×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Weight of Silence: A Novel of Suspense
     

The Weight of Silence: A Novel of Suspense

4.2 326
by Heather Gudenkauf
 

See All Formats & Editions

Masterfully written and beautifully told, Heather Gudenkauf's debut is a stunning novel of family devotion, honesty and regret that will linger long after the last page is turned.  

It happens quietly one August morning. As dawn's shimmering light drenches the humid Iowa air, two families awaken to find their little girls have gone missing in the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Weight of Silence 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 326 reviews.
Nora920 More than 1 year ago
Very rarely do you find a book so good that you stay up half the night reading it, then feel sad on the last page, because it is over. This book had me wrapped up in the story from the very beginning. I cannot wait to read Ms. Gudenkauf's next book!
Danielle Waldron More than 1 year ago
Read over the summer in only two days. It is told from a really unique perspective. Heartbreaking and a story you will not soon forget.
NancyT More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent story. I found it very hard to put this book down. It is told from several views of several different people, but it was not hard at all to follow. I know I will read this one again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed every page. Didnt want to put it down....sad its over
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
highly recommend.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"The Weight of Silence" has been one of the summer bestsellers this year, and for good reason. I found myself very quickly becoming lost in Gudenkauf's debut novel. At times absolutely heartbreaking, it will grab you from the beginning and not let go until Calli's epilogue. The story begins one early morning as Calli, a first grader, is dragged into the woods by her alcoholic father. Calli is a selective mute, and the backstory about how she became that way is intriguing. As the people who love her try to find out where she has gone, the story intertwines with another disappearance, Calli's best friend, Petra. Petra has always been there for Calli, being her "voice". When a substitute teacher punishes Petra for always talking for her friend, Petra saves the day. Calli's mother, Antonia, tells her that one day in the future, she may have help Petra in the same way. This day comes sooner than she thinks when Petra is in serious trouble. "The Weight of Silence" speaks from different viewpoints, all in the first person, except for one, Calli. The puzzle pieces keep piling up, until the reader finally puts them together. What happened to Calli that she stopped talking? What happened to Calli and Petra in the woods? The ending is bittersweet, yet heartbreaking. MY RATING - 5 To see my rating scale and other reviews, please check out my website: http://www.1776books.blogspot.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book ties it all together by the end but it has a bittersweet ending. I was so caught up in this and hated to see it end. Highly recomend. Reminiscent of !Jodi Piccout. Will read more of her books!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
weak ending, but overall worth the buy.
Anonymous 11 days ago
This is my third book by Heather Gudenkauf and I hope she keeps them coming. The suspense in this book kept me riveted and reading late into the night. The story line is great, the author's descriptions make you feel you are right there. Loved it.
Anonymous 9 months ago
With characters so deep you cannot help but be transported into their lives I was hooked from page one. Recognizing that the greatest mysteries we may never solve come from within the close circle of home speaks a language we can all understand. This was impossible to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book based on what appeared to be stellar 4 and 5 star reviews. Unfortunately, I don't have the same glowing opinion. I wish I had realized each chapter was "voiced" by one of the individual characters. And, therefore, it seemed to lack continuity. Not my way of enjoying a book. I felt it dragged and had a hard time getting into the story. If you enjoy ready stories about dysfunctional families, you might enjoy this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read from this author but will be looking for more to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an awesome read!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking forward to more of her work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read a book this good since I can't remember when. I even tried to sneak away during a family get-together this weekend to keep reading. I did have the culprit figured out before the end but that didn't have any impact on how much I enjoyed this book. I am ordering another of Ms. Gudenkauf's book right after I finish posting this review. Also, this is the first review that I have ever felt compelled to write! Order this book. You won't regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast read,kept my interest. Would recommend
boooche More than 1 year ago
Amazing story telling. I was drawn in to the story from the very beginning. The relationship between these two girls was simply beautiful. This is a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago