×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wedded to War
     

Wedded to War

4.5 83
by Jocelyn Green
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Christy Award-nominated title for best new author.

When war erupted, she gave up a life of privilege for a life of significance.

Tending to the army’s sick and wounded meant leading a life her mother does not understand and giving up a handsome and approved suitor. Yet Charlotte chooses a life of service over

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wedded to War 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
CChanner More than 1 year ago
I have just finished reading my copy of Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green, and I must say that I actually had to force myself to lay it aside in order to get some other necessary things accomplished in my day! I love the accurate historical details about the realities of life back in the days of the Civil War. The descriptions of the scenes are so true that the reader can seemingly see and, yes, even smell what the characters are experiencing, and the characters in the story are brought to life so well that we actually love and root for them, or detest them and pray that they will quickly get their just reward! I happen to have one of our country's first female doctors as an ancestor, so I am enjoying learning about things that she may very well have experienced during her own lifetime. Jocelyn Green has crafted a wonderful historical romance novel while gently and skillfully weaving the powerful tenants of our Christian heritage into the storyline.
Rumkimom More than 1 year ago
This is for the SAMPLER only (and says nothing about the actual book)!! I do not care for samplers and usually will NOT get them....but if get the first book for free and love it, I usually buy books 2, 3 and so on.
daws1996 More than 1 year ago
I've always loved fiction and it's ability to draw me into the story and forget all else about me. But what really gets my attention is when fiction can not only entertain,but also teach. Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green definitely caught my attention. As a purely fictional story, the characters and action never failed to invite me into the events. I laughed, cried, cheered and suppressed the urge to thrash a man or two. I love Charlotte's outspokenness. Most of my favorite lines from the book were her speaking. The gentleness of Alice, the sweetness of Ruby, and the gradual growth of all the characters who refused to let the men who braved the battle of the American Civil War fight disease alone combined to endear them all to me. But more than just a story, I learned so much! I've read Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell's story before, but seeing the women rise to the occasion of becoming the first female nurses in spite of the odds of war and the opinions of the men who thought them too soft was heartening. After reading a fictionalized version, I cannot imagine being in their shoes and handling it all as gracefully as they did. They are heros to be cheered and placed before our girls as examples of dedication, perseverance and steadfastness. Bible verses were sprinkled throughout, all well-placed and appropriate to the storyline without seeming forced. It was obvious which relied on God to get them through the difficulties of the War and how critical a key phrase from Scripture would help them refocus on the task at hand. I particularly liked the struggle of the Chaplain as he wrestled with God's goodness as he lived amongst the realities of battle. This may be Mrs. Green's debut fiction novel but it is an incredible book. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves historical romance or Civil War history.
AuntieRoux More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most exquisite works of historical fiction I've ever read. Based on the letters of an educated, wealthy young woman from New York City, Georgianna Woolsey, Jocelyn Green has created a cast of extraordinary characters, several others of which are also based on real people. At the heart of the novel is the foundation of the United States Sanitary Commission and the advent of women becoming nurses at the beginning of the Civil War. The first American woman to graduate from Yale Medical School and become a physician, Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, was the primary force behind the radical notion that women could make effective nurses. As Dr. Blackwell expected, the male medical establishment was not supportive of her ideas, to say the least. Ms. Green does a phenomenal job of character development. Originally researching the subject for a historical non-fiction project, she decided to incorporate her research into a work of fiction. I am certainly glad that she did! The characters and the story were immersive and I learned quite a lot. I had no idea that a person whose life & works have always fascinated me, Frederick Law Olmsted, was the first Executive Secretary of the United States Sanitary Commission. His character was fleshed out extremely well. I could really feel his frustration as he fought to get the supplies, medicines and staffing he needed from the government. I loved the portrayal of strong, intelligent women who were fighting to do what they could to help the soldiers while meeting fierce resistance along the way. There was also a completely despicable villain - don't worry, no spoilers here! - and several moderately despicable villains. I will admit to some trepidation after reading "Praise for Wedded to War" at the beginning of the book. The genre of Christian Fiction is generally not my cup of tea. I'm so glad I didn't let that put me off. I felt that the religious discussions between the characters were completely appropriate. It was a wonderful read, and I'm sure I'll be thinking of the characters in the book for a long time to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tried many times to read this book. For months I kept it on my Nook and would go back to it but the story did not capture me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters in this book just come to life. The way the story flew of the pages was incredable. I love how true she stayed to the actual people. I cant wait to read the next book in the series. Anyone who is a fan of civil war, or a sticler for historical accuracy must read this book, the details given wer splendid.
Fredlette More than 1 year ago
“We will be feeling these days for the rest of our lives, perhaps-but now is our one moment to do. To act.” Wedded to War, by Jocelyn Green As a young woman of refined society in 1861 New York, Charlotte Waverly already was pushing the bounds of societal expectations and her mother’s anxiousness by volunteering in the notorious Five Points section of New York. But as the country descends into Civil War, a call for women to serve as nurses to the military reveals to Charlotte a drive in her heart even she seems to have never truly suspected. Despite her young age, which does not meet the commission’s qualifications, Charlotte manages to secure a place in the training program for Union Army nurses. What follows is an adventure involving not only Charlotte, but a cast of engaging characters that one cannot help but become deeply involved with as the story grows and develops with each chapter. With incredible accuracy and historical research, Jocelyn has created a picture of the Civil War era which leaps off the page. Very quickly, you will find yourself choosing sides, cheering for some characters while despising others. The mesmerizing story absolutely pulls you in. Not only is this an incredibly enjoyable read, it is also a story of encouragement and hope revolving around the themes of grace, redemption and what one can do when you listen to the voice of your heart and your God, instead of the surrounding culture. For a story that will enthrall and encourage, read Jocelyn Green’s Wedded to War.
KatNH More than 1 year ago
I have been telling all my friends to read this. It was taken from correspondence of a real woman from the North. You will learn much and enjoy every bit. It describes the war and the society of the time.
lolly-pops More than 1 year ago
WEDDED TO WAR is inspired by the true story of a Civil War nurse. While fictionalized it contains some of Ms. Woolsey's letters and journal entries as well as notes by the author. WEDDED TO WAR is written in parts, before the nursing call, during the nursing call, after, etc. There really is no promise of a happy ever after as most romance readers like, but this is woman's fiction and not a romance, though Charlotte is involved in relationships with men in various parts of the book. I loved Caleb, and hoped they would form a relationship beyond what they had. But again, this isn't a romance. If you love history, the history of nursing, women's rights history, or historicals based on real life stories, then WEDDED TO WAR is a book to consider. While long (over 400 pages) it is easy reading and kept me engaged throughout the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nicnac63 More than 1 year ago
Hugging the well-worn Bible to her chest, she rocked back and forth on the edge of her chair trying desperately to fill her mind with something—anything—other than the memories that came unbidden now. Wedded to War, by Jocelyn Green, is the first book in the three-book series, Heroines Behind the Lines, and fares well as a stand-alone. As with the other books in this series, the extensive research is evident and makes the story come alive. The book is given a hardy helping of historical facts and wartime flavor that quickly pulls the reader in, and the characters are believable (fiction from non-fiction), and memorable. Interesting fact: Wedded to War is a work of fiction, but the story is inspired by the true life of Civil War nurse Georgeanna Woolsey. Woolsey's letters and journals, written over 150 years ago, offer a thorough look of what pioneering nurses endured. Wealthy Charlotte Waverly abandons her New York City life to band with other women who become the first Army nurses of the North. It was impossible to foresee the hardships and prejudices they would encounter, but they trudge along and face each battle with admirable inner strength. The bad guys are easy to loathe, and I find myself rooting for this band of nurses. I can’t imagine going through what they went through. 5 Stars Cover: Like it¿ Title: Like it¿ Publisher: River North¿ Pages: 400 First Lines: When Charlotte and Alice told their mother they were taking the omnibus down Broadway they weren’t lying. They just didn’t tell her where they would be getting off. There was simply no time for an argument today. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy from MPNewsroom but was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gma4 More than 1 year ago
Sorry to see it end! I have read the other reviews, and I agree with the fact that this was a well written historical fiction. The strength of the characters, from the strong daughter to the pampered mom came through strong. My imagination captured the era through the excellent writing. I believe Jocelyn Green did a fantastic job portraying the different personalities, even to the scoundrel Phinneas. Looking forward to reading her other novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book because it is your average war book just like the classics thank you author of this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Charotte was amazing in this Civall War Nurse. WAS disapoint at the end of the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is probably an okay read, but it is written on the union side of the cival war. I can trace through my family geneology even to Richmond , Va. The capitol of the Confederacy. My president was Jeffersson Davis, my ancestors fought under President Davis Against Abraham Lincoln. So with that in mind, my interest in this war is on the side of the Confederacy only. I learned about the side of the Union in school. Like I said a good read especially due to the formation of the american sanitary act which you know as the Red Cross. Slavery was not God's will. It was thusly abolished. My only interest is due to my anscestors. It is a free nook short story though. If you're interested pick it up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mgg More than 1 year ago
This book is fantastic! As soon as I was done with this I read the 2nd book in the series, Widows of Gettysburg and it was a great read too! Would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
J4Life5 More than 1 year ago
Although Charlotte Waverly enjoys a life of privilege and the attentions of a devoted suitor in New York, she yearns for a life of service nursing the Union soldiers injured in war. However, in the 1860's women were not welcomed into the world of medicine. Does Charlotte have enough gumption to withstand the prejudice of doctors, the disapproval of her suitor, and the reluctance of her mother to follow her dreams of nursing the soldiers? This is a historical fiction work based on the journals and life of Georgeanna Woolsey, a woman of privilege who served as a nurse for the Union during the Civil War. It has a nice mixture of fictional characters and real-life historical figures, along with short excerpts from Georgeanna's journals. What I liked the most about this book was the glimpse into what medical care was like during the Civil War. There were a lot of references to medications and treatments that I have never heard of, so I found that very interesting. I also enjoyed the snapshot into how ill-prepared the Union side of the Civil War was. In the majority of the books I have read covering this topic, the focus has been on how the southern side was at a disadvantage due to their ill-preparedness. It was interesting to see how the Union side wasn't that well off at the beginning of the war either. I enjoyed the intertwining of Charlotte's and Ruby's story and the comparison of life between the classes. I was rooting for Ruby throughout the book to have something positive happen in her life, and kept waiting for her life to turn around. The characters were easy to become fond of and hope that they would survive in the danger of the battles in the early part of the war. The plot was a little slow to start up, and I was a little afraid I wouldn't ever get to the point where I was into the story enough that I had a hard time putting the book down. However, by the end of it, I was actively engaged in the plot and really enjoyed the book. I think Green did a great job tying up the loose threads of the story, to close with a very satisfying ending. My favorite part was the resolution of the characters. I had a clear picture of what their lives would look like after the conclusion of the book. If you are a fan of historical fiction and like to learn about how life was in the past, this would be a great book for you. Although I knew before reading that the novel was based on a real person, I particularly enjoyed how Green followed up the book with the History Behind the Story, where she shared a little more about who the characters were based on. I would recommend this book to Civil War/historical fiction buffs. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
Alice_Knightly8 More than 1 year ago
** spoiler alert ** This has to be my favorite Civil War story I've read. I haven't read many, but the ones I've read are ALL the same, so this was nice in it's uniqueness. :) Some of the cases Charlotte dealt with as a nurse were a little nasty, but that's obviously expected, and nothing was too gory. Charlotte's devotion to and selflessness in caring for the soldiers was really sweet and I loved reading the parts where she would make her rounds of simply giving them water or talking to them. There was in the secondary character's story the subject of the prostitution all around her (she comes from Five Points), but the author never got into the subject in detail, and "rescued" Ruby from the slums as soon as she could. ;) In Ruby's story was also a strong theme of life and mercy that was really touching, and when she's debating with herself about the option of abortion vs life ~ the message was really powerful! (Aiden O'Flannery was such a sweet baby!! ^_^)  The tons of scriptures included were really great and had perfect timing- and it didn't seem as if the author was continually preaching at the reader, but her message was still really clear and convicting.  The entire story was really gripping and I really enjoyed it; however, the ending was incredible! =D It was "any other great book" until I reached the last three chapters! It was like an entire new plot unfolded with new characters and intrigue. Really amazing. :) Very satisfactory ending! As a side note, I really loved Jacob Carlisle (Charlotte's brother-in-law)! Since Charlotte has no father or brother, Jacob is pretty much her legal protector; thus when Charlotte is in trouble with the villain, it's Jacob who comes and defends her and orders the offender out. It was just really different from most novels - where the hero usually comes in, saves the day, and the light dawns on the heroine and she realizes she's in love - it was so much more realistic and was actually (I thought ;)) the best scene in the book! I just really liked that he took on his role seriously as his sister-in-laws guardian and defended her like a man- and that the heroine LET him! :P In closing, this was a really enjoyable- though serious-themed- and touching story. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction will enjoy this immensely. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loooooved this book! The historical element is really well done, but the characters still come alive and you feel like you are attached to them even though you are reading a very descriptive story set hundreds of years ago. I instantly bonded with the characters...they were so well developed and had so much depth, it was hard to remember they were not real. I like how she did such a good job of weaving the sub-plots in as well...there was never a dull moment and i had a hard time putting it down. The ending was a little too.unfinished for me, but that is my only complaint