×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What Would Jane Austen Do?
  • Alternative view 1 of What Would Jane Austen Do?
  • Alternative view 2 of What Would Jane Austen Do?
     

What Would Jane Austen Do?

3.6 161
by Laurie Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

When a modern woman goes back to Jane Austen's time, she needs to know...everything!

When Eleanor agrees to travel back in time to prevent a deadly duel, but she doesn't know how to behave, what to say, and most importantly...how to tell a villain from a rake.

The captivating, infuriating, and mysterious Lord Shermont is a renowned rake and womanizer-but

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What Would Jane Austen Do? 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 161 reviews.
epicrat More than 1 year ago
Surprisingly, I quite enjoyed myself when reading What Would Jane Austen Do? The summary on the back cover was nothing spectacular, but I was surprised at the charming answers to WWJAD as Eleanor attempted to fit into the different time period. She deftly thwarted two gentlemen about to challenge each other to a duel to protect her honor. She flirted quite wittily with Lord Shermont that might make Jane Austen proud. She calmly kept her cool around the snooty women and managed to keep the sisters - the real ones, not ghosts - in prim and proper line (though perhaps a wee independent and forward-thinking). I believe any Austen fan will appreciate Eleanor's channeling of Austen - I mean, who hasn't dreamed of going back in time in order to rub elbows Austen-style, possibly find a Mr. Darcy to match wits with, and perhaps meeting the lady herself?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is like an episode of Doctor Who written by Jane Austen!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is so flippin good
psweet59 More than 1 year ago
I got this when it was a free read. Took me a while to get around to reading it, but so glad I did!! Easy read & enjoyable story!!
Waiting_4_My_Vampire More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT!!!!
R Hendrix More than 1 year ago
Wish they had all Browns books for nook.
Laurel_Ann More than 1 year ago
Heroine Eleanor Pottinger is a costume designer from Los Angeles who arrives in Hampshire, England for Regency Week jetlagged and downtrodden after being unceremoniously dumped by her boyfriend. She has booked her accommodations at Twixton Manor Inn, an eighteenth-century grand manor house converted into a hotel whose staff has lost her reservation and must put her up in the only room left available - the haunted one that they never use. Undaunted, Eleanor just wants sleep and does not care if she shares it with anyone, spectral or otherwise. When the two ghostly sisters Mina and Deirdre materialize to haunt her, she strikes a bargain with them to travel back to Regency times to thwart a deadly duel that kills their brother Teddy if they will in turn introduce her to their neighbor, her favorite author Jane Austen. Eleanor awakens in 1814 to meet the sisters and their family living at Twixton Manor with a house full of guests including hunky rake Lord Shermont, an agent for the crown who is secretly hunting for a Napoleonic spy among them. Eleanor quickly becomes his chief suspect. Motivated to meet Jane Austen, Eleanor engages in a week of social activities to discover which of the sister's honor will be compromised provoking Teddy into duel with Shermont. As a twenty-first century woman, Eleanor struggles with the Regency lifestyle and often asks herself "what would Jane Austen do?" in the same situation which works beautifully until romance gets in the way as she is courted by Teddy and the known womanizer Lord Shermont. Questioning their motives may be the key to her unraveling the mystery and discovering if she has fallen in love with a spy or an Austen-esque hero. Author Laurie Brown has pulled together elements of several genres - historical romance, spy thriller, time travel, and Jane Austen - in an ambitious endeavour. The plot moved very quickly and was evenly paced. I enjoyed traveling back in time with Eleanor, meeting Lord Shermont and of course encountering Jane Austen. Who wouldn't? Brown obviously researched her Regency history and has read Austen's novels quoting characters and scenes (though I must correct her reference to Knightley criticizing Emma Woodhouse after the picnic at Boxhill where she had treated Jane so badly! It was Miss Bates who was abused not Jane Fairfax.). Taken as a fun and frothy summer read, I have very few quibbles. However, when an author chooses to use Jane Austen or her characters that ups the ante in my book, and the standards are raised. Unfortunately, the opportunity to distinguish the present and the past with language nuances was missed as modern words such as Tarzan, yummy, omigod leaked in to the Regency world, and misnomers such as Arabian thoroughbred was used to describe Lord Shermont's horse. Additionally, at times I would like to have rested and discovered more about characters and their motivations, which was Austen's forte. In the end, I knew very little about the heroine and hero's inner thinking and felt the plot skipped past moments to elaborate and reflect just a bit more. The author did however supply the requisite Austen-esque heroine transformation and happily-ever-after ending, which Jane would have chosen to wrap-up more swiftly with far less effusion. In the end, was I entrapped by Jane Austen's name into reading this novel? You betcha! Do I have any regrets? Like Austen's character Emma Woodhouse, in this instance "I would much rather have been merry than wise."
Crystal_Kido More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful read in which a modern woman is brought back in time to the regency period. This book is full of interesting characters and a well written plot that is full of surprises and will keep you captivated until the very end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great take on an old tale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jane Austen plays a very small role in this unbelievable tale. Did not like this book at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago