×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

White Night (Dresden Files Series #9)
     

White Night (Dresden Files Series #9)

4.7 474
by Jim Butcher
 

See All Formats & Editions

The inspiration for the Sci Fi channel television series

In Chicago, someone has been killing practitioners of magic, those incapable of becoming full-fledged wizards. Shockingly, all the evidence points to Harry Dresden's half-brother, Thomas, as the murderer. Determined to clear his sibling's name, Harry uncovers a conspiracy within the White Council of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

White Night (Dresden Files Series #9) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 474 reviews.
McTruffleShuffle More than 1 year ago
This was a great book! There isn't any other series that I've read yet that is worth 24 books to its name like this one. It stands out from the crowd and while may start out a little slow the first 25 or so pages, once it picks up speed it won't let you put it down.. simple as that. I stayed up til four in the morning finishing this book, and it was worth every minute. The characters are perfect, along with their flaws and personalities. They all feel like they have been fully fleshed out by Butcher in a way that only he could. If you are debating whether to get this book, don't think about it, just do it..
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
The best Dresden Files book since "Summer Knight"!!! When helping Chicago's SI with a suicide, Harry finds that his brother, a vampire of the White Court is the prime suspect. Working along side Murphy, their relationship is growing beyond that of just friends, but can Harry get over that she and Kencaid went to Hawaii? Once a coven is found to be Thomas's next target, an old enemy of Harry's shows her face. And, his old childhood friend and first love, Elaine is there to protect the witches of the coven. The weight of being a warden is bearing down on him, along with teaching his apprentice, Molly. Once again, with the aid of Marcone and Lasciel, Harry is able to uncover a threatening plot of the White Vampires.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Chomping at the bit for the latest release!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy a good story that keeps you on your toes. This is one of those!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this and I liked it. If I was killed by a vampire, death by a member of the Raith family would be the way to go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GGOOO HHHAAARRRYYY
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jim Butcher never disappoints with Harry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
danthebookman71 More than 1 year ago
the reigning king of urban fantasy does it again!
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
Still loving this series *Book source ~ Library Harry Dresden, wizard and PI extraordinaire, discovers that witches in his city of Chicago are committing suicide at an alarming rate. Not just alarming, but suspicious. Digging into the matter Harry finds out the magical community is afraid him now that he’s a Grey Cloak or Warden of the White Council. If someone had only talked to him about the suspicious deaths then lives could have been saved. But digging into the matter doesn’t just involve finding who is responsible. Oh, no. That would be too simple and nothing in Harry’s life is ever simple. Harry needs to figure out the players and the end game fast before more people, himself included, die. Guest reviewers: A ~ my 16-yr-old daughter T ~ my 15-yr-old son K ~ my 13-yr-old son This series continues to entertain, but I’m sure that’s no big surprise. The humor, as always, is a big hit and the mystery kept us guessing and involved. We learned more magic and with Harry training Molly we like how he’s becoming more focused and disciplined with his powerhouse talent. Learning about the magical community was interesting since not much has ever been mentioned about the lesser powers in Chicago. Elaine is back in town and we find out what she’s been up to and there are more machinations by the White Court. Favorite characters are back: Thomas, Murphy, Marcone, Ramirez and, as always, Mouse. Everyone agrees the magical fight towards the end was awesome and Harry’s solutions are always so fun to read. Lasciel is also back and what she does is…unexpected. New baddies are introduced and an unexpected baddie turns up, one we thought was dead. Also, everyone agrees that Harry’s idea of setting up a network for the magical community is a good idea. He doesn’t like being seen as a boogeyman for the paranormal community simply because he has to be a Warden. Favorite quotes: “Bring it, Darth Bathrobe!” “She gave me a hard look. ‘No one likes a wiseass, Harry.’ “Are you kidding? As long as the wiseass is talking to someone else, people love ‘em.” “There was a sound like a human yawn, and then the skull turned slightly toward me and asked, ‘What’s up, boss?’ ‘Evil’s afoot.’ ‘Well, sure’, Bob said, ‘because it refuses to learn the metric system. Otherwise it would be up to a meter by now.’”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
vikingsbride More than 1 year ago
Vampires, witches, friendships and a giant dog! Harry Dresdan is a world class hero, and a hero of the other realms too! Great story with enough twists to keep you thinking ahead to where Jim Butcher is going to take his cast of characters this time! Each installment to the Dresdan Files is so unique in the approach to the woes of our hero and his companions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
yet again Harry gets into more than it seems he can handle, and yet he pulls thru. a must read. love Harry's sarcastic attitude.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy reading this series because of the humor. It makes me laugh and cry.
U-265 More than 1 year ago
I love this series, The Dresden Files.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago