×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When Day Breaks (Sunrise Suspense Society Series #1)
     

When Day Breaks (Sunrise Suspense Society Series #1)

4.3 18
by Mary Jane Clark
 

See All Formats & Editions

On the day she died, Constance Young was the undisputed star of morning television. But her plans to move herself and her loyal audience to another network were cancelled when she ended up at the bottom of her swimming pool. And the fabled unicorn amulet that Constance had been wearing during her final hours—a gift from King Arthur to his beloved Guinevere

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When Day Breaks 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. The author did a good job.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JanBy More than 1 year ago
I'm sure we all know a Constance Young type of person so it wasn't a surprise to find her murdered. Mary Jane Clark offers just enough information about the characters to make the story interesting without over doing it. I found this to be a delightful weekend escape.
kimmie_b More than 1 year ago
Then this is a book for you! The storyline had me turning pages nonstop. A classic 'whodunnit' with enough twists and turns to keep you hooked until the very end.
dmb More than 1 year ago
Excellent read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Everyone hates Constance Young. It's no secret that her colleagues think she's a world class b***h, and rightly so. But when she ends up dead at the bottom of her swimming pool, it's up to those same colleagues to figure out exactly what happened to her.

Constance had just quit her job at KEY To America to move over to the morning news competition, Daybreak. No one was sad to see her go, but who hated her enough to kill her?

As bodies start piling up and the news business gets fierce, it will be up to KEY Headline News evening anchor Eliza and her coworkers Annabelle, B.J., and Margo to get to the bottom of the mystery.

This was a fun, fast mystery that I enjoyed. The behind-the-scenes working of television news was a great subplot, and the storyline makes perfect sense. This is a great summer beach read.
Beadgal64 More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up from where I work that has a gift shop. I like suspense books and this is by far an excellent book to read. I read this in two days because I could not put it down! I noticed that this will be a series off this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out!

YOU ALL MUST GET THIS BOOK. Very Good!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful read for those hot summer days. It keeps you on your toe until the very end, and you 'll be looking for more...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best in the series. I was guessing until the very end. Start the summer off with this great beach-read...you won't be able to put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The clues 'stunning!' were all there, and I missed them! That means, of course, that I MUST read the book again! A fun, engaging, intelligent, gripping read. One gets to know the KEY characters better than ever before. Thanks, Mary Jane! Can hardly wait for the next in the series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Considering myself very fortunate to get my hands on an advanced reading copy of Clark¿s tenth thriller, I confess that I couldn¿t put it down. From the first pages that describe a gruesome ¿practice¿ killing, to the final pages that uncover the identity of a murderer who stood right before our eyes all along, When Day Breaks provides everything a mystery fan hopes for. Eliza Blake, Clark¿s best drawn character -- Do You Want to Know a Secret? and Close to You -- joins forces with three of her KEY News colleagues to solve the murder of Constance Young, the luminous and viciously ambitious co-anchor of the daily news journal, KEY to America, who was leaving KEY to join a rival network and take her loyal following to its morning show, Daybreak. Moments after the discovery of Constance's body, Eliza, B.J., Annabelle and Margo dub themselves the Sunrise Suspense Society as they investigate not just Constance¿s murder, but the deaths of others, too ¿ three victims who know way too much. Watching Eliza's successive news reports on KEY¿s Evening Headlines along with the rest of the nation, the murderer soon determines that Eliza Blake is uncovering too many secrets. . . . Mary Jane Clark knows how to tell a story, with suspects-a-plenty, surprising clues and page-turning twists that keep us breathless. My advice: Don¿t miss Clark's latest, and best, thriller!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Constance Young, the hostess of Key to America, is leaving for a better position at a rival network and almost everyone is glad to see her go. She has alienated everyone at work with her demands and petulant behavior and is worse to those in her personal life. Her sister resents her as the multimillionaire Constance refuses to help pay for the care of their mother rationalizing that mom lives in Faith¿s house instead of a nursing home. Her lover millionaire Stuart Whitaker stole an artifact from the Cloisters museum for her and when he asks for it back she refuses to give it to him.---------------------- When she arrives at her Westchester home, Constance goes swimming not realizing someone rigged her pool to electrocute her when a toaster is thrown into the water. The killer perfected this technique by practicing on a dog gotten from the pound. An arrest is made when the artifact which she was wearing on the day of the murder is found in her assistant Boyd¿s coat pocket planted there by the clever killer. The man who gave the dog that was electrocuted to the killer is also murdered as is Constance¿s housekeeper who saw the killer. Eliza Blake, the anchor of Key¿s headline news, investigates the story and finds she is next on the murder¿s row.------------------------ Even though the victim comes across as a person with many enemies who had reasons to want her dead, the author makes it clear that nobody has the right to be judge, jury and executioner. She gets that point across through the actions and verbal asides of her characters. Mary Jane Clark provides an excellent gripping mystery that leaves readers wondering throughout who killed the odious Constance as suspects are everywhere.--------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
12