×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping: Updated and Revised for the Internet, the Global Consumer, and Beyond
  • Alternative view 1 of Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping: Updated and Revised for the Internet, the Global Consumer, and Beyond
  • Alternative view 2 of Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping: Updated and Revised for the Internet, the Global Consumer, and Beyond
     

Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping: Updated and Revised for the Internet, the Global Consumer, and Beyond

4.1 23
by Paco Underhill
 

See All Formats & Editions

Revolutionary retail guru Paco Underhill is back with a completely revised edition of his classic, witty bestselling book on our ever-evolving consumer culture—full of fresh observations and important lessons from the cutting edge of retail such as Internet behemoths Amazon and iTunes as well as the globalization of retail in the world’s emerging

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Why We Buy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is impossible to put down once you've started reading it. It is packed with tons of real-life examples and case studies of what retailers do right and what they do wrong. You cannot possibly read this book and not look at the local stores you shop at in the same light again. You will quickly see things they are doing right to encourage you to buy, as well as things they are doing wrong that discourage you from buying, or worse yet, causing you to go to a competitor's store. In reading the book, I immediately thought of several examples where it was obvious that some local retailers did NOT read the book, for they were making some of the mistakes that the book shows discourage sales and frustrates shoppers. I think this book should be required reading for every retail manager and shop owner (and even the hourly employees as well!), many of whom wonder why their sales are not as good as they should be, or why shoppers aren't buying as much as desired. Reading it as a shopper, I was intrigued to learn from some of the examples that some of the local retailers are doing things right (they must have read the book!), and many (unfortunately, too many!) are doing things wrong. I was most amused with the case histories where what seemed to be plain old common sense really did not work to encourage buying, and in fact often had the opposite effect. I also realized that if I was a store manager, I would probably be making many of the mistakes that are pointed out because I did not have the advantage of the in-store research done by the author and his company--until I read the book, of course! Whether you are a careful shopper or a store manager or owner, this book will, when read carefully, change how you look at the shopping environment. But more than that, I found the book immensely fun and interesting to read as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I am not a manager, I do work in the retail trade and this book ended up changing the way I viewed my position at work. Suddenly, I realized so many things from a new perspective, like signage and shoppers' habits. I have become a better salesperson thanks to Paco's writings. Every manager should read this...they would find great ideas for their store, guaranteed!!
KellyLong 23 days ago
In Paco Underhill’s informative text, Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping, he explores some of the numerous factors that cause consumers to purchase a good or service or deter them from making an acquisition. Through detailing way sin which stores craftily set consumers up to buy as ways in which they may inadvertently be driving shoppers away, Paco Underhill writes to both retailers and consumers. Explaining the value of the science of shopping to those on the business end of purchases and making consumers aware of ways in which stores and companies target them are his objectives for writing this book. Unconventional ideas that he shares, some he openly admits to varying greatly from that of his peers, combined with proof and examples from his time working in the industry of analyzing consumers allows Why we Buy: The Science of Shopping to be a page turning informative text with shocking insight about scenes that we see every day and rarely think twice about. It is rare for me to flip through a three-hundred page book in the span of two days, but I was very interested in Underhill’s style of writing as well as how affected I have been by some of the methods he mentions as a consumer. This text goes beyond textbook information and uses workplace examples of those who track shopping habits as a living to explain the prominence of this “science” in the modern era. The first point that is brought up for evaluation is the importance of understanding customer behavior in a given store and adjusting it accordingly. Paco Underhill gives multiple examples of ways in which he has increased stores sales by 20% or higher through moving displays, changing signs and other small corrections. Validating these points, it is explained that customers may not enter a department from an anticipated angle and displays should accommodate the most common entry into a section. I found the idea of personal space as an issue to be very interesting and did not expect customers being bumped once to deter them from an entire section of a store. Furthermore, it is interesting how much goes into planning the layout of a store and that simply moving a rack out of a high traffic area can be extremely effective in boosting its sales. Another reoccurring point that is brought up is the changing dynamic of customers and of shopping in general. Previous to reading Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping, I had not given much, or any, thought to why certain products were placed at designated shelf heights or that stores would have to change in the not so distant future to accommodate the large, rising market of elderly baby boomers. Underhill refers to the video tapes he studies for various stores throughout his text and utilizes one of an elderly woman unable to reach the dog treats that she wants and of the child who shares a similar problem. This ties into the section in which senses were emphasized as extremely important to the facilitation of sales. After walking past countless mirrors in Macy’s and other retail stores enticing me to try on necklaces and picture how I would look walking around with various handbags on my shoulder, it never occurred to me that this was exactly the store’s intention. Being able to touch items, see them up close and for some products even smell them increases the chance that they will buy something. The examination of comfort and ease of shopping was a fascinating section of this book, and has made me a more aware shopper. Signs being bro
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jstine10 More than 1 year ago
Look I thought i knew a lot about shopping, but wait until you read this book before you declare yourself a pro shopper. This teaches you exactly what the title says. I can guarantee you will learn at least something about shopping or why we buy in this book. Its easy to read and understand as well. Good for anybody!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AdvRider More than 1 year ago
A behavioral scientist's view of buying. If you own a retail business this book provides unique insights with actionable ideas. Straightforward to read and understand his observations and recommendations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Paco Underhill's first book drew raves not only from me but from my students who I have assigned the book as a book report. The items discussed in the book are also being used by some multinational companies here in the Philippines as part of their discussion during trade marketing strategic planning. In addition to this the insights of the book surely generated interest for many academic researches done here about the same topic. Great read and a great material.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A must for anyone in retail, I work in the largest home improvment chain in the US and used some of the ideas and watch the results that worked
Guest More than 1 year ago
With the word 'science' in the title, my first thought was: boring. My, was I pleasantly surprised! I could not put this book down. Underhill captures the real reality of human behavior in the retail setting. Anyone in the retail industry, e-commerce business, or thinking of starting a business needs to read this book. It's full of principles that are applicable to any business with customers.