×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When I Was Young in the Mountains (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
     

When I Was Young in the Mountains (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

4.0 12
by Cynthia Rylant
 

See All Formats & Editions

When I was young in the mountains, Grandfather came home in the evening covered with the black dust of a coal mine. Only his lips were clean, and he used them to kiss the top of my head.

Growing up in the mountains was special. Grandmother made hot corn bread and fried okra. There were trips to the swimming hole and Crawford's store.

Each pleasure was one to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When I Was Young in the Mountains 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I was young in the Mountains is a wonderful picture book. It is a story dipicting life in the mountains of possibly eastern Kentucky. Judging by the grandfather being a coal miner, serving pinto beans, trips to the johnny-house and swims in the pond. This is all reminiscent of growing up in eastern Kentucky. I loved this book because it reminded me of my own childhood. Also, I think it is important to keep appalachian literature in order that children will not lose their heritage. I would highly recommend this book to teachers looking to fit appalachian culture into their core content area of reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Do you ever miss the place where you grew up? In this heart-felt story, Cynthia Rylant reflects on the days when she was young in the mountains. She remembers her grandfather coming home black from the coal mines. She remembers what her grandmother would cook. She also talks of the fun they had. ¿ The swimming hole was dark and muddy, and we sometimes saw snakes, but we jumped in anyway.¿ Also, she talks of how she never wanted to go anywhere else. ¿I never wanted to go anywhere else in the world, for I was in the mountains. And that was always enough.¿ This is Cynthia Rylant¿s first book, and it is based on her own life experiences. She has written other books on the mountains. The illustrator, Diane Goode, uses pictures that enhance the story, making the story come to life. Rylant, Cynthia. When I Was Young in the Mountains. New York: Penguin Books, 1982. Reading level: Ages 4-8
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every longed to go back to the ¿Good Ole Days¿ that your parents and grandparents always talk about? Well now you can get a small glimpse of that time through this wonderful book written by Cynthia Rylant. This book is all about a little girl recalling what all she used to do when she was young in the mountains. She recalls everything from her grandfather coming home from the coal mines, late night trips to the ¿johnny house¿, to pumping water out of the well. Children will love this book as they read about the many experiences that this young girl had with her family in the mountains. This is a heart-warming story of a girl¿s love for the things she does and for her beautiful home in the mountains. The author of this book Cythnia Rylant was born in Virginia. Her book, When I Was Young In The Mountains, was the first book that she wrote and it was based on her real-life, while she was living in the mountains of West Virginia with her grandparents while her mother was attending nursing school. Like in the book, Ms. Rylant also only enjoyed the simple things in life while living there with no running water or electricity. Her real life and her younger years she has said has had a great influence on her writing. She is an extremely strong writer and captures the Appalachian life in a positive light.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How would you like to read a book that makes you feel sad and happy at the same time? Well, I just did. The name of this children¿s fiction book is When I was Young in the Mountains which was a 1982 Caldecott Honor book. This book is about a little girl who lives in the mountains with her grandparents. When I was young in the mountains, grandfather would come home in the evening covered with the black dust of a coal mine. Only his lips were clean, and he used them to kiss the top of my head. When I was young in the mountains, the swimming hole was dark and muddy, and we sometimes saw snakes, but¿¿.. Read the rest of this wonderful book written by Cynthia Rylant who was born in Hopewell, Virginia. Her parents divorced when she was young, Rylant is her mother¿s maiden name. She wrote about her life living with her grandparents until she was eight years old. Her grandfather¿s words of advice, ¿Always do the best you can with what you¿ve got.¿ For twenty years Cynthis Rylant¿s story of childhood in the Appalachian Mountains has been an enduring favorite. Other books you will enjoy reading by this author are: Appalachia The Voices of Sleeping Birds, Miss Maggie and Missing May. Rylant Cynthia, When I was Young in the Mountains. New York: Penguin Young Readers Group, 1993
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rylant, Cynthia. When I Was Young in the Mountains. New York: Dutton Children¿s Books 1982. Illustrated by Diane Goode. When I Was Young in the Mountains is a heart warming reflection of life in the Appalachian Mountains. A young woman remembers situations which took place when she was ¿young¿ for instance she recalls, ¿The swimming hole was dark and muddy, and we sometimes saw snakes, but we jumped in anyway.¿ This illustrates the fond memories of fun and brave times of her youth. The young girl truly loved growing up in the Appalachian Mountains. She says, ¿I never wanted to go anywhere else in the world, for I was in the mountains.¿ This is a wonderful Caldecott Honor book about the relationship between a girl and the place she called home. This is a terrific story to share with your children. This is Cynthia Rylant¿s first book. It is written from the perspective of an adult reflecting on her childhood memories. The beautiful illustrations, by Diane Goode, clearly outline the story, almost bringing it to life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this book. I wanted to LOVE this book. But there were a few pages that I just want to glue together and forget about (namely, the snake and the school picture). I loved the idea of this book. But the execution of some of those pages? Not so much.
bellebeast More than 1 year ago
My grandmother grew up in the backwoods of Virginia, and a lot of the parts of this book are from her childhood. If you have family who lived in the backwoods, you will completely understand this book-it is great for the images, and it really teaches about the people who lived in the mountains in West Virginia and Virginia in what is known as the Sticks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though these characters are very hard-working people, they find time to spend together and make the best of life. Then again, if one spends the entire week working, the time that they have off is that much more special because it's far and few between.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I was Young in the Mountains is a great Appalachian story set back in a time when there wasn¿t any plumbing and life was more simplistic. It is told from a little girl¿s point-of-view of living with her grandparents in the mountains. She talks about going to ¿the johnny-house¿ late at night, ¿the swimming hole was dark and muddy and sometimes we saw snakes but jumped in anyway¿. She also tells about pumping water from a well and ¿heated the water to fill round tin tubs for our baths.¿ In the end, it seems like she is an older woman telling her story of simple Appalachian life as a little girl. Read to find out how life was different for her then and how it is now. Cynthia Rylant was born in Virginia. This was the first book that she wrote. It is based on her real-life, whiled she was living in the mountains of West Virginia with her grandparents while her mother was attending nursing school. She was like the character in the book and liked simple things in life while living there with no running water or electricity. Her real life and her younger years she said had a great influence on her writing. She is a great writer and expresses the Appalachian life in a positive manner.