×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Whistling Season
  • Alternative view 1 of The Whistling Season
  • Alternative view 2 of The Whistling Season
     

The Whistling Season

4.1 59
by Ivan Doig
 

See All Formats & Editions

Novelist Ivan Doig revisits the American west in the early twentieth century, bringing to life the eccentric individuals and idiosyncratic institutions that made it thrive.

“Can't cook but doesn't bite." So begins the newspaper ad offering the services of an "A-1 housekeeper, sound morals, exceptional disposition" that draws the attention of widower

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Whistling Season 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
bekker More than 1 year ago
I read this on my Nook. Really enjoyed this book. Will definitely look for something else by this author. My only problem was with the editing. There were so very many typos, I wondered what was happening. I found it very distracting from the story. I don't think this should be the case, especially when the Nook price is so high anyway.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic book I read in two sittings. I had started it earlier in the year, and gotten bored with it and put it down. I deeply regret doing so, as it was pure poetry to read and actually very gripping in the end. The Whistling Season starts with a family of four men, one father, three sons, applying for a housekeeper. What they get is sweet and caring Rose, and her brother, enccentric and brilliant Morrie. As the housekeeper's world of satin and housework collides with the boy's world of rural Montana, sparks in the form of secrets start to fly. I fell in love, broke my heart, laughed, cried, and came away from this book smiling with the notion that everything can change for the best. What I would give for a sequel.
Lynne-Dee-Wendling More than 1 year ago
Wonderful writer. I'm now reading his Sky book. I really looked forward every night to reading what comes next. Very original, wonderful plot, colorful characters, won't give story away. Deserves the five stars.
Skater1 More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly engrossing and completely captivating just the way the best kind of story should be. I felt bereft when it was over. This was my first read by Ivan Doig and I read it in paperback. From the reviews here, I understand that the Nook version has many type-os. This was not the case in paperback. It was immaculate and I am here for MORE, type-os or no! My hat is off to you Ivan.
Maertel More than 1 year ago
This should be required reading for all teachers!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As fan of historical fiction, I found the book very well-written and entertaining. The characters are well-developed and very believable within a family structure. The simpler days of farming and one-room schoolhouses brought back memories of the stories my mother would tell. The life was simple but Paul, the main character was facing the coming of age where moving beyond his family is not so far off. I also liked the author's choice of having Paul recall his childhood by telling the story with flashbacks. His use of the main character as the State School Superintendent lends itself well to the details of learning in a one-room schoolhouse and the teaching tools used at that time. It's was a far cry from all the technology and media incorporated into classroom today. A good read for relaxing and traveling back in time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
steve907 More than 1 year ago
Ivan Doig is a highly accomplished writer. Terrific characters, well crafted plot, lyrical writing. I really really enjoyed this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book kept me captivated from beginning to end. I think all would like it and it would be great for book club discussions. I would definitely read other books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unique
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago