×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Whip It!
     

Whip It!

4.2 57
by Shauna Cross
 

See All Formats & Editions

Roller derby is back, in all of its rowdy and raucous glory

Meet Bliss Cavendar, an indie-rock-loving misfit stuck in the tiny town of Bodeen, Texas. Her pageant-addicted mother expects her to compete for the coveted Miss Bluebonnet crown, but Bliss would rather feast on roaches than be subjected to such rhinestone tyranny.

Bliss's escape? Roller

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Whip It 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I watched the movie "Whip It!" and love it. It made me want to roller derby and kiss some butt. When I found out this movie was based off a book, I had to read it. It's perfect for older middle school and high school girls, which is why it's young adult book. I teach sixth grade, so I spend most of my time reading YA books. The book follows 16 year old Bliss (don't ya just love that name) while she tries to find herself and a place where is fits in while leaving in a town where she didn't fit the mold. Her family doesn't get her nor does most of the town save for Pash (her best friend). Here enter roller derby, and Bliss is not the same ever again. If you like a fun read about a girl finding herself this is it.
spanish-lullaby More than 1 year ago
for me this was just an okay book. one thing i will say is that it is addictive. once you start reading it you won't be able to stop. the movie is much better.fun characters and roller derby sounds like a lot of fun. the ending leaves you satisfied.
Sara_Case More than 1 year ago
I loved it, the main character is the perfect mix of quirky and cool!
Ashley_Belletristic_Books More than 1 year ago
This review was originally posted on my blog Belletristic Books and is for Derby Girl by Shauna Cross. The book's title was changed after the film came out.  When I was in high school, I saw the film Whip It and quite enjoyed it since it’s cute, comical, and has really great acting from Ellen Page, Drew Barrymore, and Kristen Wiig. At the time of seeing it, I had no idea that it was based on a book! So why did I choose to pick that book up years after viewing the movie? Well, I watched an interview featuring Victoria Jamieson as she discussed her latest book, Roller Girl. This book caught my interest immediately since it’s a full color graphic novel about a 12-year-old girl who goes to a roller derby bout and then decides to sign up for derby camp, which sounds totally awesome! During the interview, Jamieson talks about how Derby Girl got her into roller derby and that’s why she decided to write her own graphic novel about it. Feel free to check out that interview here!   Despite my thinking that I’d love this book since I believed Whip It was super cool and I’m eagerly awaiting Roller Girl, Derby Girl just didn’t entertain me as much as the film version of it did. That was surprising to me since the majority of the time a book is usually better than the film version of it, in my opinion. However, the book appeared to be a flatter form of the movie. Perhaps I should’ve read the book before seeing the film and I would’ve felt differently about this. But I thought that the characters seemed more developed in the movie. Although I did think Bliss was interesting and unique in both the book and film, she seemed a bit whiny and self-centered in Derby Girl. Weirdly enough, the book has a very neat and happy ending, which didn’t seem realistic seeing as how Bliss has just gotten her heart broken by the boy she’s been seeing.   I very much think that the main reason why I wasn’t particularly fond of this book was because I saw the movie first. Derby Girl didn’t feel especially authentic to me and that’s why I could only give it 2 of 5 stars. The plot of the book and film are super similar yet I think that the movie achieved badass girl-power status while the book didn’t live up to my expectations. But if you’re interested in roller derby, then I would suggest giving this book and maybe even the film a try!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read and i luv the book
Whymsy More than 1 year ago
I’m Sure My Coolness Factor Has Gone Up Just By Reading This Book! In a town where football players are high school gods and their peroxide cheerleader girlfriends reign supreme lives Bliss Cavendar, and her best friend, Pash; Bodeen, Texas’ resident rebels. In love with music and unable to conform to her former-pageant-queen mother’s expectations, Bliss tries to find where she fits. Her salvation comes in the form of Roller Derby, and its witty, tattooed angels. But as with all things, even “crushworth” boys in bands, there is no such thing as perfect and the world is not always how you see it. Told directly to the audience by Bliss this book is fun, fairly light and pretty dang funny! Bliss’ witty comments and scathing descriptions, from saying her mother suffers from Tiara-ism to the unironic mullet, keeps the reader wondering what she will come up with next. Cross nicely interweave Bliss’ hilarity with some heart. Bliss begins the process of transition from child to adult. She realizes her parents are people and not quite the enemy she thought they were. Bliss also makes the startling discovery that her whole world doesn’t need to revolve around herself. Both of which are very mature ideas. This was one of my first introductions to the world of Roller Derby and I have to say I love it. I would definitely recommend this book for more of the high school age group and older, not younger: it deals with underage drinking, sex and shoplifting, plus occasional strong language. Side note: The movie directed by Drew Barrymore based on this book is pretty good in its own right!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mmcmahonward More than 1 year ago
Whip It is about a girl named, Bliss, who lives in a small, boring, town. She is stuck in the hick town of Bodeen, Texas. I that wasn't bad enough, the people that live there are unbearable. The only thing that keeps her from exploding is her best friend, Pash. Bliss and Pash are two cool chicks who don't fit in with the regular high school life. Fortunately, Bliss's and Pash's life take a turn for the best when they go to a Roller Derby game. Bliss is so inspired and tries out for the Derby team. She beats the odds and gets into the Derby team called the Hurl Scouts. Her wish of having a perfect life comes true. But not all good things can last forever... I liked everything about this book. It was super funny and even a bit inspiring. I related very well to this book because sometimes teenagers feel like they just don't belong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago