×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wedding Belles
     

Wedding Belles

3.7 14
by Haywood Smith, Cynthia Darlow (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hat Club fearlessly takes on mothers and daughters, wedding madness, and midlife passion in this frank, funny, and fabulous novel.

Georgia, Linda, Diane, Teeny, and Pru have been best friends since high school, and never have they needed one another more. Georgia’s precious twenty-eight-year-old

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
pinklady75 More than 1 year ago
It was a funny, touching book that helped the south to come alive again. It shows the strength of womanhood without the bashing of men. And lessons were taught and learned along the way by this reader. A wonderfull book that I didn't want to end.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
Wedding Belles by Haywood Smith is the third novel in the Red Hat series. Are you ready to take a walk down the aisle? Synopsis: You are invited to Wedding of Callie Baker and Wade Bowman. Callie has just announced to her parents that she plans to marry Wade Bowman who happens to be her father’s best friend. He is also known to Georgia her mother and the red hat club for his shenanigans in the past. These revelations have caused grave concerns for Georgia. Will she be happy for her daughter? Or will she cause a rift between the two? What solution will the red hats devise? My Thoughts: This is my first Haywood Smith novel. I was initially drawn to her because of the humor in her writing. She shares bits and pieces of her writing at her live events. Humor in writing can be a great asset. I felt she used it well in this novel. I enjoyed the characters. You will enjoy meeting Tiny, Pru, Linda, Diane, and others. How would you feel if your daughter came to you said I want to marry a man who is thirty years my senior? Would you be happy for her? These are the questions that Georgia must answer. I did not enjoy the local flavor that was mentioned throughout the novel. I am looking forward to reading another novel by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the related stories by Haywood Smith, and would have loved this but for the glaring omission of one of the gang the series is based on. As a "modern" belle myself, it is fun to read a story based in the South. (I am more the generation of the ladies' children, but I enjoyed Smith's books and this one anyway!) I will say I found it VERY strange that a MAIN character that we spent so much time with in the series as a teen and an adult is totally missing. I thought maybe Smith just was going to say "and Susu up and moved". NOPE. It was a huge distraction for me that did take away from my reading of this one b/c I kept waiting for some clue as to why the character was gone and where she was. (I saw this mentioned in another review before buying and thought maybe it was a matter of just not enough detail....It was instead a very valid point. I probably would not have bought this one had I known how much it would distract me. Kind of like reading a sequel to 3 Mustketeers, and suddenly one is missing and NO ONE says anything.) For the women who were so close to make no mention of her in any of the narratives was just WEIRD. Other than that, book is easy to read and fun. I think it almost works better as a stand alone so you are not aware of the loss of Susu. IF the change in line up was addressed (even in a throw away/unsatisfying way), it would be best read with the others.
LuckyPatty More than 1 year ago
All the way to a wedding it seems. Members of the Red Hat Club reprise their roles in another installment of their lives. Missing however is SuSu, who apparently fell off the face of the earth never to be mentioned again. In her place kind of is the cousin of Linda from New York City. A recent widow who unfortunately didn't follow her husband to his grave. All this winds around the story of Georgia's daughter getting married. Should be a happy occassion, but she's marrying her father's best friend. More than enough fodder for the gossipmongers and for the Red Hat Club ladies to lament over. By the time the book ends you'll be glad it's all over and done with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. More adventures of Smith's Red Hat friends. I would suggest you start with her earlier books to have a good grasp of her characters. I look forward to more books by Haywood Smith
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Nobody's perfect. So, a lot of the people on the beach are skinner than you. Big deal. There's always somebody older and fatter out there, too, so you might as well wear your bathing suit and enjoy yourself.' So begins Smith's latest book and unlike the previous reviewer, I loved it!!!! Being from the South and at an age where I can identify with Georgia's worries and fears, I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this read. This is one to share with friends and family!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I adored the first two books about the adventures of the Red Hats. However, I am completely confused as to why a major member of the Red Hats was left out of Wedding Belles entirely as if she never existed. Susu McIntyre, Georgia's best friend from childhood, turned alcoholic stewardess, turned sober attorney is never mentioned. To be honest, she wasn't my favorite character in the first two books, but going through events such as Georgia's marriage without her is just plain strange. Were we not supposed to notice? Also, on a slightly less important note, little details throughout the book just don't match the others. For example, when ordering at their monthly Red Hat lunches, all the women take great pleasure in menu surfing, and then always order the same thing every time. In Wedding Belles, although the same foods are listed, they're ordered by the wrong women. There are several little things in this novel that flat out contradict the previous novels. Like the other novels, this book covers many years, and the little discrepancies are somewhat off-putting.