×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn Series #2)
     

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn Series #2)

4.5 580
by Brandon Sanderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson's epic Mistborn Trilogy continues with The Well of Ascension.

They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Well of Ascension (Mistborn Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 580 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The battle to take the Lord Ruler down is over and the rebels won although it was Vin who struck the decisive lethal blow. Now that the empire is destroyed kingdoms with petty rulers as their monarchs want to take his place. Two such rulers are besieging the Central Dominance¿s largest city Luthadel, where Vin¿s lover Elend rules as a benevolent king who insisted on having a council with real powers help make the laws. --- Vin is one of the most powerful Mistborns in the former empire who burns all the metals in her body, each giving her an incredible power. She is her lover¿s bodyguard because she knows his enemies from within the city and without will try to kill him. She loves him dearly but isn¿t sure she is good enough for him because he was raised as a noble and she was once a homeless street urchin who went from one gang to another for protection. One of the kings taking part in the siege is Elend¿s father who has a Mistborn ally Zane who is enchanted by Vin and makes her question her role in Elend¿s life. --- Readers will be fascinated by what takes place in a city under siege and root for Vin and Elend to live through this dangerous time. Although there is as much introspection as there is action in THE WELL OF ASCENSION readers will become so absorbed in the plot that they will be unable to put the book down because the characters fascinate them. Told in the third person viewpoint by many characters, this epic fantasy is a stand alone book although a clear successor to Book One MISTBORN --- Harriet Klausner
GarryT More than 1 year ago
When I picked up the 1st book, I was skeptical. After reading a few pages, I was hooked. As soon as I finished, I was looking for the second book. I was not disappointed. The only down side is everyone was telling me I looked tired today :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This whole series is very good, continuing the interesting premise/background of the first book. Love 'em all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the first book in this series was good, but this one was even better! I couldn't hardly put it down and I'm looking forward to the third book. It's definitely a must read.
emmanuel_ali More than 1 year ago
the war against the lord ruler is over and now vin is trying to protect her new bf while he is now the ruler of luthadel.Vin is one of the most powerful Mistborns in the world but vin's only weakness would be that she thinks she would never be good enough for elend. for me this book was amazing once i picked it up i could not put it down, in my opinion it is better than the first. i think people would love the little romance between vin and elend, but would really love the action that goes on through out the book. i think who ever reads this would be into it as much as i was to the point where they could never put the book down
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
Thus far, Sanderson is delivering everything you would expect from a good fantasy novel: he's got excellent well-developed characters, an evolving and intricate plot, and a unique concept to differentiate his novels. I have been very impressed by these books, and look forward to continuing the series. If you liked this series, you might also like "Magician: Apprentice" by Raymond E. Feist (especially from "Silverthorn" on...), "Assassin's Apprentice" by Robin Hobb, "Way of Shadows" by Brent Weeks, "Kushiel's Dart" by Jacqueline Carey, and "Magician's Guild" by Trudi Canavan, and "Thief's Gamble" by Juliet E. Mckenna, and "A Shadow in Summer" by Daniel Abraham (Phew!).
Aditi-ATWAMB 5 months ago
I honestly have NO idea why I waited so long after finishing The Final Empire (Book One) in this beautiful trilogy before starting this one, but it has been over a month. I just guess that these books are long, and with the stress of college submissions, I just didn’t find the time to pick it up. Which is to say that well, despite the wait, I AM SO IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK I CANNOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. What’s this about, you ask? You know how most trilogies start with a tyrannical ruler to overthrow, a rebellion to win and a certain Prince and an unwitting princess to fall in forbidden love and they usually end with everyone being happy? Well, The Wells of Ascension is what comes AFTER that happen ending… After a thousand years of oppression under a ruler who is now gone, The Final Empire is in chaos. Warlords have over taken the various dominances, declaring themselves Kings and are now on their way to the centre of it all – the capital – Elend Venture’s new kingdom. Inside Luthandel, the people that now run the city were once criminals, trying to learn the ropes of running a kingdom headed by an idealistic nobleman. Vin and Elend themselves struggle to figure out what it means to be a Mistborn Weapon to a young king and their changing roles while trying to understand what their people need. TRUTH BE TOLD, this book, is EVERYTHING THE FANTASY WORLD NEEDS. I adore the sheer precision and details that go into every novel Brandon Sanderson writes. There is this passive, slow paced writing that if you give it the chance, will leave you hooked, unable to function without the characters or the world. I ADORE the characters. Every single person that had a viewpoint or even talked about someone else was SO WELL ROUNDED – their flaws, their personalities, their loves and dislikes were so well done and well, I feel like I know them like I know my own family. Elend and Vin, together, had the ability to make me feel all the feels and also break my heart because they were just SO DARN CUTE TOGETHER. I loved reading about (and feeling) all the ups and downs of their relationship as they tried to work on being with each other and also being powerful Mistborn and King. I ADORE THEM. More than anything else, I feel like this world is BEAUTIFUL. The power, the politics, the ideals and the people will leave you desperate for more. A brilliantly executed, perfect fantasy that realistically portrays what happens after the fabled happy ever after. You will fall in love with everything about this series – the people, the power, the games and the story and I could not recommend it more. 5 Stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent sequel, I can't wait to read the final book in this incredibly well-written trilogy.
Adam_Gentry More than 1 year ago
They toppled an empire, now they must build a new one. Well of Ascension asks “what happens after the heroes defeat the villain and topple the evil empire?” Now Vin and the others work to build a new empire, learning from the mistakes of the old one, and survive the ambitions of various opportunists. This time the heroes are on the defensive, responding to threats from besieging armies, surprise assassins, and political factions. Their victory over the Lord Ruler earned them a fearsome reputation, and now Vin struggles to live up to that reputation. As observers other characters stand in awe of Vin’s abilities, but her own perspective reveals the enormous strain that she imposes on herself, as well as the isolating effect of her power. The story makes strong use of 6 distinct perspectives to reveal a rich character based story. Where the first novel laid out a clear moral alignment, this story explores the relativity of right and wrong. The absence of a central villain leaves the plot more fragmented, driven by personal relationships instead of a larger conflict. Each scene advances one plot a small portion, before switching to a different one. The results can feel a little slow, but artfully so. +Relationship driven subplots +Strong ideas *Fragmented storylines *Political intrigue -Slow at times 4/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyed this second book in the series. will be reading the third book.
UR12 More than 1 year ago
Book #1 of the Mistborn Series was an excellent read and it was fun to be introduced to the development of characters like Vin who became the ultimate warrior and hero. Like all series it left you wanting to know the ultimate outcome. I think the author did a good job of creating a landscape and different idea other than the old tried and true magic such as wizards, trolls,dragons etc. I am into the final book of the series and hoping to see it all come together (I like happy endings).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Sanderson
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The mistborn trilogy is very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
olives_mom More than 1 year ago
Loved it...