×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When Elves Attack (Serge Storms Series #14)
     

When Elves Attack (Serge Storms Series #14)

4.0 63
by Tim Dorsey
 

See All Formats & Editions

“The undisputed king of the comic crime novel.”
Providence Journal

Nobody does Florida weirdness quite like Tim Dorsey! Case in point: When Elves Attack, the New York Times bestselling author’s twisted Christmas present to his legion of adoring fans who can’t get enough of thrill-killer and Sunshine State

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When Elves Attack 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
Rob_Ballister More than 1 year ago
Tim Dorsey's less than dynamic duo of Serge and Coleman are back in the holiday romp WHEN ELVES ATTACK. This is my first exposure to Tim Dorsey, so I didn't know what to expect, but it won't be my last. Serge and Coleman are determined to do "Christmas big," and move into suburbia to try and settle down. Dressed as elves, they set out to punish those who do evil to their fellow man around the holidays, and the results are a non-stop trail of burned out motel rooms, burned up joints, and a whole bunch of "did I really just read what I thought I read," moments. I couldn't help but fall for the likable (mostly) Serge and the always-stoned Coleman, and Dorsey does a great job of developing their characters for those new to his work. Add in four crazy elderly ladies and the beautiful tag team of City and Country, and you have a Christmas story probably not worth sharing with the kids, but one that you won't forget. At less than 200 pages, a quick, fun read, although definitely a rated R book. High praise for this and I will be back for more Dorsey!
Ed-DP More than 1 year ago
Tim Dorsey has always been my favourite with his Serge Storms series. I eagerly look forward to every release. Time Dorsey combines fascinating history lessons of Florida, exposure to endlessly quirky Floridians, political and social insights voiced through Serge that do make you think, all wrapped in great humour - from bright-coloured farce to deep black. As an engineer, I delight in Serge's Rube-Goldberg inventions and contrived confrontations that offer (but often don't succeed) in bringing redemption to the unredeemable slimeballs around us. For me, it's like watching a mass of lives colliding as they drift through life but the Brownian motion isn't really as random as it appears, and, somehow, justice, fairness, and humour always triumph...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Classic Dorsey! The only thing I would point out is that this is a very short read. Perhaps 1/3 as long as his other books.
ccourtland More than 1 year ago
This is not your Nana’s Christmas story. If you’re looking for a heart-warming, fuzzy, good-feeling read, Tim Dorsey’s style will shock your stockings off. This satirical tale might even strip the stripe off a candy cane or two. However, twisted folks that giggle at Christopher Moore and are amused by Beavis and Butthead-like antics, will fa-la-la-la-la through the pages of this short gem. Spike the eggnog and dress the white elephant gift with the Sunday funny paper, because When Elves Attack is packed with classic Dorsey shenanigans wrapped in a shiny bright bow. Yeah, it’s nothing knew, but it’s funny as hell. This isn’t highbrow stuff, but who wants to strain their brain after hours at the mall? This is the perfect book to take along to the in-laws over the holidays or will make an excellent gift for that hard-to-buy-for nutbar relative. Let’s face it you’re probably going to need a laugh by the end of the evening anyways! Sometimes it’s good to remember that it could be worse. You could live in Florida across the street from Serge Storms on Triggerfish Lane.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are loveable and I am pretty sure you will enjoy this read.. Its a light hearted murder novel.. if you can use those words in the same sentence. this book has a little of everything!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great book. If you need to be put in a good mood this is the book for you. It had me laughing out loud, only Christoper Moore's books have been able to do that and I've read all of his. Now I have a whole new series of books to enjoy.
Drewano 6 months ago
Are you looking for a heartwarming story to get you in the holiday mood? Well then you should probably keep looking, but if you’re looking for fun in the sun with mayhem, crazy characters and pot infused gingerbread houses, then you’re in the right place. Even Serge can’t help but be affected by the holidays taking the reader on a fun Florida Christmas ride. If you’re a fan of others in the series or Carl Hiaasen then you’ll love ‘When Elves Attack”. My only complaint is I wish it was longer, more along the lines of others in the series.
imbrium More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Confusing, and unbelievable situations,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tom Dorsey takes current events in the Tampa Bay area and builds a story around them using Serge's actions to explain them. There was a rash of AC units being stolen from local VFW posts for the copper tubing and Serge ties it together with the explosian of a crack lab in Plant City. Always funny, and fast moving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Qwarky wit and entertaining too me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Turn loose of reality and just go with it.
Sugarmm More than 1 year ago
Just could not get in to this book. I let it lie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a light, funny read for the Christmas holiday and this was it. It kept me engaged from start to finish! I can't wait to read the other books written by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ert cxcnnnmnn
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarious story. Jms
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firstboomers More than 1 year ago
Tim Dorsey is, without question, is a brilliant satirist with a bizarre twist, commenting on everything Florida, including all the quirky things, and especially its 'unique' politicians and citizenry. Of course, being a Floridian I love following Serge & Coleman's adventures around the state where they do justice(?) to those who deserve it. Unfortunately I must confess I do share Dorsey's sense of humor and consequently have been hooked on his books for years. 'Tiger Shrimp Tango' is next in my Nook Book queue. Sad, isn't it? BTW, if you ever get a chance to attend one of his book signings he is as entertaining in person as he is through his books. Signed, Obviously-A-Fan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago