×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

We Were Liars
     

We Were Liars

4.2 322
by E. Lockhart
 

See All Formats & Editions

A New York Times Bestseller

"Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents."--Wall Street Journal

"A rich, stunning summer mystery with a sharp twist that will leave you dying to talk about the book with a pal or

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

We Were Liars 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 322 reviews.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
Just read this book! I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Children's Publishing and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review. 4.5 Stars STOP! Quit reading reviews about this book! The only productive thing anyone is going to be able to tell you about this book is that you need to read it. If anyone tries to tell you anything else, do not let them. No good can come from knowing anything about this book. Your friends who wish to tell you about the book are really just ruining it for you. If you are in public and hear people discussing this book, the best thing to do would be to cover your ears and sing Mary Had a Little Lamb at the top of your lungs so that you cannot hear what is being discussed. One minor flaw in that plan would be that new discussions may start about the crazy person singing nursery rhymes at the top of their lungs in public for no apparent reason. Maybe this is not a good plan. If you have read the book, zip it. Your friends deserve the same chance that you had. Allow them the privilege of going into this book blindly. I know that we all like to prepare our friends for what is ahead. In this case, don’t do it….you are not helping! If you feel that you MUST discuss this book, here is what you can do. Buy extra copies of the book and give them to your friends. Wait until your friends have read the book. Then and only then discuss the book (but not in a public area so that we can avoid the whole singing episode previously mentioned). It will be fun. It will be like when you were little and played school…and this time you get to be the teacher because you will be handing out the assignments. I must say that I did figure out the big twist in the book about half way through but I had to find out that I was right so I kept reading and enjoyed the journey. If I had known that I was right, it seriously would have ruined all of the fun. Seriously? Can nobody follow directions anymore? Why are you still reading this review? Stop…just stop and go read the book.
BlondeLibrarian More than 1 year ago
Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liars So I'm guessing that you have read quite a few reviews of this book now - and most of them don't really tell you much right? Everyone is keeping all hush hush and saying 'just read it!!!' I have to be annoying....this review is pretty much more of the same. I'm not going to tell you many things about We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. But PLEASE believe me when I say that it's in YOUR best interests (I'll explain that point in a moment). I WILL NOT SPOIL THIS BOOK FOR YOU! I REFUSE! Okay...so let's see what I can say... The Sinclairs are a beautiful family. They spend their summers on a beautiful island, in beautiful houses with their beautiful children. Something happens, and everything changes. We don't know what happens, or why everything changes. We spend this book finding out. There...I think I did well yes? Honestly, I really do understand why nobody says much about this book. I think you need to go into this knowing as little as possible - here is my proven experience with this.... I am obviously a book-lover. I blog about books, I read lots of reviews and watch lots of Booktube. I take part in alot of bookish discussions and get involved in the community. Obviously I had heard the hype surrounding We Were Liars (and in all honesty, yes - that is why I picked it up). I had heard about how insane this oh-so-secret ending is, and I was very excited. For this reason, I instantly turned into Hercule Poirot from the moment I opened this book. I was looking for clues to things that hadn't even happened yet, I read WAY too much into things, and concocted a theory that I was convinced was correct. My theory was very shocking, very disturbing - and as it turned out - very wrong. When the truth of We Were Liars is actually revealed, I found it less shocking than the craziness I conjured in my head...and so I was slightly underwhelmed. Don't get me wrong - I was shocked, I wasn't expecting it - but my theory was more intense. The fact that I knew so much about this book going in meant that I actually ruined the experience for myself a little. Now, my stepmum Sam is also a keen reader. She doesn't blog, she probably rarely reads reviews. If a book takes her fancy, she just reads it. She purchased We Were Liars on her Kindle because it was on sale. She knew nothing about it, and dived into the unknown. Sam absolutely LOVED this book! She was blown away and had a much better experience than I did. So you see - when everyone is frustratingly holding back the dirty details - they are doing you a favour! Just read this....and do so with an open mind :) I didn't enjoy this as much as I was expecting to. I mentioned the ending being a bit underwhelming for me (but that was my own fault so it doesn't count). I also found it a tad on the slow side - but please do stick with it. It's not a long book, and it picks up - you need to read to the end. I can't give this full marks as it didn't blow my mind like I wanted it to, but it was beautifully written, poignant and did touch me deeply, so I'm giving it a good rating :) I did enjoy this book. I'm glad I read it and I do recommend it to anyone who wants to solve a mystery and have their emotions played with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a grown ass woman so I do not throw out the OMG very often. Actually not at all but there you have it... OMFG!! I have no idea as to how to go about this review. Let me collect myself and I'll get back to you! And yes this is absolutely going on my favorite shelf! I have had a moment to think about what to say and there just aren't any words that I can come up with that do this book justice. To me it was real and deep, something that the young adult genre lacks a lot of. E. Lockhart has a beautiful, mesmorizing way with words. There were several passages through out this book that I highlighted not only because I wanted to share them with you but because I wanted to be able to look back and read them again and again and expierence the raw emotion that this book brought out of me. I decided that I will not share any of my favorite quotes or passages in this review like I had first intended. I am going to ask that you read this piece of art work for yourself because that is exactly what it is... ART! This is not a book you want to hear all about from someone else. This my fellow readers is a book you want to expierence all your own. And from my own personal experience, let me warn you, get ready for the tears!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. This is not the style of book I normally read, but the cover was pretty and the idea intrigued me, so when I got my hands on an advanced reader's copy, I jumped in. The writing style was perfect, the prose beautiful and simple all at the same time. Very carefully constructed, as you'll see when everything fits together at the end and you find out what happened to Cady. I don't ever care about books that are just a story about normal people, particularly normal rich people. But this one gets past all that, and gets into the characters' souls. I don't normally care for a strong romance element; this one was done perfectly.
cmaries More than 1 year ago
I opened the first page of this book with high expectations, and the book proved me wrong with even higher ones. I read it in 24 hours and thought about it all night after finishing it. I still think about it 2 days later, and I am reading it a second time. No questions asked, you HAVE to read this book. It is definitely my new favorite and I obsessed with it. The plot twist is what got me the most. I cried so hard I couldn't continue reading until I stopped. The tears had blurred my vision. I will never stop thinking about Cady, Gat, Mirren, and Johnny. I will always remember the story of the liars. Once you finish this book, everything you see and hear reminds you of them. Please, please, please get a hold of this book. It changes your life in the best way possible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We Were Liars is one of my favorite books. I can't even begin to describe how it made me feel. It triggered a mixture of emotions in me I didn't even know I had. It didn't help that I loved the characters. They were all a bit pretentious and damaged, but I adored them nevertheless. Another great thing about this book is the way it's written. It's written kind of hazy, or blurry, like something is being kept secret (which there definitely is). But if I have to give advice about this book, it would be to definitely NOT look up spoilers. It ruins it, trust me. It isn't like other books where it's no big deal. Believe me, if you knew spoilers for this book, the whole effect of it would be lost. Go buy this book, now. (Also, never eat anything bigger than your ass, and always be kinder than you have to.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it really is a must read. This book had me in tears and i can't say that for most books. Great plot twist. Loved the characters. Overall great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best YA novels published this year. I'm not a fan of the unreliable narrator, but Cady Sinclair is such a strong, vibrant and REAL character, I would forgive her anything. A terrific look at an outwardly perfect, inwardly dysfunctional family the stresses they put on their own children and how those children bend and break in response. Highly recommended.
carmen_71 More than 1 year ago
Read it. Just do it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the mystique and suspense throughout and the unexpected plot twist! I would definitely recommend reading this. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No family has it as good as the Sinclairs. They have wealth, talent, and good looks, but they also have misfortune. In the fiction novel, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, not one of the sisters in the Sinclair family has managed to stay with their husband. Divorce, money, and drinking are three factors that go into the families fight growing bigger. Candace Eastman, the oldest Sinclair grandchild and her other two cousins, Mirren and Johnny, have been going to the family's private island on Martha’s Vineyard their whole life, every summer. On the tenth summer, Mirren and Johnny’s mom brought her new boyfriend's son Gat to stay too. The instant Gat and Candace meet, they have a connection stronger than most, for they are in love. The four kids give themselves the name, “The Liars,” because they are the only people in the family who seem to realize what is happening, but nobody believes them. Then on summer fifteen, they decide to make one of the biggest decisions of their lives, and it might affect more than the perfect Sinclair family. One of the general themes throughout the book is that regret is the worst consequence of all. Once something is done, it cannot be undone. Of the many Sinclairs, Mirren, Johnny, Gat, and Candace are the four main ones. They all encountered one problem, greed. All three of the sisters, who are their aunts, had wanted the fortune and fame, ever since their mom, or the kids grandma, passed away. Their Grandpa, or “Grandad,” had been devastated over the loss of his wife, and he had been letting the sisters compete for his possessions. This was only the start of the twisted Sinclair family’s story. The four liars were the only ones who realized what was happening. The littles, or the younger cousins, were too young to know what was going on. The liars started skipping family meals, and plotting what they needed to do to bring the family back together. The liars goal was to stop the arguing, and return the family to how it was at the beginning of their lives- orderly, polite, and good-natured. My favorite character was Candace, she was the leader of the liars. One night on summer fifteen, she had a horrible accident, and was found in the ocean by a large rock. Her head was cut open and bleeding. She was then immediately rushed to the hospital, and after that she could notrecall anything that had happened that whole summer. Nobody would talk to her about her accident after that. “Will it matter to them, the way I can’t even hold on to basic facts surrounding my accident? I’ve lost so much of what we did together summer fifteen. I wonder if the aunts have been talking about me,” (Lockhart 69). Things just got worse for her. She didn’t want to be a Sinclair, she cut and dyed her hair from beachy blonde to a dark black. Candace stopped going to school, she would get awful headaches that would last her days. All Candace had to help was her mother’s support, and her always empty bottle of painkillers. When she arrived on the island at the beginning of summer sixteen, Candace had to figure out what had happened that summer, and why everything was suddenly different. None of the cousins, aunts, or even her mom would tell her. It was up to Candance to figure out what exactly had happened. As the summer went on, Candace pieced together parts of the puzzle to reveal her shocking discovery. The truth. Candace had worked through the worst of headaches to figure out the turn of events. “I am left, there on the Southern tip o
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have no words for how amazing this book is. We Were Liars is honestly one of the most breathtaking novels I have ever read! When I began reading this book I had very high expectations, because of the mystery in the summary. I was not dissapointed!!! I could go on and on about how beautifully written this book is and the emotions I feel for the characters, but I won't. All I can say, is this book is unique in its on way, and if your one of those people that like to read spoilers before reading the book, don't do that with this novel. Just read it, and I promise you WILL NOT be dissappionted!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is not even a scrabble word to truly describe how great and moving this book is. Do NOT let anyone discuss the book with you. You don't want to risk finding out about the end before you read it! This is now one of my top favorites!
anne40 More than 1 year ago
This book has a compelling story with wonderful characters. I could not put it down. I am 74 and I thought it was wonderful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly made you think throughout the entire novel. You experience confusion, understanding, love, sadness, and pity all at the same time. Remarkable story and plot twist. The ending made me want to flip back towards the beginning of the book to read and discover what I missed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great book with an unexpected ending. Perfect book to sit and relax on the beach with. Brilliantly written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is all out wonderful. I just want you to be aware that on this very site, someone wanted to spoil the ending which will ruin your experience. So please be careful. So whoever you are you ruined it for me and I am writing so you do not ruin this wonderful, shocking book for anyone else.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Trust me when I say this is the best book ever! Don't waste your time, read it now!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Couldn't put this one down. Such a twist ending. Must read again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Will read more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall the story was good. There was some parts that dragged but it allowed you to get to know the characters a little better. The ending definately was a twist and pulled me in quickly At that point it was hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall, book was great! Interesting, captivating, the works. But if you love amazing and surprising endings ... probably the craziest ending of any book I've ever read. WOW. Have recommended it to all of my friends that that reason alone!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have a knack for spotting plot twists, but the set-up for this one is so brilliant that I never even saw it coming. An easy five stars for a novel that I haven't stopped thinking about since I finished it almost twelve hours ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a really good read for me. Not only for the story, but also the writing style. The metaphors are very different and you have to kind of step back and think about it when you first read them. I would love to tell you about the novel itself but I feel the less you know going into it, the better it is. I will say that it is totally worth the read.
Angelized_1st More than 1 year ago
We Were Liars recounts the tale of an affluent family that spends their summers on a private island off the coast of Martha’s Vineyard. Why were these three cousins and their best friend Liars? The title is one of the various mysteries the reader has to unravel for themselves. The narrator of the story is one of the Liars, Cadence Sinclair Eastman, who you glean from the very first page is an unreliable narrator just from the fact that she’s a member of the Liars. Cady is the eldest grandchild, and thought to be the heir to the Sinclair family fortune. The majority of the story takes place after a horrible tragedy befalls the family, in which Cady is left with amnesia, but readers are filled in via flashbacks, fairy tales, and clues perfectly placed throughout the book. Since Cady is an unreliable narrator, readers have to shift through the clues she leaves in her retelling in order to figure out what exactly happened to her when she was fifteen years old. I really enjoyed this aspect of the story, but at times it was a bit frustrating. Not only is Cady a Liar, but she’s an amnesic. Not only did I wonder if she was lying about everything, but part of me even wondered if any of it even happened. If maybe the events Cady is retelling are all a figment of her imagination. I liked Cady, but the rest of the characters annoyed me. I never understood the attraction Cady felt for Gat, as he seemed like a pretentious a-hole. That’s not to say that many of his observations weren’t spot-on, I just felt that his actions made him a hypocrite. Cady’s cousins Mirren and Johnny were also annoying. Actually, I disliked her entire family. Nothing irritates me more that listening to rich people whining about being rich. Except reading about it. I guess Lockhart wanted readers to empathize with these characters, but I found them to be racist snobs. We Were Liars was massively talked about this year. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to be in on the conversations that surround this novel. It’s an easy read, and somewhat entertaining, so readers can read it pretty quickly. However, I feel this story could have been done better, and isn’t a book someone needs to run out and immediately read.