×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Why Sleeping Dogs Lie
     

Why Sleeping Dogs Lie

4.1 12
by Tracie Howard
 
Mallory Baylor is the ultimate New York City girl-gorgeous and stylish, with a firm grip on Heat, the world's hottest urban publication. Any marks on her past have been artfully airbrushed away. Until she interviews handsome Saxton McKensie. Years ago, Mallory and Saxton's steamy affair ended with the birth of a child that Saxton-and his fiancée, TV superstar Deena

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Why Sleeping Dogs Lie 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Mrs. Howard's books but this book in particular was very slow. Once it gets going is the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was a bit disppointed in this book. Athough the story line was good, it took to long to get into it. Deena needed to be put into her place.. The only downfall was I already knew that the other two would be together even before I got to the pages.. Nice Job though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The storyline of this book was great, I gave it 5 stars, but I had to deduct 2 because of the 'TOO EXPLICIT' love scenes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was alright, I just expected it to be the BOMB because of the title. It was a good read, it just took to loooong to get to the interesting parts. I was pleased at the way it ended. Deena needed to be put in her place in the beginning chapters. This was alright, I'll give the author another read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The title is catchy isn¿t it? This alone made me curious as to why such a devilishly handsome man and his svelte companion would be gracing the cover of a book so titled. Eagerly I picked up Why Sleeping Dogs Lie, to see what lay between the pages. I was impressed with what I read. Author Tracie Howard, has done it again. Mallory Baylor has a secret. Forced to leave Atlanta, with a stop over in Philadelphia, she ends up as a staff writer in New York writing for their hip magazine, Heat. While on assignment to interview the cover story for this particular month¿s edition, Mallory comes face to face with a blast from her past, Saxton McKensie. Saxton, former ball player now top executive of a Media Relations Firm, Ingram Enterprises, is set to become an even more powerful mogul when he marries Deena Ingram. His story is notable and while Mallory has her doubts about seeing Saxton again, she does a wonderful job on the interview. Saxton is elated to see Mallory again. Plus he¿s impressed with her article and decides she would make a great edition to their company. Mallory isn¿t all too thrilled about working so close to Saxton in light of their past, but decides the compensation is worth the switch. Sounds cookie cutter so far? I invite you to read Why Sleeping Dogs Lie. Mallory¿s roommate and Deena are enough to keep the drama going. You¿ve yet to uncover the secret and the cast of supporting characters are so tightly intermingled that you¿ll be on the edge of your seat completely to the end. Tracie Howard has co-authored two books and has done right stepping forward on her own and molding her craft. Why Sleeping Dogs Lie is well-written and I hope this will not be her last solo effort.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed this book! Read it in a couple of nights---simply could not put it down. Really related to the characters-- can't wait for the follow-up!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I brought this book in the ATL airport and by the time I reached San Francisco I had finished the book. This was an awesome book. I found a bookstore in SFC and purchased the other two novels by these two ladies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book that I've read by Tracie Howard and it will not be my last. What an incredible storyteller! In 'Why Sleeping Dogs Lie,' she does a remarkable job of drawing you into a landscape full of of highs and lows, peppered with colorful, charismatic characters. It will keep you turning the pages right up til the end. I'm truly looking forward to her next work of art!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I do a lot of reading and I normally don't post reviews but I had to say what a great book 'Sleeping Dogs' was....Interesting plot,great character development and steamy romance in all the right places!I couldn't put it down---I read it in a night.I read 'Revenge' and loved it but I think this takes the cake. I would highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I simply could not put this book down. I was up until 4 o'clock in the morning to finish it and was mad when I did - I wanted more the Mallory, Saxton, and even the evil-duo Deena and Nikki! Tracie Howard is truly a gifted wordsmith and storyteller, and I hope that she'll keep them coming, QUICKLY!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is mature yet sincere. This book touched my emotional side and interested me in a whole different type of book. I usually wouldn't read a book of this genre, but this book makes me want to read every book ever written throughout the history of this genre.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I BROUGHT THIS BOOK ON A WHIM. BUT I'M SO GLAD, I DID. THIS BOOK IS EXCELLENT, I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. THE STORY WAS WELL WRITTEN. YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!