×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When Heaven Weeps (Martyr's Song Series #2)
     

When Heaven Weeps (Martyr's Song Series #2)

4.6 33
by Ted Dekker
 

See All Formats & Editions

A thriller unlike any you have ever read. A love strong enough to bring a tremor to your bones. A sacrifice powerful enough to make heaven weep.

At the close of World War II, a shell-shocked solider, Jan Jovic, was forced to inflict a game of life and death on a peaceful Bosnian community. In a few short hours, this young man was confronted by more love—and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When Heaven Weeps 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is by far one of the most powerful portrayals of love that I have ever seen in a book! Ted Dekker has outdone himself in illustrating the greatest attributes of love itself, the trials of love itself, and the author of love Himself. Packed with emotion, When Heaven Weeps is a must read. This book could not be any more accurate in its calling, for this book shall truly make you weep.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I read by Ted Dekker and I loved it! I was so enthralled. It really keeps one's attention. The storyline is superb and the Christian characters really portray God's love and personality towards mankind. I could not put the book down. I enjoyed reading every page. Many times I felt like I was holding my breath in anticipation. I am now reading Heaven's Wager and enjoying it also. I'm glad to see that he has another book after this. Thank you, Mr. Dekker. God has definitely blessed you with a unique writing style. The world does not know what they are missing. I would highly recommend this book to any of my friends for reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved how passionate this book was. It's dipiction of how a person could truly be in love with Jesus is something that young and old alike should understand and read about. I loved the way that the story infolded slowly, just until that last couple chapters where it took off and kept me drawn in until it was all over, leaving me relishing my own relationship with the Lord. A great read to encourage one's faith and to seek a place of greater revelation other than the Bible.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Other sites have a ton of reviews on this book, and I'm suprised to see only a couple here, so I'll fill the Barnes people in. This book is a stunner. Period. The kind that will stand out in your mind for years. This, I believe is Dekker's second book (Heaven's Wager first) and there's really no one who writes stories quite like he does. If you like the kind of cross-genre fare that a Koonts or a King will bring, but with a fabulously redemptive theme, check out this author. If you like a good page turner with romantic themes, check out Heaven Weeps. It's been compared to Francine Rivers Redeeming Love, but I dissagree. Although both are well written and both deal with the Hosea story, Weeps is far grittier than Redeeming Love. Don't get me wrong, both wonderful novels. I see that Dekker's latest offering, Thunder, comes out in February. Advice: grab it now!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow!! Seldom does a sequel pack the punch of the original, let alone outdo it, but that's what we've got with WHEN HEAVEN WEEPS. Actually, it's not really a sequel, but a prequel. This is Helen's story, the prayer-walking granny from HEAVEN'S WAGER. And what a story it is! In a somewhat grittier vein, but with even more believable surfaces and more powerful characters, WHEN HEAVEN WEEPS marks a major advance in the career of one of the brightest young novelists to emerge out of the evangelical Christian subculture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
eyegirl More than 1 year ago
I just found this author and am enjoying his work.
gr8dane More than 1 year ago
This is a must read with its companion books in the Martyr's Song Series. They can be read in any order, too. Amazing! I couldn't put the books down. They are exciting and nail-biting at times. At other times, moving and profound. I love the way Dekker makes you think, challenges your pre-conceived ideas, and dares you to go deep. I love all his books and can't wait for the next one to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Heaven Weeps is a book of love. The comparison that `Ted Dekker¿ continues to use between how man loves to how God loves is eye opening. How insignificant our love is compared to God's love. How God loves and welcomes us back into His house even when we deeply hurt Him. It has me wondering about whether or not I would stand back and allow myself (or worse others) to be beaten to a pulp, for my belief in Christ, or whether I would fight back. I pray that I would resist the urge to deny Christ but would instead take the beating. God's passionate and intense love is amazing, but how we can continue to mock and reject such love is frightening.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I absolutely loved it. I would stay up till 1 in the morning or later just because I needed to finish one chapter, which turned into two, and to three, and so on. Very addicting and very enthralling. However, I thought the parts toward the beginning that kept talking about Glenn were a little dull in that I didnt necessarily want to hear about him. I wanted to hear about Jan and Helen. BUt anyway, an amazing book, and I would most certainly recommend it to anyone.