×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What a Boy Wants
     

What a Boy Wants

4.2 128
by Nyrae Dawn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Courtesy of watching his mom’s relationships, Sebastian Hawkins knows what girls need to do to get a guy. He has what he considers a PHD in hooking up. When he needs extra cash for a car, Sebastian starts an online venture as The Hook-up Doctor, to anonymously help girls land the guy of their dreams. Of course, his services don’t offer a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What a Boy Wants 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 128 reviews.
WhatsOntheBookshelf More than 1 year ago
For the life of me I couldn't find a way to put this book into words. I want to do it justice so here goes. First, I'm going to state the obvious--the cover for this book is PERFECT. Sebastian is EXACTLY like the cover. Second, this is a boy point of view, and Nyrae nailed the voice. Sebastian is charming and he knows it. The ego this boy has is enormous, but it fits his character. While that sounds like he'd be a jerk, let me tell you he isn't. He takes care of those closest to him without question. This is what made me fall in love with Sebastian. On the outside he's cocky, egotistical, and a troublemaker. But look deeper and you'll find a teen who's scared, confused, and sweet as chocolate covered strawberries. Aspen, Jaden, and Pris round out this perfect group of friends. Each of them play off the others adding to the dynamic. They will make you wish you were a part of the group by the end of the book. I love the relationship build up between Aspen and Sebastian. Just a heads up, this story will not play out like you expect. I thought I had it figured out then BAM there was a curve ball and it hit me in the gut! I've already begged Nyrae for Jaden's book because that boy has one heck of a story to tell. When you read this, and you must read it, you'll smile, laugh, and maybe even cry. There's a point when you may want to scream and chuck your e-reader at the wall but I promise there is a happy ending. Just keep reading!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish barnes and noble would put the number of pages before purchase. It is like rolling the dice!
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
One word. AMAZING! Holy crapola!! I bought this book off of Amazon because it was recommended to me by Amazon. I clicked, read and liked the synopsis, for .99 cents, I figured why not? This has got to be one the best book choices I have made. Not only did it set a record for me, but it is soo good. The record. I was 5 pages in. F I V E pages, before I put my iphone down to get back on Amazon to purchase the second book. 5 PAGES! That's all it took. The reason I loved this book so much is that this book has a great plot line. The reader meets Sebastian, a young boy who has been through a lot. He runs a blog anonymously as the "Hook-Up Doctor." From there, you can only imagine how deep he is in. I loved that with each chapter Sebastian becomes more aware of himself and who he thinks he is. He knows who he doesn't want to be, but doesn't realize he is acting that way. He faces many challenges and I admire him courage to fess up. The love interest is so amazing. I like that Sebastian is able to open his eyes and see what has been in front of him the whole time. I love their flirtatious moments as well as the sweet enduring moments of falling in love. Their love is not built over night, but slowly builds before the reader, letting the reader fall in love as well. Thank you Ms. Dawn for writing their love strong yet slowly. I can't tell you how much I appreciate that! And of course their love is not perfect. Meddled with fears and expectations, Sebastian must learn that not all mistakes as his. And this part really touched my heart. Despite what you grow up with, you always have a choice. What A Boy Wants is a fantastic story! Ms. Dawn moves this story with wonderful pace and great admiration. It's like a beautifully written love letter that everyone needs to read. Delivering a wonderful yet beautiful love story, What A Boy Wants is off the charts!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not going to lie here, it was decent. Not the best book I ever read but good enough to finish. A quick read at 117 pages. Its not as predictable as you might think and its kinda funny. It was better than excpected for 0.99¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never knew once i read the first few chapters i didnt put it down a single second! If they had a hook-up doctor in real life everyone would go and ask for advice in a second! I enjoyed every single charater in this book what was intersting was that not just Sabistan had problems his mom did too he was a good son to her because he didnt want her to get hurt. In the end it worked out for bith of them Roger and his mom then Aspan and Sabastian! I think this book is helpful for anyone who has the same excat problems he did!
LillyZackMom More than 1 year ago
This was a fun and engaging book that had me caught up in it from the very beginning....which honestly surprised me because I didn't know what to expect from a book from a boy's POV. Especially a YA boy's POV (says this 40-something year-old mom). But from minute one, Bastian and his life really roped me in. Kudos also go to the author for giving the perfect amount of detail...it was enough for me to form a picture in my mind, but not too extensive. She also has the knack for describing things in a way that made me feel like I was hiding somewhere and watching the scenes unfold. The story feels real, the dialog flows, and I was actually surprised at how much I began to care about the characters....to such a degree that as soon as I was done with my SECOND reading of the book, I had to send the author an email to ask her more about some characters that I missed! I'd highly recommend this book....it's a light but engrossing read that definitely captures your interest, but doesn't drag you down with the deep emotional angst and turmoil in so many books. (PS - the only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is simply that to me, 5 stars is the absolute ultimate untouchable drop-dead pinnacle...so I virtually NEVER give 5 stars to anything.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing its in my top 2 cuz black waters is hard to beat haha
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the main characters Sebastian and Woodstock. I thought they were believable and well written; however, the storyline was a bit too predictable and the book too short. Overall it was an ok read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And that is what I want. A 12 or 11 or 13 year old girlfriend. Reply to David so we can sleep naked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved everything about this book. Truly great
jukelley More than 1 year ago
Loved this story! I absolutely fell in love with Sebastian and Aspen. I love the names of all of the characters, too. I ended this book so thankful I had already purchased 'What a Boy Needs' so I didn't have to leave the characters behind. I have to say that as a mom of four, this story made me really think about the things my kids may come to believe as truth because of what they see in my life. I've been married 21 years, so I'm not talking about the same things that Sebastian took from his mom, but you know what I mean. It's definitely something for me to stop and think about! Anyway, if you are considering reading this book, take a chance. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Someone please lend me this book it looks awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not really thouht provoking as others ive read but not bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really cute story. Its refreshing and a really good quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You try to get to him and act like your the best of the girls. Dont be trying to get him to notice you too much or he will think your wierd. Do what you can if he's around and if he responds to u and talks to you when other girls are around also, you've got it all in the bag :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book! I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a sweet book even though I wanted to kick Bastian's ass a couple of times for screwing everything up, but it was a great book, kinda short (119pg.), but worth the $1.99 for anybody who loves a short/sweet romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago