×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When Bad Things Happen to Good People
     

When Bad Things Happen to Good People

4.3 79
by Harold S. Kushner
 

See All Formats & Editions

The #1 bestselling inspirational classic from the nationally known spiritual leader; a source of solace and hope for over 4 million readers.

When Harold Kushner’s three-year-old son was diagnosed with a degenerative disease that meant the boy would only live until his early teens, he was faced with one of life’s most difficult questions: Why, God?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When Bad Things Happen to Good People 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
RYMS43 More than 1 year ago
When I was going through a deep depression before/after my mother died, I read this book. It helped to move me beyond the deep loss I was feeling and brought me to a place where I began to accept that Bad things do happen to good people. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When my Mom died from cancer, after a long fight, a close friend recommended this and gave me a copy. Our church, main stream Protestant, givs it to our members as a gift after a death, although it is written by a Rabbi and has an Old Testament outlook. Nothing has helped more people deal with loss, in my experience, than this book. .
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rabbi Kushner's writing style and brilliant ability to show contrast with real life situations creates an eagerness to read on and an insatiable need to learn more. From the tone of this book it leads you to assume that Rabbi Kushner is just a lovable human being, rich in modesty and humility. This is a very short book which will be of value for both religious and non religious people. Whether religious or not, Rabbi Kushner's book has the ability to put a new prayer or creed in your heart, and will also enlighten you to not lose sight of the meaning of life in your life. People need not wait for some tragedy to come along to pick up this book. Personally, I am not currently dealing with a loss however, after completing this book I feel more prepared to take on the burden of coping with any unfortunate occurrences, which the future may hold. I bought this book to enable me to pass on comforting words to people close to me which were going through some tough times in their life. The majority of the readers of this book has mis-interpreted this book primarily from the misquoting of the title of the book. If you get the title wrong then this book will not serve its proper purpose to you. If you seek a bridge to the New Testament read Melvin Tinker's 'Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People'. In Tinker's 'Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People' you will find a more expanded interpretation of the Book of Job and other important passages in the New Testament that delivers what Kushner could not due to his commitment and belief in the Jewish faith. In my judgment, the two merged will give you a wider scope of learning.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was floundering, wondering if I could ever trust God again with the safety of my family after the death of my 19 year old son in a collision with a drunk driver. I did not understand why God did not protect Christopher, after all,I prayed constantly for his safety. I could not see how any sin I may have committed was so bad as to cause another person to lose their life. I could not reason how my son's death could benefit the world in some great Master Plan. I was SO SO angry with God until I read Kushner's book. I now realize that God cried too when Chris died. The man who killed him had free will and chose to drive drunk. He was driving a vehicle much older and larger than my son's Honda Civic. The laws of nature took over. This book does not go against God in any way -- it reaffirms God's love for us and his wishes for our safety. And it literally saved my life.
m_hall-1 More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book. I have read this twice. It is good after some life setbacks such as deaths, loss of property, money issues, and marital problems.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was Kushner's great insight to see that people who are caught in tragic circumstances not of their own making usually get stuck in some version of the dilemma: if God is all-powerful, why do tragedies occur? On the other hand, if God is not all-powerful, of what use is this no-longer-supreme deity to us? Patiently, and with great wisdom, Kushner sorts through issues of God and grace. I'm a Protestant but I got more out of this book than years of Sunday School. 'When Bad Things Happen to Good People' may be a little oversimplified in places but it's a great place to start--especially if you're mad at God!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books that I have ever read. Not only for the wounded, but also for the healer. Not only for the mourner, but also for the comforter. Not only for Christians or Jews (I am neither) but for those of any faith. Not only for the heart but also for the mind.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was hit by a drunk driver and injured. The pain was terrible, and the doctors couldn't find the cause. Life was so hard, and there was no pleasure. I barely kept my business going and had some not very happy clients in the process as I struggled to do that which was required. A friend recommended this book. Not only did it provide the support I needed at the time, it clarified for me the role of God in our lives. How many times I hear people say things implying that bad things happened to them because they fell short somehow. Kushner banishes such thinking. Our trials and challenges are not due to our own short-comings or to an ever-watchful and harsh God who punishes us. The only short-coming we can really have is forgetting to turn to God when bad things do happen.
ClydeVA More than 1 year ago
Best book ever written on the subject of loss, and trying to make sense of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Regardless of your religion, I think this book can be very helpful in gaining a better understanding of God, your "Higher Power" or whatever name you use. I found that the author provides logical explanations that have allowed me to find the answers to many questions I have had. The real-life examples that he uses make it easier to understand the concepts he is discussing. In addition to helping me to better understand how God works, this book will be invaluable to me as I try to comfort others who experience loss.
Honestreaders More than 1 year ago
We have given this book to many friends, who found it insightful and inspiring when going through the most difficult of times.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I have read or heard a reasonable answer to the recurring questions of, if there is a God why does he permit these things to happen and why does he choose to ignore my prayers for help? So much common sense and wisdom in such a small book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was going through a tough time trying to accept that the dearest person I knew had been dignosed with Alzhimers. I was given this book and it changed the way I viewed life, death and my relationship with G-d. I aways keep a copy or two of this book just to give away. It is a wondeful book. A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heartfelt writing from the author!
YogaNurse108 More than 1 year ago
The only words that have ever come close to helping make sense out of the senseless things that happen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this many years ago. Ordered several to give to friends who are facing troubling issues and questioning God's place in their lives. Kushner's explanations make such good sense to me. I highly recommend reading this again and again. I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain. I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong. Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is on sale here on BN.com.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Helped me deal directly and honestly with the anger and sense of abandonment I felt toward God after my father passed away. At that time I had prayed so much and he still died. I was feeling so helpless and lost. Kushner helped me see God is walking beside me through the hard times, and is not the the source of the 'bad things'. This book was very helpful for me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up just a few days after loosing one of my close highschool friends in a car accident.At first glance I thought this book was going to be just another religious book explaining why the author feels god takes the lives of our loved ones. However this was not the case ,instead Kushner does and absolutely outstanding job of making the reader form their own opinions on the issue of why they think god makes the decisions he makes.I recommend this book to any one who is going through the tough times of losing a loved one. This book relates on all levels no matter what religion you are.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read 'When Bad Things Happen to Good People' when it first came out five years ago. At that time, I found it interesting. But it was not until I lived through the deaths of two of my closest friends and I reread Kushner's classic that the book hit me with full force. Two recent books also were important to me during this dark period. I recommend all three of these books for anyone going through difficult times: During the early summer, two of my best friends, both women in their 40's, died of breast cancer. I searched for books that would offer me help with my grieving, and a perspective on what I was going through. Most of the books I found were long on faith and hope, and short on thought. And then I discovered two books, both recently published, that saved my life. These were Harold Kushner's 'The Lord is My Shepherd' and Dennis Shulman's 'The Genius of Genesis.' I thank Harold Kushner and Dennis Shulman for giving me a way of understanding life and death in a broader context. All three of these books tenderly guided me through my valley of the shadow of death and toward healing, and, for this, I am grateful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the great classics. All of us struggle from time to time with this profound issue. The author delves into the depths of life and your soul. I absolutely recommend this book, and I also recommend you read Optimal Thinking. You will learn how to accept what is out of your control, and make the most of anything and everything that is within your control. Both of these books are first-rate!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My best friend and her entire family died in a plane crash this year and this book helps give me such acceptance to death. I never thought i would have to think about death at only 17 but now that i have had to deal with it this book has made me so much stronger
Guest More than 1 year ago
After the long death of the man who helped raise me, this book reminded me to live for what he had stood for. A remarkable way to reclaim not only my own soul, but my own life and happiness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A well written book that's great for people who have been hurt or are in question about their god. It gave me a new outlook on life. The author talks about his personal struggles and his inability to accept some of the religious aspects of god. A truely compassionate man who shares the same questions of scripture interpretation as I. His personal accounts and senerios are the base for his beliefs, along with actual passages from the bible. I would recommend this book to anyone but would strongly earge those who are struggling with their beliefs to pick this one up!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE BOOK WAS WONDERFUL.MY BEST FRIEND LOST HER 1 1/2 YR. OLD SON TO AN AUTO ACCIDENT FROM A TRACTOR AND TRAILER DRIVER. WE LOST A GREAT LITTLE BOY AND LIFE WITHOUT HIM WILL BE DIFFICULT.BUT RABBI KUSHNER MADE ME REALIZE AT HIS SEMINAR IN TYLER THAT LIFE MUST GO ON. AND I WOULD JUST LIKE TO SAY THANK YOU,RABBI KUSHNER FOR BRINGING PEACE TO MY LIFE.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A friend gave me this book just after my miscarriage last fall. It really helped me to deal with my grief, without losing my faith in God. I have since bought copies of this book for friends that are also suffering a loss.