×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Whitney, My Love
     

Whitney, My Love

4.5 223
by Judith McNaught
 

See All Formats & Editions

One of today's best-loved authors, Judith McNaught launched her stellar career with this dazzling bestseller. Now in a special edition that features a brand-new, enhanced ending and endows familiar characters with new depth, Whitney, My Love lives on as "the ultimate love story, one you can dream about forever" (Romantic Times).
Under the dark,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Whitney, My Love 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 223 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doesn't anyone edit! Every other page had terrible typos. I had wanted to reread Judith McNaught for a while now, can't get past the use of numbers as letters. Other than that the book was as I remembered itu
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book at least 10 years ago. Recently, I donated most of my books, especially romance novels, but I will never let go of Judith McNaught's books and I re-read this book every so often. Whitney is my favorite character from a romance novel (leaving Jane Austen's material out of this of course). She is strong, funny and stubborn and I think all women see a little of her in themselves. This is the best written of all her books and I have yet to find a historical romance writer of this generation who comes close to McNaught. Wish she'd go back to historical romance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a waste! This is an awesome story! I read the actual book 3 times. This is one of my favorite books. However whomever edited this online version did an atrocious job! The story is still wonderful. The editor should be fired and never allowed to edit another book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How could you publish that great book with so many typos!!!! Shame on you!!! I want my money back!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy JM's books, specifically the historical romances; I have read and re-read them many times. Imagine my surprise to finally start seeing them available on Nook reader after waiting for many years. I bought Whitney My Love, and Until You, and settled in to re-read Whitney again. I have to say I was very disappointed with whichever software was used to convert the book to an eBook format. Even more disappointed that an editor didn't read it to catch the plethora of grammatical issues in the eBook format including random word changes that made no sense, formatting issues related to punctuation and line breaks, etc. And, I'm not talking about once a chapter, more like once a page. It was enough to make me mentally cringe. I really hope the publisher sees this and cleans up the eBook version of Whitney (I'm hoping Until You isn't as bad) and allows those of us that have purchased to get another download. Low rating is for formatting alone. The story was and is a great read.
wmf More than 1 year ago
I Love this Book. Not only have I read this once, I have read it a few times. I can't sat enough about Whitney, My Love. For those of you that have read it you know what I'm talking about. One thing I WISH that I could get more of Judith McNaught's book's for my NOOK. Please
Jennifer_a_student More than 1 year ago
This book must be read for only entertaining purposes. Outside of this, it has no value. Please understand that first. I have read hundreds of romance paperbacks between reading novels with sustenance, complex meaning, and even more deeply complex syntax. (After reading Atlas Shrugged, an amazing book, I needed a break.) After reading this one, I realized she follows a blueprint. Every major character is meant to be strong-willed, opinionated, intelligent...and so on. The plot will feature many twists until one thing happens that almost tears the couple apart. (Sound familiar?) And then the male or the female will do anything to get him/her back. (Sound familiar?) After three or more times the "epic romance" blueprint is tiring. I have read almost all of her books and I suggest you start with this one, maybe Once and Always, and then continue on to another romance novelist. Also, I think it is needed to comment (and respond to other reviews on here) upon the rape scene and other general qualities of Whitney's character. This is a historical romance. It's setting takes place during a time when women had no rights, and blatantly stated, they were owned by their fathers and/or husbands. Whitney, and all the other heroines of McNaught's books, are depicted as having more freedom than they would actually have if they were real people living in in 19th century. This is done to appeal to modern women. As far as the rape scene...well Claymore was her intended and if this were reality, he would have every right to rape Whitney. Don't like it? Tough. That's 19th century life and such customs are still extant in modern day cultures.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reading romances is my favorite past time, but I read so many that I often forget about the content and the characters soon after finishing. This was not the case with Whitney, My Love. I knew after reading the first chapter that this book would be different. As I continued reading, this story began to touch my heart in a way no other novel has. Whitney is my favorite heroine of all time. I have great respect for her intelligence and perserverance. She loves Clayton so much that she is able to forgive him for causing her terrible pain. Whitney finally realizes that she does not have to conform to society's expectations of a demure wallflower in order to be loved. One man loves Whitney for all of her daring exploits and ideas. Clayton is amazing. He loves Whitney to a fault- (and he has many of those!) He makes several grave mistakes during the course of the story, but he always takes responsibility for his actions. He knows he might not deserve Whitney's love, but he also knows he cannot live without it. Clayton loves Whitney enough to swallow his pride, which is an attribute that many leading male characters lack in other stories. This is a true love story, and its characters will remain in my heart forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the story. What's with all the typos? Also, the complete book is not typed. There are 42 chapters, and the last chapter is pretty important since that is where the reader learns where the name of the book came from. I'm very disappointed in the editing, not the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have waited a long time to get this book on my nook, i am happy to have it however the hardcover copy i have it is different ending, Judith had given a new ending i like that version much better I agree having so many typos it is annoying Someone did the author and the book a big disfavor a much better job of profreading should have been done! I give the author, the book 6 stars The e-version i hope it gets the other version done in a much professional maner The people who did the transcrip 0 stars • ,
southernlinda More than 1 year ago
This is a well written book for people looking for a an emotional rollercoaster of passion and lust mixed with a little prime jailbait justification of ruined relationships and forced intimacies. It really is a good book that does have it's romantic spots, often mixed with abuse, that can make your heartbeat pick up speed, be it from anger, happiness or passion. I actually threw the book across the room and said I would NOT finish it....but that lasted about 5 seconds and it was back in my hand. Read it, but don't expect a perfect joining of an amazing couple. BTW...I would have chosen Nicki
Yina More than 1 year ago
I love this book and have rediscovered all of Judith McNaught's book now that I'm 28. I want to read them again and again, but I wish they were all available in eBook format. :( Publishers please make this happen!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Kingdom of Dreams I was definetly disappointed with the story of Royce and Jenny's descendant. The story made me laugh plenty of times and the sparks between Clayton and Whitney were definitely flying but too often I found myself irritated. Too many times were there stupid misunderstandings that took too long to fix and that the repercussions for were much too harsh. The first major one made it hard to read about Clayton for awhile. The characters were great but for too long was Whitney rebellious and too long was Clayton tricked by some gossip into acting like a beastly animal.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I read this when i was much younger than i am now and enjoyed it immensely! It is one of those stories that you reread and still laugh, still cry and feel joy when its done. Its one of my favorites for all time...
ExArkie 5 months ago
If you find this book "morally offensive," please skip and let the rest of us enjoy it. LOVE this book. My favorite Romance so far. You will not waste your money here! Wish the 2nd book in series was half as good; but, you WILL get your monies worth on this one. ENJOY~!!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not able to open this particular nook book for PC. Upsetting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
718422 More than 1 year ago
I am a very big fan of Judith McNaught books and I have all of her books. Whitney my Love is one of my most favorite and I continue to re-read them Todate I have purchased all of her books converted to e-books. However, I would like to know why Whitney was converted to e-book without adding new addition that Judith McNaught rewrote. An now waiting for the conversion to e-books for the last 4 books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this nook book as a replacement for my paper back book that I had read and re-read a number of time only to find out that the last half of the book was cut.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gjn,vn n,n
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first book I read by Judith McNaught was this one. But I'm so disappointed having now purchased it for my nook because the number of pages doesn't match the actual book. And I thought it was a mistake at first, but its not. The book I have is an extended version. And so I hope they release that one because its the only version I want to re-read. And along with the extended version I hope they also release Paradise and Perfect. I own all her books but having them all in a nook version with be so helpful. I also hope she comes back and writes again. She is an amazing writer and all her characters have a special place in my heart
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a "classic" Victorian love story. One of the best that I have ever read. Judith McNaught is a master story teller.
loverofromance More than 1 year ago
I had read many recommendations for Whitney My Love for quite some time. Judith McNaught is a author I have yet to read until now, and I am so glad that I decided to take that leap and read this one. I don't know why it took me so long to get to this book, but I picked it up and I wanted it to be one of the first books that I would read this week. Whitney My Love is a powerful and a classic romance that every romance lover needs to read. Whitney My Love is quite a adventure of passion and romance. Even though it is over 700 pages long, it didn't feel like it. It took me longer than I thought it would to read it, but since I read it over a holiday, I definitely think I made good time with it, and there were many times that I was tempted to not put this down when I also wanted to spend quality time with my family. Family won of course, but just barely LOL (just kidding). But seriously, the plot was full of twists and turns, you almost feel like you are on a roller coaster. It begins with seeing Whitney as a teenager, and being her hellion of herself, is wild and charming. I loved her character especially at the beginning. She doesn't hide who she is, and she isn't ashamed of who she is even though her father and many others are. I found it almost heartbreaking how her father treats her, I wanted to wallop him over the head for treating his daughter the way he does. After she pulls a stunt that is so in tune with her nature, he sends her off with her aunt and uncle to Paris. Whitney is in love with a man, Paul, who she has been trying for years to charm and make him fall in love with her. So when she is sent to Paris, she realizes that this is her chance to prove to him what she can accomplish. She spends about four years in Paris, learning how to be lady, to flirt and to charm. You see how she slowly changes into a delightful young woman, who still has a wild personality but she is much more polished. Then we meet the hero of the story, who has been keeping a watchful eye on her, for four years in Paris, a Clayton Westmoreland, who desires her as his wife. He knows that she is destined to be his, so he bribes her father a fortune to secure their future marriage. He then returns to England to court and woo her, but she has no interest in him--at least in the beginning. A drama filled romance starts to develop between the two, even though her eye is on another man. But somehow Clayton gets under her skin, and before long she starts to develop tender feelings for Clayton, against her better judgement. But then she learns that there is no future with Pail, when she learns of what Clayton has done and she feels like she has been bought like a horse. But a flaring desire builds between them, and soon Whitney will have to trust in her heart and the man she truly loves. Such a amazing story!!! I couldn't help but fall madly in love with this story, the characters, the surroundings and the masterful storytelling of Judith McNaught that ties your heartstrings. From beginning to end, I was on the edge of my seat with anticipation, tears, laughter, and a emotionally moving story that is bound to keep you enthralled until the very end. There is plenty of drama and misunderstandings (which is a understatement, and it is on both sides) however the way this author works the story together is magical and dazzles the reader with a a love story that makes your believe in happily ever after!! A MUST HAVE FOR ANY ROMANCE LOVER!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago