×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What I Did for Love
     

What I Did for Love

4.0 166
by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
 

See All Formats & Editions

How did this happen? Georgie York, once the costar of America's favorite television sitcom, has been publicly abandoned by her famous husband, her film career has tanked, her father is driving her crazy, and her public image as a spunky heroine is taking a serious beating.

What should a down-on-her-luck actress do? Not go to Vegas . . . not

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What I Did for Love 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 166 reviews.
babolu More than 1 year ago
I have read all of S. E. P.'s books and adored all but one of them. This book was so predictable and boring that i had to skim and skip pages, which I haven't done since I was 17. I f a book is that bad stop reading it. Only the fact that Ms. Phillips was the author kept me even turning pages. I am most sorry because she will no longer be one of the authors I can automatically buy and know that a great story is coming my way.
ANNEA More than 1 year ago
Disappointing. I usually absolutely LOVE anything SEP writes but this felt like I was reading a story in People or getting a rehash of info on TMZ about Brad and Angelina. Since the story started out that way, even when it left the whole Brangelina concept behind and branched out into a more original story, I couldn't get past the feeling of having heard it all before.
rbeavers More than 1 year ago
I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips and always am anxious to get her new books. I must say, however, that this one was most disappointing. The characters and their situation never quite hit home with me. I could develop neither empathy nor sympathy for any character in the book except maybe the housekeeper. I found the Hollywood angle to be rather distracting as well.

On a more positive note, Mrs. Phillips included some bright and funny repartee as always. Although the plot development seemed rather ragged and forced at the beginning, it evened out and was eventually satisfactory.
Amarillis More than 1 year ago
Not one I'd recommend.
pattylee More than 1 year ago
This was a great romance novel. I liked the Hollywood setting, the premise and the great characters. I make it a point to read Phillip's new books and I was not disappointed. It is similar to some of her others with the relationship of convenience, the high profile characters, the family dramas, and the gradual discovery of love. As with SEP's other novels, there are some back romances - in fact there are a few in this one. If you like witty dialogue in your romances, you will like this one.
LMFranklin More than 1 year ago
Susan Elizabeth Phillips mightily disappoints with this grossly contrived, wholly un-romantic "rom com." Her major characters are deeply unlikable, displaying none of the irrepressible charm she normally imbues. Their "love-hate" relationship is so strongly tilted toward the latter that the first 150 pages read almost like satire. Simple plot points - why they despise each other so fervently, exactly how they end up eloping - are either under-explained or over-dramatic to the point of hilarity. The heavy-handed allusions to real-life celebs (Brangelina takes a few hits) overshadow a good chunk of the story, a focus which unfortunately prevents the two main characters from developing any convincing inner presence of their own. Most bizarre is the wild disappearance of Phillips¿ former ability to capture the rhythm and tone of genuine, funny conversation between two people who share sexual tension. Her dogged determination to force snappy banter out of the snarling mouths of her protagonists leads her into genuinely painful pages of cringe-inducing dialogue with very little humanizing exposition thrown in.

Even her minor characters don¿t get it right ¿ the "secondary" love stories incessantly highlight the sheer implausibility of every single relationship in the book, offering up aggressive melodrama instead of characters with whom one can identify. I want my old SEP back ¿ Gracie Snow and Bobby Tom Denton, the Professor and Cal Bonner, even Daisy and Markov. These loveless and love-sickened new characters read like the desperate struggles of a writer who appears to have lost her way through the corridors of the human heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really struggled whether to give this two or three stars. Very readable, and I read the whole thing through in one sitting, but I absolutely loathed the heroine by the end of it. The would-be hero was better, but starting with the big confess-his-fake-love beach scene toward the end, his character became far too contrived and forced. It's unfortunate, because it's obvious the author can write well, and I would normally enjoy this type of book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
melissaMSW More than 1 year ago
Fell in love with the characters and couldn't put the book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago