×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What Dreams May Come
     

What Dreams May Come

4.4 106
by Richard Matheson
 

See All Formats & Editions

What happens to us after we die? Chris Nielsen had no idea, until an unexpected accident cut his life short, separating him abruptly from his beloved wife, Annie. Now Chris must discover the true nature of life after death.

But even Heaven is not complete without Annie, and when tragedy threatens to divide them forever, Chris risks his very soul to save Annie

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What Dreams May Come 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
Maria_of_amor More than 1 year ago
Though Matheson writes this in fiction form, he uses a great deal of research in forming his theory of the afterlife. Anyone questioning their personal beliefs about this great unknown will find solace from reading "What Dreams May Come"... you don't have to believe this is how things are, but it offers a compelling and beautiful picture of what might be. This book was very influential in shaping my own spiritual beliefs. What I love most about it is that any and all religions, or people of no faith at all, can enjoy and be inspired by this tale. Even if you don't view this from a spiritual perspective, and you are just looking for a good read, you will be entertained. This is so well written and easy to read that it is hard to put down. Highly recommended. Most importantly, please don't judge this book by the movie. Though I'm a fan of Robin Williams, the movie really doesn't come close to conveying the deep spiritual journey the protagonist, (an atheist until death), embarks upon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Words cannont explain how good this book was. I saw the movie and thought nothing can get better than this until i read the book. Please read this is so sweet it made me want to cry. A tiny depressing but terrific reaaaaaddddd
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel changed my life. Yes, my life. Previously having been completely atheistic, this book opened up possibilites of what life is really all about, and the hope that there is something afterwards that makes living actually worthwhile. This book gave me hope, inspiration, and something to look forward to. It gave me something to believe in, and something to put my faith in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Draws you in from the first sentence and keeps you until the end. Loved it. The movie is also great and has a whole new take on the idea.
haleysname More than 1 year ago
It's been years since I have read this book, but I decided my nook library is completely incomplete without it. As others have said, I am and always have been an atheist. This has not made me believe in a higher being, or given me faith, but it has brought me to tears because it is a beautiful love story. That is enough to make me recommend it. It is well written and is told with an imagination that I wish I had myself. (BTW, yes this was made into a movie, and yes without a doubt, the book is better)
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is about the fifth or sixth Matheson book I have read and by far it is the best! What set Matheson apart is his excellent prose and compelling characters. In this one Chris, a family man and devoted husband, is killed in a car crash. In scenes reminicent of the hospital scenes in the movie Ghost, Chris's life expires (I am sure Ghost was inspired by this novel). Chris lingers around or should I say stumbles around observing everything including his funeral and tries to contact his loved ones to no avail until his son brings in a medium who can see Chris (again like the movie Ghost). Eventually Chris is able to leave Earth and discovers the real meaning of what it is like to be dead when he ends up in Summerland (a type of Heaven). There he is watched over and instructed by one of his dead uncles. Though Chris' new existence seems ideal, he misses his wife and feels that she will not be able to cope in a world where Chris no longer exists. His fears come to pass as she commits suicide not too long after. Chris then learns that death has rules governing suicide and that his wife cannot be with him because she is sent to another place. Chris has to decide whether or not to sacrifice Heaven, to try to aid his wife. However, even if Chris can locate her, there is no guarentee that she will even know him or that Chris will be able to escape from the dark place that she now resides in. The book is impossible to put down and makes us examine our own inner selfs more thoroughly! There is a poor imitation of this book (A Brief History of the Dead) that was published recently but it nowhere hits the mark that this winner by Matheson is!
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and until reading this novel, no book had ever brought me to tears. I am in no way a religious person, so this book touched me in a way that is hard to explain. I have always been terrified of death and I'm not sure that I am anymore. That may sound really stupid and not make sense if you haven't read this book, but it's true. So, aside from just being a very well written and interesting novel, for me it was also life changing in a few big ways. I literally could not put it down. I feel like this should be required reading for all adults. It has beautiful messages that I think every single person would agree with. I have never felt quite so strong about a book before. Read this. It could literally change you life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want a real romance with deep themes, humanity, and true love, you must read this book. Even though it was, in parts, a bit long-winded, I was instantly pulled into it from the first page and was simply consumed. I read it within a few days and was in another world with each turn of the page. I found myself literally sobbing and sniffling for about four pages straight in which the main character, Chris, tells his wife all the things he's grateful to her for and why he loves her. The clincher was - quite arguably the best line in the whole book - 'Let this hell be our heaven'. There was no stopping the flow of tears. I felt remarkably uplifted, enlightened, happy, bittersweet, etc. when I finished it. And I think I fell even more in love with my own sweetheart, who thought it was a bit funny, albeit cute that I was crying so much. 'What Dreams May Come' makes you think, laugh, cry, cringe, and appreciate life and love much more than you did before. It did for me, anyway.
xFarFromHavenx More than 1 year ago
Before reading "What Dreams May Come", I had only seen the 1998 movie of the same name starring Robin Williams and Cuba Gooding Jr. I was a bit hesitant buying this book at first, since I'd already seen the movie. Let me tell you now, that even though I was familiar with the plot and characters, this book was worth every gosh darn penny! I'm not a religious person, and I won't bore you with my personal beliefs. Let me tell you, though, that this book is truly an eye-opener. You will not regret reading it, I can assure you. If you're like me and you read fictitious books with an open mind, you will *not* put this masterpiece down until you finish it. In a nutshell, allow me to say this; read this book!
DW55 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've ever read. Much better than the movie. I appreciate all the research the author did. Spiritually, it all rings true to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you saw the movie and liked it then you should give this short novel a read. It is different than the movie in many parts. But, I liked the book so much better because of the descriptive words used. It was easier for me to imagine what everything was like due to the attention to detail. I read the paperback version and enjoyed it immensely. -AvidReaderMS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A truly inspiring and deeply moving novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my all time faves! A must read for everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing
Julie Dean More than 1 year ago
The movie was horrible, read this! I love richard mathesons work.
MitchStone More than 1 year ago
...in a great way! While the movie had some unforgettable imagery and moments, the plot and character differences make the two works akin to distant cousins rather than identical twins. Or perhaps fraternal twins. They're both stand-alone works w/ the book giving you a greater sense of the immense research performed to write the book.
SandyBeecher More than 1 year ago
This book changed my life. Read it!!
Star_Dreamer More than 1 year ago
If you have seen the movie, you have not experienced this book. The book and the movie are so far apart it makes you wonder why they had the same title. I absolutely loved the movie, but I am in love with this book. If I could describe heaven it would be the heaven found in this book. I was captivated, transported and could not put it down, in fact I read it in one night. For me the book would have made just as wonderful movie if not better than the movie was. Once again you will really miss out if you don't read this book, and I am sure you will love it just as much or even more than the movie, a fantastic read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BlackAsh13 More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this!!!! I saw the movie starring Robin Williams many years ago on cable TV. I don't even recall it being in the theatres, probably because it gives belt at the box office, but I absolutely loved it. I didn't find out that it was based on a novel until a few months ago, after reading something else by the same author. As much as I enjoyed the movie, I enjoyed the book so much more! I've had an interest in the subject of the afterlife for a while, so I was naturally drawn in by the author's insights into the topic. But the book goes beyond because it is such a gripping story of undying love and devotion. The book feels as if it often switches back and forth between being a work of fiction and a non-fictional treatise on heaven and the afterlife, but both aspects of the novel had me hanging on every word. I was sorry it has to come to an end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After losing our dear friend Richard, I sought comfort from the deep grief I felt. This book is that comfort for me. I am deeply grateful. Thank you. TKD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very easy to read story full of thought and arcane significance.
fourstring71 More than 1 year ago
First of all, I never give a five star review for any book. Having said that... here's my review. With the preconception that a book is always better than a movie, I was not at all suprised to find this different, at least, from the movie. I feel that if the movie were made word for word by the book, it would have been great. I am glad the two vary in a way. The book is amazing in its own right. It also gets you thinking. Having the misfortune of dealing with the loss of my Father, I find the book gives a sincere hope; a ray of light stating there's always the hope that someday we'll all be reunited. You will do yourself a huge favor by making this part of your library. It will have you drawn in right from the get-go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will admit I read this book because I love the movie so much. Having read others' reviews of the book, I was not expecting it to be "like the movie" and was prepared for an entirely different story. I was not, therefore, disappointed that the book is unlike the movie. What disappointed me was that I found this novel wordy and uninspired. A number of other reviewers said this book "changed their lives;" I did not have that experience with this book. I felt like a lot of the story was utterly unoriginal. As a teacher of English, I have read quite a lot, and I would not count this novel among even the best 25% of my readings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago