×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What Remains of Heaven (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #5)
     

What Remains of Heaven (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #5)

4.4 37
by C. S. Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sebastian St. Cyr's search for the killer of the controversial Bishop of London leads him from the back alleys of Smithfield to the power corridors of Whitehall to the well-guarded secrets of his own family's past.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What Remains of Heaven (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #5) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
dtlyme More than 1 year ago
If you love history AND a good mystery - then this series is for you. Well researched and well written. Step back into Regency England and enjoy the unravelling of a good mystery!
KristinTX More than 1 year ago
Read the series from the beginning to get the most out it.
TCH More than 1 year ago
I love the whole series and this book wasn't as great as the pervious. I honestly dont like the whole Hero Jarvis idea but it makes a great read and I can not wait until the next book to come out. As one reviewer said Sebestian is a mix between Mr. Darcy and James Bond and it is true. I love all the story lines in all the books with the exception of the Hero plot. A must read in the series!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1812 Sebastian St, Cyr, Viscount Devlin is reestablishing a relationship with his father. Their rift was caused by a secret that came to light leading to the son ending his relationship with his beloved actress Kat Boleyn; whom he intended to marry. Now he wonders if his one night with Hero Jarvis, the daughter of his father's mortal enemy resulted in a child although she refuses to verify it one way or another. Escaping his female woes, Sebastian is asked by the Archbishop of Canterbury to investigate the deaths of two men decades apart in an ancient crypt in a church. One of the victims is Sir Nigel, who vanished decades ago. The second corpse is the Bishop of London Francis Prescot, Sir Nigel's younger brother. Sebastian assumes the deaths are connected beyond the sibling link and believes the association harks back to the American Revolution. St. Cyr is taken aback when he finds a tie to his family. His father, Sir Nigel and Lord Jarvis went to the colonies to see if pursing the war would end up in England's triumph. Viscount Devlin is a brooding hero in the tradition of Lord Byron as he distrusts everyone starting with his father who has kept a seemingly zillion secrets from him. His investigative methods are similar to that of a twentieth century police detective as he follows clues to wherever they lead. C. S. Harris has written a wonderfully constructed Regency mystery filled with concealment, red herrings, and misunderstanding that keeps the lead protagonist going down wrong lanes, but never giving up. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series, totally into it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
well written mystery series--
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I like this series, I'm disappointed with the direction that its taking concerning the main character. You ewxpect the main character to have flaws and for there to be twists and turns, but I would prefer it if the theists and turns happened with the mystery and not with the main character. Personally, I feel that all of the drama surrounding him and his life is too much. I'm not intrigued or interested in any of it. At times, the character is throwing tantrums like a five year old and running around pouting. That's not behavior you would expect from the strong, intelligent main character. And some of it is just unbelievable. His family tells him things that can be disproven and then are shocked when he learns the truth. I feel as though all of the background noise takes away from the character and the central theme of the book, which is supposed to be the mystery. I feel like it gets lost and turns into an episode of a tv soap opera.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LadyHester More than 1 year ago
Ever since the character I revile left these books, I enjoy them way more. The relationship between St. Cyr and Hero is FAR SUPERIOR! This author has some issues. She constantly places the same sentences in all of her books. When I read a series I don't want to be reminded a million times about things I already know!!!!!!! Quit copying and pasting from book to book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TalulaJM More than 1 year ago
While this may be the fifth book in the series, it is definitely one of my favorites. I have read it three times already! As one reviewer noted, it is good to start with the first book and go from there. Ms. Harris is wonderful She gives great descriptions of things so historical, like Gunter's Tea Room. The characters are unforgetable and I also enjoy the dialogue between Devlin and Hero. Hero is one of my favorite characters. She is always surprising and it is surprising that she surprises Devlin. These books are intriguing also, because all the characters have secrets. We still do not know what has happened to Devlin's mother; what about Tom; is Lord Jarvis going to have a cow??? And, Napoleon is still at war. The best thing about 2012 right now is the next book! A chapeau! Ms. Harris!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago