×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Welcome to Temptation
     

Welcome to Temptation

4.2 193
by Jennifer Crusie
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sophie Dempsey wants to help her sister film a video and then get out of Temptation, Ohio. Mayor Phin Tucker wants to play pool with the police chief and keep things peaceful. But when Sophie and Phin meet, they both get more than they want. Gossip, blackmail, adultery, murder, vehicular abuse of a corpse, and slightly perverse but excellent sex: all hell

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Welcome to Temptation 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 193 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Welcome to Temptation is by far one of the best books I've ever read. It was like reading a romantic comedy movie. I gobbled the book up in one sitting it was so good. The story is set in the sleepy town of Temptation, two sisters Sophie & Amy crash into town on a job and end up with so much more. The primary characters are witty and well developed and even the supporting characters in the book are not easily forgotten. You will love the good guys and hate the bad guys. It's thirller, a mystery, a political satire, romantic comedy, women's fiction, family story, sister story, love story all rolled into one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All of the characteristics of Crusie's work are here: the irreverent tone, clever dialogue, and some sizzling comebacks. And the strands of the plot show promise for coming together in a comic and satisfying way. But they don't. There are various contrivances that don't work, but could have. The momentum for the story just isn't there. Jennifer Crusie tries to coast along on sharp dialogue, but the main characters need to be developed more. They don't have enough details to make them likeable or keep us interested and there are too many characters without redeeming qualities. This story lacks a basic sweetness; some scenes are just plain raunchy. However, there are some laugh-out-loud dialogue and comic scenes. On that basis I marginally recommend this book...but wait to buy it in paperback. Tell Me Lies and The Cinderella Deal are stellar, but this one falls short of the standard that Jennifer Crusie has set with her previous novels.
Tangen More than 1 year ago
Yes, I am addicted to Crusie's books. See publisher's blurb for clues to the plot, but the situational and conversational humor are the best part of any Crusie novel. Well, and, of course, the characters. This is another that I started with the paperbacks until they kept wandering off, then I bought the audio. Aasne Vigesaa has the characters and emotions down to a science, and that is great for us listeners!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the 1st book by Jennifer Cruise that I've read but I will definitely be reading more. It was funny and had a good plot. I loved the characters .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfection!   Romance writing that does not insult your intelligence.  Welcome to Temptation is simply a higher standard that most.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lulu74 More than 1 year ago
Just started reading this author. Great read . Enjoyed most of the characters, being from Ohio I found it rather interesting .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The writing was cleaner and more interesting towards the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stopped reading it on page 100. Terrible characters, no plot to speak of, huge waste of time and money. Very surprised so many people gave it good reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A goof interesting story, worth the ten bucks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Another fantastic novel from Jennifer Crusie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my absolute favorite books...ever. I've read this book every summer since it was originally published, and it never gets old. My copy is missing a cover and a few of the first pages from passing it around to all of my friends...and I find something new each time I read it! I loved all of the quirky characters, the places the plot takes you are hilarious, and the love scenes are STEAMY! Great chemistry between Sophie and Phin and also between Sophie and her family. Definitely Crusie's best and I've found it hard to find another book like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Jennifer crusie and while this it not one of my favorite books of hers it is definitely worth the buy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite Crusie book! Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!