×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Where We Belong
  • Alternative view 1 of Where We Belong
  • Alternative view 2 of Where We Belong
     

Where We Belong

4.0 383
by Emily Giffin
 

See All Formats & Editions

The author of several blockbuster novels, Emily Giffin's Where We Belong delivers an unforgettable story of two women, the families that make them who they are, and the longing, loyalty and love that binds them together

Marian Caldwell is a thirty-six year old television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and satisfying

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Where We Belong 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 383 reviews.
StuckInYAbooks More than 1 year ago
Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I just fell in love with the entire book. I have read all of Emily's books and this one does not disappoint because it was addicting and full of emotions and love between all the characters. I read this book in one day!! Its one book that you will not be able to put down! The plot was great!! I loved the point of views from both Marian and Kirby because as a reader we see the past, future and what they are both up to after the adoption. Each of the characters were amazing to read about because many people can connect with Emily's writing. I even loved how she showed how Marian and Conrad met on that fateful night as well as falling in love during that great summer as well as discovering the truth of family, as well as finding pieces of yourself showing up on your doorstep. As the story went on the development of each character evolved as they got to know each other better. I really liked Conrad because he was one of those bad boys who is Marian's real true love and despite what was happening Marian did make a choice with her situation (not telling) and then meeting him in the book once Kirby sees him is the most rewarding to read about. Kirby is a character many can relate too because as young adults we go through the stages. Her own story is remarkable and her meeting Marian really changes her life because compared to her life at her "family" she never felt that she belonged and related to, but she is a smart, talented girl who would later discover who she is and where she belongs. Marian life has changed ever since meeting her daughter who she gave up for adoption and when these two women meet each other they develop a relationship and this is a different type of view compared to Emily Giffin past writing which makes this book shine! Where We Belong is one of the best books yet!! I am a big fan of Emily Giffin, because her writing is one of the best out there for those who love romance/contemporary in fiction. I could re-read this book over and over again because its soo memorable to go back and enjoy it again! I am looking forward to many more books by this fabulous author. I also love how she incorporate updates from her past books!! If you love Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot this book is for you!! You are missing out on this amazing book!! DEFINITELY A MUST READ!! + the cover is adorable.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. very well written. Good story line with likeable characters. One of fav
diznee25 More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this one. 'Where We Belong' had no "meat" to the characters/story. This simply could have been a fault of the way it was written; every chapter switching between Marian, and Kirby. On top of that, it was written in the first person, (for each chapter), so I would forget who I was reading about. This style worked nicely in the beginning of the book, however, by the middle it just got confusing when both characters were together. Or maybe there was no "meat" simply because Giffin left it out. I think it's a combination of both. I felt as though the characters were robots. Especially in situations where many of them interact together. There could have been much more depth, interaction, and drama....but there was none of this! Made for a very boring book. As I turned each page, I expected it to get better. Much to my dismay, it never did. Many diehard Emily Giffin fans will probably like this book by default, but I didn't want to be bias. As much as it pains me to write a disappointing review, I must give my honest thoughts. I cringe to hear that there's a possibly of a sequel. I don't think this story line is strong enough to continue.
salvadore57 More than 1 year ago
Good yet refreshing allows readers to indulge!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved her writing, the characters, and plot. However, I agree with the others that the ending ruined it for me & was inconclusive. It was a big disappointment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of E.G.'s books and this was my least favorite of them all. I love how she ties in characters from other novels (and provides updates). However I this story was a departure from what I expected of this book. I did not have the anxious feel with this book that I have had with all the others. It did not leave me on the verge of tears, getting angry with the characters,etc. that I felt with other books. I also agree with other reviews, I did not particularly care for the ending or how abrupt the ending seemed to be. I would wait to check this one out at the library!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not entirely sure it was worth 12.99, buuuut it was an okay read. I will say that the ending was sort of inconclusive, but that may just be her lining up for a following book with the same characters. If not, then I'd have to say the ending was less than stellar.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the entire book..up until the ending. I really hope the author is in the process of writing a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms.Giffin is a gifted writer and a fabulous storyteller who creates characters that we care about. I would love this book were it not for its ending. I like depth of characterization and plausibility in the storyline, but l love happy endings! Life is hard enough, so please let me find vicarious pleasure when characters that an author has made me care about find happiness. This ending didn't do that. There has got to be more to the story. Ms. Giffin, please don't let Marian and Conrad be another Scarlett and Rhett!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me hooked from the beginning. What happened Emily? So disappointed with the ending! I sure hope there is a second book because the ending was a big LET DOWN:(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I generally only read non fiction. For this author I make an exception! This book is wonderful and told in a unique way! GREAT read, hands down! For those that felt "let down" at the end....read it again....you missed the point! And not everything in life wraps up like a Christmas present! You will not be disappointed with this book....a definite summer read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of her books except this one. I did not care for the plot. I also felt parts of the book were repetative and long. Not her best work!! Boring!! Never-ending!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book kept me very engaged throughout. If this would have ended differently I would have given this a higher rating. However, the book really left me hanging with limited closure for Marian and Conrad which really ruined the overall book/reading experience. It seemed as if the author copped out with a "maybe she'll do this or maybe she'll do that" type ending. This was very disappointing.
KaylaKirchoff More than 1 year ago
I FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK INSTANTLY. It is unlike any other book I have read. It is one of the best I have ever read and I have read a lot of books. Each page never disappointed. There was a surprise on almost every page. There was always someone to relate to. 
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
This book is another hit. It is heartwarming and unique. I wish she would write another book to go along with this one so we can see what else happens in their lives. A+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed getting to know the characters of this book, and found that once I started, I could not put the book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how her stories are so real... the whole time, Im trying to think of the crazy twist theres gonna be, but instead, it just unfolds and it is what it is. Stress free reading. But im pretty sure nothing beats the ending of Something Borrowed. Literally, when i finished that one, my mouth was still open, I was just in shock. Best ending ever. :) And of course, Something blue wraps it up perfectly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read most of Emily Giffin's prior books, and although this one was not my favorite, it was a quick, easy and entertaining story. The only think that I was a little annoyed with was the sudden ending. There was not a whole lot of closure, I guess it's just up to our imaginations!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seemed that all throughout the book, you only saw what was on the surface of characters and situations. The story is told from the point of view of Kirby and Marion, but the author's voice penetrates the characters, and they speak in ways that they shouldn't. The high powered executive would slip into a loosey goosey speech, riddled with grammatical errors. And conversely, Kirby (whose 18 year old rebellious nature made grammatical errors more tolerable) would suddenly erupt into a perfectly crafted description that, while sometimes it was good writing, was not in character. Characters also tended to behave in ways that were inconsistent with their natures. Isolated deviations can be rebellious choices, but these inconsistencies were too frequent and haphazard. Marion's friends seemed to be invented because not having friends is not believable. But so many of these characters lacked enough depth to contribute to the story. Why should you trust a friend's advice? Their character depth will rell you that they're reliable, or fun but irresponsible, or always optimistic. In my opinion, the one liners of advice they give were just as shallow, and the lot of them could have been left out entirely. It seemed that the author was afraid to talk about tough issues, only glossing over deep topics by mentioning that the characters talked about something important over a burger. You get no deeper glimpses into the important things, but have highly detailed descriptions of the activites people employ to avoid talking about important issues. This was highly disappointing. Other reviews mention displeasure with the ending, which didn't bother me so much (life isn't always wrapped up neatly), but I'd say the whole book left something wanting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a HUGE fan of Emily Giffin and have ready all of her other books and loved ALL of them. The characters in ths book seemed forced and unnatural and the ending was very underwhelming. I will continue to be a fan of her work, but this book has been my least favorite, by far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I've read this author. The story line was good and this was one reason I bought the book. It was the ending that was disappointing--I guessed what happened before I was half way through the book. This is a book for people who don't put much thought into what's written. It's definetly not for book club discussion as it's not much to discuss. I'd probably read her again to fill in some time between books where I don't have to put much thought into the reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed most of her books and this one did not fail. Kirby and Marian were great characters. Sure some of the side characters were a little stiff but all-in-all a quick and satisfying read!
Bibliophile25 More than 1 year ago
Well, I for one, really enjoyed this book. I keep reading all the negative comments posted below and I agree that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but I mean, one star? Really? It wasn't awful. Yes, some of her past books have been better, but it doesn't mean that this one is total crap. Oh, and about the ending, I think certain people didn't like it because they didn't get their ideal fairy tale or something of that sort. I know many of us wanted to have a little more of a story between Marian and Conrad (potentially, have them end up together) but Ms. Giffin didn't write it like that and it's okay. Maybe she's saving it for a sequel (I wish!). Or maybe not all romantic novels have their typical happy ending. In Something Borrowed, it was evident that the whole story wasn't quite over and a sequel emerged. Although Dex and Rachel ended up together, the other half of the story involving Darcy was still to be told- and it was. In conclusion, people, just read the book. We, the customer reviewers, are giving you a mere opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved, loved, loved this book! As a woman and a mother, Marian's story struck such an emotional cord. Although I don't necessarily agree with some of her choices, I understood her dilemma. Ms. Giffin created yet another gem that you all must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved it!