×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When She Hollers
     

When She Hollers

4.3 8
by Cynthia Voigt
 

See All Formats & Editions


Newberry author Cynthia Voigt's searing tale of abuse -- and taking back your life.

Tish has taken enough. She will no longer be abused. She will no longer be passive. So she takes a knife with her wherever she goes. Today is not going to be like any other day. Today is going to be different.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When She Hollers 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book Review Outline Book title and author: When She Hollers by Cynthia Voigt Title of review: Number of stars (1 to 5): 3 Introduction In Cynthia Voigt's When She Hollers, Tish is faced with an issue that is unforgettable and has many consequences. Not only is it physical consequences but emotional and mental. I believe the author wanted the audience to realize that this kind of thing really does occur in everyday life. The whole point of the book may be an issue that isn't talked about that's very serious and traumatic but the story itself was drawn out. Description and summary of main points Tish has been going through this horrible situation for a long time but finally lashes out and attempts to stand up for herself by threatening her stepfather with a knife at breakfast. Since her mother is in denial the truth speaking actions and words of Tish don't go as wanted/planned. Going to school with the knife in her Docs may not have been her best decision considering it causes more trouble than it keeps it away. That feeling of security may have been a good idea at the time but in the end she may have started wondering if what it caused was right or wrong. Evaluation The first chapter was mind blowing. The way it started out by going right into her dilemma I believe was the best way to begin this book. After the first couple chapters the story seemed to be drawn out. In order to make the book as long as it is Voigt elaborated a little too much on the components. For example the school complication lasted for many chapters. Even with that the book was still suspenseful. I just wanted to keep reading to find out the truth. I had an idea but I wanted to read it in text. In the end the way she tells the truth is so sad. It tore me up. Conclusion This drawn out book's main point was one that is hardly talked about but affects many people everyday. Although Cynthia Voigt elaborated too much I was still addicted to reading it. Tish's trouble made me feel so angry because that kind of thing really does go on and it shouldn't. I was able to tell what she was feeling and going through because of the way Cynthia wrote the book. Although the ending aggravated me I still would tell people to read it. Your final review Overall I give the book 3 stars. I loved that the book was able to make me feel a certain way and actually start relating it to real life situations but I didn't like that it was exaggerated on so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first saw this book, I got it from my school library, I was like FINALLY an interesting book, and when I read the first page I was like WHAT the heck is going on, it confused me, they just bluntly started saying things, I didn't know who was who. And then as the story went on I was NUH UH! O NO she didn't and stuff like that. And before I got to the last 20 pages, I realised, what the FREAK the book is already ending. The only reason I gave this book 3 stars is because There was only ONE i said ONE part, that I re-read over and over again, and it made me cry. It really did, I dont usually cry for those things even though u know it's sourt of sad, but I read it and just how they made her say it and the whole writing it down thing, It tore me up. Yeah I cried, I really did. And when I got to the end I realised how much bull it was. It's a good 40 minute read, if it takes U THAT long, but if u happen to come across this book I wouldn't buy it, but sit down and read it, u might FEEL her pain, like I did, for that 30 seconds. I don't know why I'm chomping this book so bad maybe it's because they basically tell u everything in the first chapter so the rest of the book is like...Ok.But I DO recomend some good books, and since you can obviously tell I'm a picky reader, U know there alright
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is my absolute favorite book. she gets u going from the start. the first page is literally hold your breathe material. such a good book and everything comes together. it is so worth reading. i read it over and over again its just that good!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book ,I believe, is one of the best i have read. It takes you through Tish's experience with her adoptive father step by step. It makes you realize that things like this really do happen everyday. And its sad, because some of those poeple dont try to get help because of fear. But Tish's story gives you hope that some will have the courage to come forward and get help. Its a really awesome book and i recomend it to everyone.