×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

White Bone: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of White Bone: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of White Bone: A Novel
     

White Bone: A Novel

4.7 14
by Barbara Gowdy
 

See All Formats & Editions

A thrilling journey into the minds of African elephants as they struggle to survive.

If, as many recent nonfiction bestsellers have revealed, animals possess emotions and awareness, they must also have stories. In The White Bone, a novel imagined entirely from the perspective of African elephants, Barbara Gowdy creates a world whole and separate

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

White Bone 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
pwee More than 1 year ago
this novel contained a vividness not found in many books, and also was laden with a sense of realism. Not meant for younger readers, on behalf of it being a bit too realistic, in animal terms, including mating season, and such, but sure to please, and very touching indeed. The mating periods were unneeded, I would think, but Barbara Gowdy definately has a great sense of description and a talent that is capable of touching your heart. A great book for animal lovers that are older readers.
A-Cason More than 1 year ago
Seven years after reading The White Bone I am still haunted by its elegant, inventive language, its entirely original conception, the authority with which the narrative device is carried out. I am still recommending it to friends, still enthralled by it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you can allow yourself to delve fully into the text, and if you will allow the thoughts of a world unbeknownst to you to exist fully in its own right, you will fall in love with Mud, and learn not only about her life but be reflective of your own in its wake. Not only your own related family but the one of the whole world of which you are a tiny part. Seeing the interconnectdness of species and the beauty of animals' subtle ways is an appreciation you may gain, and if you do, you will be the better for it.
nanaannaAB More than 1 year ago
an exceptional read enjoyed every minute and have told countless others ita a great read
mommamacCA More than 1 year ago
Not a quick read, but an amazing one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first novel I have read by this author and I found it compelling. The premise is novel and the writing wonderful. It is a story that should make us all stop and think about the treatment of animals and our earth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was definitley the best book I have ever read! Once you learn who is who and what the elephant's lingo is (a big thank you to the author for adding the dictionary at the beginning) it is a great book. I hope she writes a second. I wish there were more books like this out there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You have to read this book i am 14 and i read it. It was hard to understand at first then i found who the shes were who was who and who was talking.She really puts it in perspective what an elepants life is like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story is so real and factual yet so creative and imaginative at the same time. The author manages to blend it altogether into this masterpiece and you feel as if you are right there with the She-Ones. I think anyone would enjoy the beauty and simpleness of this complex book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read this book 3 times now and am still entranced by it. The author grounds her story in what is scientifically known about the emotional and social lives of elephants and imagines an entire possible elephantine worldview from that. Wonderful characters in an engaging story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book! When I finished it I felt like something was missing in my life. This book left me crying and showing soo many emotions for these elephants. I told everyone I know about this book... it has to be my FAVORITE BOOK ever!!