×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

We the Children (Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of We the Children (Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of We the Children (Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series #1)
     

We the Children (Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series #1)

3.8 16
by Andrew Clements, Adam Stower (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Benjamin Pratt’s school is about to become the site of a new amusement park. It sounds like a dream come true! But lately, Ben has been wondering if he’s going to like an amusement park in the middle of his town—with all the buses and traffic and eight dollar slices of pizza. It’s going to change everything. And, Ben is not so big on all the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

We the Children (Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series #1) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read this book yet. But I'm wondering if I should get it. It looks like a good book and I've read Andrew Clements' other well known books like Frindle and Trouble Maker. P.S. click yes if you want me to buy this book, click no if you want me not to buy this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I only read it in a book thst i got for my birthday.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book its so good can't wait to read the rest of the series BUY IT!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book it is sooooooooo good.....i could not put it down. It is just a great book! GET IT!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome! My kids love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I readed like a million times it is such a great book hope u like it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best
HBR_LIB More than 1 year ago
Benjamin Pratt has enough to deal with since his parents are separated and on the verge of divorce. Ben is in between his parents' living spaces at this point, so he has not given much thought to his school being torn down to make way for a multi-million dollar amusement park. That is, until Mr. Keane, the old janitor, presses a large gold coin into Ben's hand and leaves him with some words of advice. The coin's inscription reads: "First and always, my school belongs to the children. DEFEND IT. Duncan Oakes, 1783." Mr. Keane's behavior seemed irrational, and his death set off even more suspicious clues. Within a matter of minutes, Benjamin Pratt was thrown into a battle--to defend Oakes School and all the kids in it! Along with his best friend, Jill, the two young investigators begin to unravel the school's past, as well as its future. This book provides mystery and leaves the reader wanting to grab the second book in the six-book series. Young readers should not have a problem with the text, as it is a quick, engaging read. The illustrations throughout the book also provide readers with additional insight. If your looking for a simple chapter book that contains interesting characters, a mysterious storyline, and an intriguing foundation for future reading--then Andrew Clements' Benjamin Pratt & The Keepers of the School" is for you. By reading this book, children may realize that no matter how big a battle is and how small they are, they can still make a difference!
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
Benjamin Pratt is a boy with a problem.Well actually, with a couple of problems. His parents are recently separated and he lives with either parent on alternate weeks. Also, the janitor at his school has recently turned up dead after giving Ben an ancient gold coin with an inscription and having extracted a promise from Ben that he would fight to save the school from being torn down by rich developers. This is a great beginning, but it is only a beginning and we are left wanting a lot more in this first installment of The Keepers of the School. The characters are interesting. Ben is a boy with a good sense of values and discipline, who is set in believable situations. We are left wanting more, which I suppose is the purpose of having a series of books. I can't help but think that we could have been given more in this first installment. It feels a bit thin
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample is only 3 pages. Trash!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gl More than 1 year ago
The first book in the Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School series, We the Children, introduces us to a pair of amateur middle school sleuths. When Roger Keane, the custodian of their middle school, needs help, Benjamin Pratt (Ben) steps in. His reward of sorts is a mysterious gold coin which is given after Ben promises to keep a secret and defend the school. The coin and the promise open Ben's eyes to mysterious and curious things at the Captain Duncan Oakes School. The building had been a school since 1783, a gift from the eccentric and wealthy shipping Captain Duncan Oakes who has helped defend the coast from the British during the Revolutionary War. Captain Oakes, like many eccentric millionaries, had an unusual stipulation in his donation and thousands of children have benefited from his foresight and generosity. But the current town council and a real estate conglomerate have a deal that would transfer school from its current the grounds and relocate the school inland. Instead, on the current grounds would be a large amusement center, a profit center that would bring in tourism to the sleepy New England town. While Ben hadn't cared about the chnge, his new awareness of the sale and Captain Oakes has changed all that. Ben and his friend Jill have taken it upon themselves to stop the sale, if they can. The mysterious gold coin and Ben's love for sailing have led them to find nautical clues hidden in the school grounds. Clues to the help that Captain Oakes set aside for just such future threats to the school. Ben and Jill are quick and funny on their own but the warmth of their friendship and their sleuthing skills make this an unusually fun adventure. The only drawback to We the Children is that the book ends with much of the mystery unresolved -- and we must rely on the next book to find out how the adventure progresses. Ages 9 to 12. ISBN-10: 1416939075 - Hardcover $14.99 Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (April 19, 2011), 176 pages. Review copy provided by the publisher.
MaryMarie More than 1 year ago
My son and I read this book. As a parent, even, I found it slow reading and not very interesting. And my son felt the same.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.ZzvqrX