×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Welcome to Camden Falls (Main Street Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Welcome to Camden Falls (Main Street Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Welcome to Camden Falls (Main Street Series #1)
  • Alternative view 3 of Welcome to Camden Falls (Main Street Series #1)
<Previous >Next
     

Welcome to Camden Falls (Main Street Series #1)

4.2 35
by Martin
 

See All Formats & Editions


Combining the heart of her Newbery Honor-winning fiction and the spirit of her legendary Baby-Sitters Club series, Ann M. Martin introduces a timeless new series for girls.

Flora and Ruby do not want to move to Camden Falls. But they don't really have a choice -- their parents are dead and their grandmother, Min, is taking them in. It's strange to be in a new

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Welcome To Camden Falls (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is now one of my favorites! I love it, I need to read the next one though... This book is sad, happy, and makes me smile. I got addicted and hooked on that book!!
KKMURPH More than 1 year ago
Positives about the book would be that it was so cute how they all would work at the grandmothers' store and are great friends. I also liked how it took place in Massachusetts. The last thing I liked about the book was how they moved to the mom's old house and how Flora found all these things left behind from her mother to help her remember her mother, and make her less sad. Some negatives of the book would be that personally I like first person. Also I couldn't really understand the lesson of the book or tell what the point of the book was. Overall, though,I still found this book interesting. The writing style of the author can be explained in many ways. Welcome to Camden Falls was clear and easy to read. Also I noticed it was told in third person. Lastly, the book was very straight forward in telling what was happening and how it happened. I liked the writing style of the book, but I would rather it was told in first person. For the recommendation of the book it sort of depends on what you like in a book. One reason I would say yes would be because it was interesting. I'd say no if you don't like sad books. Although it wasn't a complete series of sad events it was still a sad thought (the parents dying)Lastly I would recommend the book if you are the type of person that is curious and that likes finding things in books. A similar novel would be Lily's Crossing, which is about a young girl whose mother died.Some novels I would recommend would be When You Reach Me, Absolutely Normal Chaos, and The Upstairs Room. I would recommend these books, because they were mysterious and made me curious, had a lesson in them, some were funny and they were all interesting.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading the first book in the new MAIN STREET series by Ann M. Martin. I am glad that she is doing another series. I have many girls in my 5th-grade class who are still reading THE BABY-SITTERS CLUB and this new series is a little more timely.

It is the story of two sisters, Flora and Ruby, who lose their parents one night in a terrible car crash. Their grandmother picks up the pieces of their lives and they move to Camden Falls to live with her. Their grandmother owns a sewing shop and the girls help her out. There they meet two other girls -- Olivia, who lives next door and whose grandmother is co-owner of the shop, and Nikki, who is poor and lives on the wrong side of town.

Flora, Olivia, and Nikki are all in sixth grade and have the same teacher, and Ruby will be in fourth grade.

The author has made a simple story very contemporary by including many social issues that kids need to face each day. There is a family contending with Alzheimers Disease and another with downsizing. Flora is faced with trying to know who she is and who her parents were, there is a lady who has been in a concentration camp, another family who has a teen with Down Syndrome, and poverty. It is an intelligent and not watered down story.

I am looking forward to reading the next one in the series and introducing them to my class in the fall.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would defintely recommend this book to you. This is a book about two sisters that have to live with their grandma because their parents died in a car accident. Now they have to start a new life in Camden Falls. Min,their grandma, owns a store called Needle and Thread. Flora,one of the sisters, loves to sew and likes to help out in Needle and Thread.Ruby,the other sister, likes to dance and sing in choruses.What I really like about it is that they have a website to help you understand where everything is and helps you learn more about the town. I really enjoyed this book and hopefully you will too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book because the author creates a clear picture in my mind i am more like flora because im in sixth grade and i would be sad if my parents died.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about two girls who have recently lost both of their parents suddenly in a wreck.Now they have to go live with their grandmother in Camden Falls,leaving all their friends behind.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is a wonderful start to an amazing series of the changes in life of two young maturing girls. it really does show how life can have its ups and downs. i love this book and the others that follow. i would recommend this to anyone who likes a good read!
Tennis4fun More than 1 year ago
My daughter and I have read all 6 books and love them. We recommend you read book number one first. It explains who the girls are, how they got to Camden Fall and all about their neighbors and the Row Houses. My daughter can't wait until Book number 7 is released.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much! Whenever I read it would just give me a good feeling. I am on the second book of the series and I can't wait to read them all! I think you would enjoy them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is about when Flora and her sister Ruby have to go to Camden Fall. Flora and Ruby didn&rsquo;t want to go but they had to because their grandma called them to live with her because their mom and dad died so there was nobody to watch them. When they made it to Camden Fall they lived next to a girl named Olivia. Olivia likes to organize things. There was a girl who live in a wrong side of a town. Her name was Nikki. Nikki didn&rsquo;t want to be friends with Olivia and Flora. Once they shared secrets their friendship became easier. Then when Flora and Ruby liked Camden Fall they started changing their minds and wanted to stay at Camden Fall all of the year. When Flora and her others friends became popular, Ruby became popular too. They started to like each other and they became the best friends in the world. They said they said they will never fight or leave each other again and they lived happily together. Welcome to Camden Fall is an interested book because it about moving somewhere and you don&rsquo;t want to but you had to go and it about best friends that don&rsquo;t like each other but when they share something about them they started to be friend and they became easier. Flora and Ruby stayed at Camden Fall and be friends with the other girls and they lived happily ever after.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I only bought the sample but it was really good! ~ &hearts Liv123 &hearts ~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'll take it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is now one of my favorite books. I just love it. I'm planing on reading the whole seires.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its good for a book i give 4 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I READ THIS BOOK BEFORE !!!!! III JUST CAN'T STOP READING IT !!!!!!!!! I THINK IT WAS A HAPPY BOOK!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i have read
SecretRin More than 1 year ago
I got this at a book fair. We got to see a video of what the book was about and stupid me didn't even bother to actually read part of it. So I got it and I couldn't stand it. It was sort of interesting, but I was completely disconnected from the characters and story line. I hate having to do this and review a book that I never even finished, but I just couldn't. I got to chapter three and basically sank. It was boring and annoying. It just sat there in my bookcase and has been sitting there for around 4 years. I finally found it and now I am giving it away. I didn't bother with the rest of the series. I'm sorry, this book isn't the book for me. Some may like it, but I was like in the 3rd or 4th grade and it was WAY too easy for me. I should have read some of it first. The characters seem so fictional and unrealistic. I just read the back right now and I wanted to fall asleep. I think the author could have done way better. I have always believed that a book needs to hook a reader right at the beginning, and this book didn't do that...and I just read the first sentence, and I started and just did not want to finish it! It was way too long, and way too boring...sorry again. Not the best book...=l I'm sorry Ms./Mrs. Martin... I didn't like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago