×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What Remains: A Memoir of Fate, Friendship, and Love
     

What Remains: A Memoir of Fate, Friendship, and Love

4.5 163
by Carole Radziwill
 

See All Formats & Editions

What Remains is a vivid and haunting memoir about a girl from a working-class town who becomes an award-winning television producer and marries a prince, Anthony Radziwill, one of a long line of Polish royals and nephew of President John F. Kennedy. Carole Radziwill's story is part fairy tale, part tragedy. She tells both with great candor and wit.

Carole

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What Remains: A Memoir of Fate, Friendship, and Love 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 163 reviews.
nickanmaxie More than 1 year ago
I just could not put this book down. I figured that it was a book mostly about John and his wife. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!! This is a love story...an honest one. One reviewer said she wrote in an earthy tone. While I was reading I couldn't figure out the style..but earthy is correct...open and well just great.
Lynnon More than 1 year ago
It is a true testimony of love and friendship, of death and dying, and ultimately, of life! I highly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been watching this lady on the Housewives show and I can truly say that she is a CLASS ACT. This accounting of her life with her husband Anthony is hands-down, the most touching and poignant remembrance of a man who was deeply loved. I will look at her with much more admiration going forward. Who could have imagined this lady on Real Housewives had endured the kind of pain that would kill a lesser woman? She carries herself with such grace...to Andy Cohen and Bravo TV--you got it right with Carole!! To anyone and everyone who reads this review...do yourself a favor and read this. In a word, BEAUTIFUL. Thank you, Mrs. Radziwill.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Carole Radziwill accomplished something few have been able to. She got me to finish a book. I have always experienced trouble staying interested in a story and have rarely reached the last page of any book. However, I had no problem staying interested in What Remains, in fact I could not read it fast enough. The manner in which Carole writes is enchanting. No detail or feeling is spared. I smiled, grieved and loved along with her through every page. What Remains is a refreshing read, just brilliant.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The little girl from the working class family is on her way to success, the kind she wants and has worked hard pursuing, when she lands a production assistant's job at ABC News. When Carole DiFalco finds herself working on a project for TV news magazine Primetime with Anthony Radziwill, nephew of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, things don't catch fire between them with instantaneous storybook passion. Their love affair begins several years afterward, and it's a gradual, almost casual progression that doesn't make it to the matrimonial altar until after the second of Anthony's many bouts with cancer. The first happened before they met, and he believed himself cured. The third interrupts their just-begun life together immediately after their honeymoon. Five years later, Anthony - a Polish prince by ancestry, as well as a Kennedy cousin - will be dead. The two people on whom he and Carole have relied most during his long illness will die before he does, though and that twist of fate will leave Carole alone in way she couldn't have imagined. That other couple are Anthony's beloved first cousin, John F. Kennedy, Jr. and John's wife, Carolyn Bessette Kennedy, who has long since become Carole's closest and dearest friend. Carole Radziwill is a remarkable writer, because she kept me - the most squeamish of readers, who hates hearing about doctors, hospitals, and medical treatments - turning pages far into the night. Although her book has a slow start, once Anthony's illness takes center stage the tale becomes riveting. By the time she finishes telling it, readers have come to know four remarkable young people - Anthony, Carole, John, and Carolyn - very well, and to care about them very much. It's a heartbreaker as well as a page turner, and a true-life love story written with winning honesty. Whatever this author writes next, I want to read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must applaud Carole for going through all she did in those 5+ years. Her writing was so good that at times I felt like I was there with her. I would read this book over and over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put this down. So beautifully written. I knew how it ended but I wanted so badly for it to have a different one. The people lost were so deeply loved and it was a priviledge to get a glimpse in to their world. Heartbreaking and searing. I loved it.
Mildred Dellapina More than 1 year ago
Carole possesses a strength full of love and devotion. I Read this book in 2 days due to it's pages full of an honest depiction of an unfortunate short-lived love story. A compassionate wife and a most dedicated friend; my wish for Carole is a life of peace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. I thought it would be just another Kennedy book. I couldn't have been more wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually read this book twice, something I seldom (actually never) do. The first time I thought the book was mostly about John and Carolyn Kennedy and Carole Radziwell's relationship with them. However, the second time around, it is mostly about Carole, her life as a journalist, and the battle she and her husband fought with his cancer. She knows how weave an emotional thread. I found myself in a relationship with the people in her life, even Lee Radziwell, about whom there was little written. Ms. Radziwell was able to elevate the characteristics and personalities of those she held in high esteem (such as John and Carolyn Kennedy and her husband) and subtlely paint a picture of control and coldness in those folks she did not particularly care for (must read to see who they are). Again, this is a great book. I know from the housewives of NY she is struggling with her second novel. Probably because her first book was a real account of real people who we all know. The story, more or less unfolded in real life and simply needed to be told. All I can say is I will look forward to the next read, but I'm keeping my expectations in check.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written. Her heart comes through in a non-cloying, real way. Relatable as well. So glad my curiousity because of the Real Housewives caused me to buy this book. I am better for having read this treasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing, touching, insightful and inspiring.
dhillon820 More than 1 year ago
A beautifully written account of love and heartbreak. A must read for everyone, you will get lost in the story and not want it to end!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the author on GMA and decided to buy this book. It is beautifully written, she invites you into her personal world, shares personal thoughts and conversations. But her story is not unique or different from others who have had a family member dying of cancer. I wonder if this would have been published and a best seller had she not be married into this famous family. But she falls short on her story. She is in the perfect position to make a difference. She shows us that cancer crosses all socio-economic classes, but never acknowledges it. She shows us that even Dr. Best of the Best doesn't hold the magic wand, that when SHE is armed with the newest information on the Internet or thru resources at ABC on cancer treatment that it is a personal attack on his doctor's clinical expertise, tho she never acknowledges this. She shows us that even if you are privileged to have the BEST view of NYC from the Sonny von Bülow suite, that even the policital clout of Sen. Ted Kennedy, the outcome was still the same, tho she never acknowledges this. Is it quality of life or quantity? Anthony died from complications of his chemotherapy, not actually the cancer. She needs to open up the private struggle of cancer, take away the stigma one assumes when receiving this news for the 1st time. That one must have done something to deserve this personal burden. This story is incomplete and falls short of delivering a message to those less fortunate than she and her husband. Everyone suffers when one is diagnosed with cancer. Doctors have have a hard time communicating death. I hope that the author can make a difference in all of our lives by telling the sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The writer conveys, beautifully and courageously, her agony, disbelief, sadness, and outrage in the face of tragedy upon tragedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was honestly one of the worst written books I have ever read. If it weren't for the famous people who the story surrounds, I doubt there would have been as much interest in this book as there was. It continues to be read because of the author's notoriety on the Housewives of NY. There were a re comments regarding how classy she is - I'm not sure what defines classy, but I don't think the author would be most people's idea of classy. Maybe think of Jacquelien Kennedy.
sas65 More than 1 year ago
I honestly could not but this book down. Her writing was mesmerizing. A beautiful story of growing up, love and loss. So well written, I wish it had not ended. I highly recommend this lovely book...
brathjens More than 1 year ago
I have read many "Kennedy" books and I must say I'm glad I downloaded this one. It was very well written, and I found myself really rooting for Anthony to live through his cancer even though I knew the ending of this story. I'd recommend this book to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An excellent read! I enjoyed this story very much. As I read this book, I kept coming back to a few thoughts. First, this book only continued to confirm for me how lots of money does not make you happy nor does it spare you from any heartache or realities of life. Second, I don't think Carole wants us to feel sorry for her. I imagine this book was a sort of therapy for her. The ability to tell one's story in a way that speaks from the heart and allows you to feel their emotions is a story very well told. This is one of those very well told stories! This book is very much worth the time it takes to read along with the emotional investment you make into Anthony and Carole's life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book on CD to listen to while I commute every day. It was a little hard to adjust to Carole Radziwell¿s voice, as it is not the normal clear and animated voice that you get accustomed to hearing when listening to books on cd. I do have to say that for her to be reading her own memoir, she lacked the emotion that could have been portrayed so easily for her, and I wish I would have read the book myself. As for the book itself, I loved it. It made me laugh at times, it made me cry several times. However, I did go in to this book thinking that it would be more about her, but it was more about how her husband¿s cancer, and the death of her best friends (and their sister) framed her life in the late 1990's. It¿s a tragic story of love, friendship, and heartbreak. In all, you have to be proud of Carole Radziwell for being a strong woman while dealing with so much throughout her marriage - beginning to end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure that I can write an adequate opinion about this book. It is chock full of feelings as the result of Radziwill's life experiences, and it is sometimes overwhelming reading. Sure, it is about the Kennedy and Radziwill families, but it is also the story of Carol DiFalco. She does a great job of articulating her perspective. You'll not be able to put this book down until you get to the bottom of the last page.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was one of the most awe-inspiring and touching books I have ever read. It prompted me to pick up the phone and call people to tell them to go get this book. Radziwill's descriptive nature and journalistic eye for detail captured everything. I love the phrase 'tragedy whores'. I read the whole book thinking, the person who read this could be one of my friends.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Save your money . Nothing to see here. No developed characters . One fully developed scene which happens despite the author not because of her.