×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

When Your Child Breaks Your Heart: Help for Hurting Moms
     

When Your Child Breaks Your Heart: Help for Hurting Moms

3.8 8
by Barbara Johnson
 

See All Formats & Editions

When a son or daughter chooses a different path from mom and dad, or when tragedy strikes a family, it is hard to reconcile the present with all our hopes for the future. Our children's decisions may conflict with the way we raised them. We may lose contact as members of the family shut each other out.
Barbara Johnson tells her family's searing story honestly and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

When Your Child Breaks Your Heart 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a parent that is struggling with a homosexual child, then this book is for you. It will bring peace and healing to your soul.
Charmella More than 1 year ago
This book has helped me deal with my step-daughters instead of burying me head in the sand.
Anonymous 8 months ago
This is a must read for mothers that are suffering pain caused by their children's choices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was a book about rotten kids who break your heart. Nope. Its about a mom freaking out that her kid is gay. My advise, get over yourself lady! Your kid is gay, not a murderer, sheesh. Im not saying it wouldnt be shocking news, but your kid has it much rougher than you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although the author was dealing with her son "coming out", it was still a book that could be applied to most any other situation. To see the feelings that I felt regarding my situation, although different, put into words was so helpful. The advice that she shared from her own counseling sessions was also so enlightening. Great book for any Mom who is dealing with heartbreak.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After wading thru 50 pages, I just had to stop. Each minute of time was described in a paragraph and was so repetitive. I would assume after 1/3 of the book the story would pick up and maybe start instructing parents.
rufriendorfoe More than 1 year ago
This book was informative, moving, & eye opening. I felt what the Mother was going through. However, with the open-mind that I have that a persons choice is theirs to make & theirs to answer for in the end, I actually had an open mind towards the particular pain/issue that the author was addressing. My particular issue is actually deeper & much more complex than this book addressed. From that point of view, this book was not useful to me. But for beginning Moms this book is very useful & helpful.