×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What Comes Next
     

What Comes Next

3.7 19
by John Katzenbach
 

See All Formats & Editions

Let me explain something, Number Four.

From this moment, you belong to us.

Two strangers with one overwhelming link: fear. For him, it's fear of losing his mind. For her, it's the fear is of losing her life…

Retired professor Adrian Thomas knows all about fear from a lifetime studying human psychology. Now he's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What Comes Next 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
gmagus More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by this author,but it certainly won't be my last.I read 3-4 books a week,and it has been a long time(probably "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo),that a story has effected me so much.The writing is superb,the characters believable,and the dialogue spot on.I HIGHLY recommend this book.You will find yourself standing a cheering for the characters,and be caught up from page one til the end.Well done Mr. Katzenbach,you have a new fan!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was okay but I had a hard time making myself finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After finishing the book I still cannot decide what is sicker, the story or the writer. I am baffled how a fairly intelligent and very well educated person can be the author of this thing. The only positive thing I can say about the book is that the rape scene is just aluded to and not described in such painstaking (pun intended) detail than everything else. How can a book like this being published is beyond me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Long and drawn out. Too many unneccesary words. Not that interesting at all. Will steer clear of this author.
Sam-C More than 1 year ago
Stopped after 45 pages.  This is so painfully overwritten that it managed to transform my positive mood into an enraged one every time I picked it up. Mostly, I was heavily editing, so much so that I completely became indifferent to the story. I just can't fathom how such a book came to be published without being placed in front of an editor, or so it seemed. Its page total is 448, which, without hyperbole, could be condensed to maybe 300 or less; I base that on the amount of editing I did during my 45-page prison sentence. I felt like I was the abducted and confined one, not the female teen character. The author writes like his readers are braindead and cannot make the most rudimentary connections by themselves. He has to explain everything he says and also feels chronically compelled to state the obvious, like when he delves into the mindsets of the characters. It truly takes a great deal of effort for me to stop reading a book and throw it into a "discard" pile, but it was quite easy with this one. Don't waste your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gave up around the 200 pg mark. started skipping all of the nonsense about adrians dead loved ones, and the cop. eventually started skipping the pyscho-duo, and soon was only skimming the very short interactions between jennifer and either of her kidnappers. i bought this would be a book about some messed torture-porn web show, and the unfortunate victim. not saying i want her to die.... but that would have been waaayyyy more  interesting. i could see the ending coming from about mile (200 pgs) away. being half way through with the worst thats happened to jennifer being that they fed her didn't give me eve the slightest impression that she was going to experience anything much worse. and as i skimmed it, she didn't (except for a rape seen that vaguely eluded to? idk i stopped caring) Spoiler alert - anyone wondering, the quiz her about her life, they make her exercise and then feed her (even though she didn't stop when she was told to), they make her wash herself with warm soapy water but sh has to remove her bra and panties. and they ask her more questions . she gets hit once or twice. no cuts, no stewing in her own filth, on starvation, no sexual assault (aside from the vague rape. and then after they start implying - or their customers start implying - that the only other interesting they could do is kill her) this book goes way too deep into backstories for almost all the major characters, including everyone single dead loved one of Adrian's. unfortunately, i don't care about their backstories because they're dead.i don't care about the cop, i don't care that she feels for jennifer. i stop caring about jennifer to. i was tragically underwhelmed by this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me on the edge of my seat! Really loved how the characters were written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me intrigued the whole time. I couldn't put this book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From cover to cover this is a non stop thrill ride book. You won't be able to put it down either... Read it nooowwww!!
Sandra-Gale More than 1 year ago
I waited and looked for this book for two years and it was not a disappointment. I have all of his books and they are changing to "more horrific". A good, very fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ALways loved Katzenbach's books. Waited a long time for this one, but well worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great characters,great story. Read this even if you find the subject matter distasteful. It is not torture porn. Great ending too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Begs the question, what does come next? I found this novel interesting yet disturbing. Author Katzenbach finds a way to weave a retired Psychology professor, a run+away sixteen year old young woman, a sadistic couple who have devolped a very profitable scheme to lure the perverted viewers on the wild side on the internet and a convicted child sexual molester. From the mind of William Katzenbach, he weaves these characters and a small supporting cast into an intriguing story that poses some tough social problems. And to top it off, even the ending contributes to asking another question that we are asking ourselves. J M Lydon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally, a book that can be turned into a movie! This book kept me on my toes with so many twists I didn't see coming. I am definitely reading more by this author. I almost feel ashamed to say look out Stephen King, if this author can keep cranking them out the way you used I may have a new favorite author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
excellent thriller from longtime favorite author!