×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When the Thrill Is Gone (Leonid McGill Series #3)
     

When the Thrill Is Gone (Leonid McGill Series #3)

3.9 37
by Walter Mosley
 

See All Formats & Editions

Leonid McGill can't say no to the beautiful woman who walks into his office with a stack of cash and a story. She's married to a rich art collector. Now she fears for her life. Leonid knows better than to believe her, but he can't afford to turn her away, even if he knows this woman's tale will bring him straight to death's door.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When the Thrill Is Gone (Leonid McGill Series #3) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
LIV2read More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book last night and was getting ready to order the next one in the series,' All I Did Was Shoot My Man'. If you're a Mosley fan, you WILL enjoy this book. It's got all the things you read Mosley for, the kooky, quirky characters, the peek into the seamy side of human nature, a few twists and turns, a little offside humor and the 'Oh-I-didn't-see-that-coming' that you expect! I really liked some of the minor players in this one, like McGill's secretary, Mardi (a young lady he rescued from herself in a previous McGill novel) and his girlfriend, Aura (a woman he loves and depends on, but isn't in the position to commit to 100%). They're in his other books, but I felt their personalities came out a little more in this one. There are a lot of characters in this book, and you kinda have to pay attention. But it was such a good ride! You'll get to the point where you can't put it down because you have to know! And it all ties together and makes sense. Mosley fans, dive in!!
Eileen_Walsh More than 1 year ago
Mosely has outdone himself. This is a brilliant novel with engaging story-telling and compelling characters. Human nature without any glossy covering: complicated lives, raw and thought-provoking. An excellent read and a lingering set of thoughts to ponder. Wow.
Aradanryl More than 1 year ago
This is the first I've read by this author and it turned out to be a great introduction. I want to read the rest of the series and most likely, some of the other series by the same author. Couldn't put it down until the last page forced me to stop. Leonid, the main character, grew on me as the book progressed to the point I almost liked him after all. Note: This uncorrected proof was provided free through the GoodRead's First Reads program by Riverhead with an expectation of an honest review. My opinion is my own
Lynie More than 1 year ago
Leonid McGill is a NYC private investigator. He's just been hired by Chrystal Tyler, a woman who claims to fear for her life. Her husband's first two wives met unusual deaths and she's afraid she's going to be next. Her story about being married to a wealthy patron of her art doesn't jibe with her clothing or demeanor but he really needs the large amount of cash she's offering as a retainer. But very quickly, Leonid discovers that many of the people in this case are not who they're pretending to be, including the woman who hired him. At the same time, McGill is searching for William Williams at the request of a local crime boss. No one has seen Williams in decades and his real identity is a shock. Quieter and gentler than Mosley's street-smart Easy Rawlins character, Mosley has infused McGill with an "uptown" style. As well as pursuing Tyler's case, he's dealing with a cheating wife, his good friend Gordo is dying of cancer and is staying at the McGill home, and one of McGill's sons is up to something illegal. He's also longing to rekindle his relationship with his lover, Aura, and assisting random people he meets along the way. I first discovered Mosley's books almost twenty years ago when then presidential candidate Bill Clinton, who is a fan of mysteries, said that Walter Mosley was one of his favorite authors during an interview. It was 1992 and I started with Mosley's DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS. I've been a devoted fan ever since and WHEN THE THRILL IS GONE did not disappoint. I hope to be happily entertained by Mr. Mosley for the next twenty years. Lynn Kimmerle
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago