Realy good book