×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What No One Tells the Bride: Surviving the Wedding, Sex After the Honeymoon, Second Thoughts, Wedding Cake Freezer Burn, Becoming Your Mother, Screaming about Money, Screaming about In-Laws, Maintaining Your Identity, and Being Blissfully Happy Despite It
     

What No One Tells the Bride: Surviving the Wedding, Sex After the Honeymoon, Second Thoughts, Wedding Cake Freezer Burn, Becoming Your Mother, Screaming about Money, Screaming about In-Laws, Maintaining Your Identity, and Being Blissfully Happy Despite It

4.8 22
by Marg Stark
 

See All Formats & Editions

What No One Tells the Bride is the inside scoop--good and bad--on what it's really like being married. In these pages, journalist Marg Stark breaks the newlywed code of silence and exposes the profound adjustments brides often experience. Stark and 50 married women tell their stories--showing others how to handle turbulence on cloud nine--and reveal marital

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What No One Tells the Bride: Surviving the Wedding, Sex After the Honeymoon, Second Thoughts, Wedding Cake Freezer Burn, Becoming Your Mother, Screami 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book changed my life. I was so unsure about marriage - trying to figure out if the guy I was with "was the one". Everyone says "you just know". I think the 54% divorce rate begs to differ. You might "know" a lot of things, but you don't know you are going to be happy with this one guy for the next 40 years of your life. I was beside myself with anxiousness. What this book did was help chill me out and realize what marriage was and what it could be, without candy coating it. It helped me realize I could be married if I wanted to. That no marriage is perfect but that does not mean you won't be happy. It was just what the doctor ordered for me. After reading this book, I was confident to make the decision to enter into marriage, and seven years later, we are as happy as can be, and I am so grateful to the author for helping me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was feeling very lost and scared when I found this book. I used to feel like something was wrong with me because I didn't feel like a 'newleywed'. Like my marriage was failing because we argued about money, didn't have sex like 'newleyweds' should, etc. I figured that I had gotten married at the wrong time or to the wrong guy. This book has helped me to relax and realize that my feelings are NORMAL. Being a 'newleywed' is a fairy tale. I have to grow into being a wife, especially since I spent 10 years out on my own. I love my husband and I love my marriage, now we are learning how to deal with money, life, stepkids, etc by figuring out how it works best for us - thanks to this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being engaged right now and in the midst of planning I was looking for some insight into the whirl wind of changes and craziness I'm experiencing. Looking forward to the big day, I still feel a little lost! Not only goes the Author get right into the heart of engaged to married life, but she tells a bride to be to give herself some leverage and time. It's okay to have doubts and feel uneasy during this time. With some no-nonsense advice from her and the other brides she interviews I realize that I am still me, even if I am becoming someone's wife. This relaly should be a must read!! I'll pass it on to any engaged girlfriends I have!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love your story. Have you read the Divergent series? This story here seems extremly similar to it. Also, a trick for my nook when its on low battery is to put it on its charger, and use the nook while its charging. I hope that will help solve your problem for low battery nooks when writing it. Oh, and you need to chack for typos. There were several I saw. And one more thing: Have you written the story down on your computer or even just a piece of paper first? Sorry if I'm being too critical, but I am a writer myself and I can't help but constantly be finding errors in people's writing, and it's not on purpose. You can reply to me at "ght" result four... call me Obsidian...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey hold u who REALLY FOUND LUNA ME ME ME ME MEEEEEEE were is my credit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book while purchasing my invitations for my wedding - I thought it would be amusing, which it was! But I also learned a lot about things my mother would never talk to me about. I laughed and took in so much, I bought the book for my maid of honor who was engaged two weeks before my wedding. I have told everyone newly engaged couple about it. My copy is by my bed and I have reread chapters since my blissful day back in June. Thanks Marg!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book goes beyond planning the event - this will help you think about your life now and after the event.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the book shortly BEFORE I got engaged and now that I am experiencing some of the hoopla and melee involved in planning a wedding and preparing for a marriage, its comforting to know that I am not alone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have 4 months to go before my wedding and have just started reading this book. I almost started to cry when I read the first chapter because I felt so relieved. It helps you to understand that a variety of emotions while engaged/newly married is absolutely NORMAL and it happens to EVERYONE!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Since becoming engaged, I have read many books on the subject and this book by far has been the most helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed Stark's writing style, her humor shines as she shares intimate details of her own marriage, and the marriages of the women she interviewed. I appreciated the honesty and realism that the book provided, I found this book to be very comforting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rose is slutting off to Salem again. T.T
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Merr... l woll be baxk...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's nothing. :) Only here to help. He'll be fine. Salem's strong. Alright, bye.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You just have to say the word post and it posts right away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
((Calm down. It's just a lag.)) She lept onto a fallen log, curling up but not sleeping. Her weary eyes scanned the camp
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello! Andromeda, Alpha Female of Nebula Pack and Founder of the Exceed Packs here! I'd like to inform you all that the Exceed Packs now have all six pack slots filled, and pack registration is closed! Remember, you must be active if you want to keep your spot. If I find that your main clearing has not had a post for five days straight, your pack will be expelled and replaced. Here are the current pack standings: <p> Mad-Eye Pack (our evil pack) <br> Grace Pack <br> Nebula Pack <br> Night Pack <br> MacMoon Pack <br> And Brave Pack! <p> Also, the Exceed Packs Central hub is now up and running! It is at 'lycanthrope' all res. There are many things to do and different places to see here, so feel free to explore! The Pack borders are also there, including yours. Good luck everyone, and have fun!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hush? Can l talk to you?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He watches quietly